Most Popular

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Campbell Collaboration

Systematic reviews on the effects of social interventions in the areas of education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development.

Full-text 2004 to present
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Full-text 1991 to current None
Google Scholar CSUSM

Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All
ProQuest

Search all of ProQuest's databases.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Most

Government Documents

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Full-text 1991 to current None
ERIC

A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.

Links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current Some
Export.gov Market Research Library

Registration by students or researchers required. Market Research for foreign countries and industry sectors.

Full-text current Some
Hein Online

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

 

Full-text current Some
Homeland Security Digital Library

The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and agencies.

Full-text current to current Most
MedlinePlus

A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.

Full-text current to current Some
O*Net Online

The O*NET Online serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations.

Full-text current Most
PAIS

An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.

Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current All
PubMed @ CSUSM

The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current All
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)

The Statistical Abstract of the United States (online edition) by Proquest is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Full-text Current Most
WestlawNext Campus Research

This is a comprehensive database for news, business, and law-related information has been designed for students. It brings together news databases arranged geographically and topically; newswires as well as business, trade, and professional journals and publications; and law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

Full-text 1789 to current Some

Newspapers

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
ABI/INFORM Complete

Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

 

The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current Some
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Accessible Archives

A good source for 19th Century American History; includes newspapers on the Civil War and African Americans.

Full-text 1728 to 1900 Most
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Newspapers digitized from 37 states chronicling African American experiences and influence in a variety of events from the early 19th through late 20th centuries.

Full-text 1827 to 1998 None
America's Historical Newspapers

United States newspapers including African American and Hispanic American interests. Languages other than English include Spanish and a limited number in French and German. Of special interest is the San Diego Union and its variants archive. The Los Angeles Times archives and New York Times archives are searchable as separate collections. Current newspapers are available in the Newspaper tab under the "Most Popular" databases link on the library homepage. 

Full-text 1670 to 1998
America's News Collection (NewsBank)

With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. This collection includes access to San Diego Union-Tribune articles from from 1983-present.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1978 to Current None
California Digital Newspaper Collection

Digitized full text newspapers consisting of lesser-known titles from cities and regions in California. Part of the IMLS-funded national effort to make historical newspapers freely available.

Full-text 1846 to 1920
Chronicle of Higher Education

A top source for news and information on colleges and universities.

Full-text current Some
Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1992 to current None
Factiva

Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.

Full-text 1975 to current Some
First Research for Industries (Mergent Intellect)

Use First Research to find industry key issues using Industry Profiles, State Profiles, Trending news and Social media feeds, Call Prep Sheets (Sample Q and A to industry executives. 

Full-text current to current Some
GreenFILE/Academic Search Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current Most
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

Full-text 1808 to 1980 None
Los Angeles Times (1996-present)

Los Angeles Times articles from 1996-present. For articles published prior to 1996, see the Los Angeles Times (Historical) Database.

Full-text 1996 to present None
Los Angeles Times (Historical)

Archival issues and articles beginning with 1881. Issues published during the past twenty-four years are not available in this database. Check ProQuest or Factiva databases for the material not held in this collection.

Full-text Archive None
Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 170 popular middle school magazines.  All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.  Middle Search Plus also contains over 100,000 biographies, over 50,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Full-text 1985 to current None
New York Times (Current, 1980-present)

Articles from the New York Times from 1980-present.  For articles prior to 1980, see the New York Times (Historical Collection) Database.

Full-text 1980 to present None
New York Times (Historical Collection)

The New York Times Historical Collection provides full page and article images including the NY Daily Times (1851-1857). The most recent four years not included in this historical collection can be searched through ProQuest Direct, LexisNexis or Factiva.

Full-text Archive None
NewsBank
    •  

NewsBank is a provider of several databases containing primary source documents, including current and historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications and more. This link provides access to all library databases provided by NewsBank, including America’s News (which contains current access to the San Diego Union-Tribune and several thousand other US newspapers), the Archive of Americana, a historical primary source and newspaper collection, the America’s Historical Newspapers collection, American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Full-text 1789 to Current Some
ProQuest Global Newsstream (formerly Newsstand)
    •  

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Full-text 1980 to current None
Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.  Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 100 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the united states.

Full-text 1990 to current None
San Diego Union Newspaper Archive

Collection of newspapers published in San Diego under various titles, including the San Diego Union.

Full-text 1872 to 1983
San Diego Union Tribune (current coverage)

The San Diego Union-Tribune is the product of a merger of the San Diego Union, founded in 1868, and the Evening Tribune, founded in 1895. Published from an editorial, printing and business plant in San Diego's Mission Valley, it is the second-oldest newspaper in Southern California, and the oldest business in San Diego County; an area known as a popular vacation destination and home to Mission Bay Park, the largest man-made aquatic park in the country, consisting of 4,235 acres. The Union-Tribune has won numerous journalism awards over the years, including the Pulitzer Prize, and features daily news, sports, shopping, and entertainment coverage for the San Diego area.

Full-text 1983 to current Some
Times (London) digital archive 1785-1985

Provides access to the complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Full-text 1785 to 1985 None
WestlawNext Campus Research

This is a comprehensive database for news, business, and law-related information has been designed for students. It brings together news databases arranged geographically and topically; newswires as well as business, trade, and professional journals and publications; and law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

Full-text 1789 to current Some

Reference

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Acland Anatomy

The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy.

Full-text current
Bates Visual Guide

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series. 

Full-text current None
College Source

Access to nearly 25,000 full-text college catalogs. A great place to begin looking at graduate and professional schools.

Full-text 1994 to current None
Contemporary Authors

Biographies and bibliographies of 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.

Full-text current to current All
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Full-text 1991 to current None
Diccionario de la Real Academia Espanola

Spanish Language Dictionary

current
Dictionary of Literary Biography

Biographical and critical reception studies of over 140,000 authors as well as year-in-review articles.

Some full-text current Some
Export.gov Market Research Library

Registration by students or researchers required. Market Research for foreign countries and industry sectors.

Full-text current Some
First Research for Industries (Mergent Intellect)

Use First Research to find industry key issues using Industry Profiles, State Profiles, Trending news and Social media feeds, Call Prep Sheets (Sample Q and A to industry executives. 

Full-text current to current Some
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

Full-text current to current All
Gale Literary Index

Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.

Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.

Full-text current Some
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Full-text current Some
Glassdoor

A comprehensive career resource with information on thousands of companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of work.ing for a particular employer.

Full-text current
Going Global Country and Career Guides

Going Global Country and Career Guides contains country profiles and cultural briefings, global employer profiles and job opportunities and resources. Contact the Career Center to take full advantage of these opportunities.

 

 

Full-text current
Hein Online

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

 

Full-text current Some
IBISWorld Industry Research

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.

Full-text current Most
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Informative introduction to major people and ideas in the world of literary theory and criticism.

Full-text current to current None
Literature Criticism Online

Extensive collection of literary criticism authors and their works from antiquity to present.

Some full-text current Some
MedlinePlus

A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.

Full-text current to current Some
Oxford English Dictionary

A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet

Full-text current to current None
Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)

Economic, marketing, and demographic statistics for the United States, Western Europe, and Asia. Includes country profiles and consumer market data. Market research reports on international consumer, industrial, and service markets.

Full-text 1977 to current Some
Pivot

Pivot contains information on awards, fellowships, and grants from federal/non-federal, corporate/private foundation, and international funding sources. As a special feature, Pivot allows users to create unique funding searches, choose to receive weekly emails based upon those searches, search for collaboration opportunities, share opportunities with colleagues and track relevant opportunities.

current to current
RIA Checkpoint

Thomson / Reuters RIA Checkpoint for Tax and Accounting provides intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals—including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news.

Full-text current Most
Sage Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 5,100 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences. 

Full-text current Most
Twayne's Authors Online

This series provides literary criticism for approximately 600 authors, including critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres.

Full-text current to current All
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

The premier database for finding publication information on journals and other periodicals; includes 250,000 + academic journals, magazines, and other hard-to-locate serials.

None 1932 to current None

Trials

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Hein Online

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

 

Full-text current Some