Research Databases by Title: A

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
ABI/INFORM Complete

Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

 

The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current Some
ABI/INFORM Dateline

Searches 175 magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and area business publications for local and regional business news coverage.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current None
ABI/INFORM Global

Abstracts to articles from more than 1,000 leading business and management publications, with full-text for most popular sources.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Some
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

Abstracts and full-text articles from more than 1,000 leading business and management publications, with full-text for most popular sources.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current Some
Academic Complete eBooks

E-books in all academic subject areas.

Full-text current Some
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Academic Video Online (AVON) - Alexander Street Press

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. 

Full-text current
Accessible Archives

A good source for 19th Century American History; includes newspapers on the Civil War and African Americans.

Full-text 1728 to 1900 Most
Acland Anatomy

The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy.

Full-text current
ACLS Humanities E-Book

Approximately 1700 full-text e-books in the humanities.

Full-text 1911 to current All
ACM Digital Library

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library contains the full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Newspapers digitized from 37 states chronicling African American experiences and influence in a variety of events from the early 19th through late 20th centuries.

Full-text 1827 to 1998 None
Agricola

The authoritative database on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines; includes abstracts for books & journals.

Some full-text 1500 to current Most
AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics)

Scitation hosts journals and conference proceedings from AIP (American Institute of Physics) Publishing and AIP member societies. Topics covered include physics and related disciplines. 

Full-text current
Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press provides streaming access to documentaries and films. Titles are added by instructor request. Don't see the video you need? Contact media@csusm.edu.

Full-text present
America's Historical Newspapers

United States newspapers including African American and Hispanic American interests. Languages other than English include Spanish and a limited number in French and German. Of special interest is the San Diego Union and its variants archive. The Los Angeles Times archives and New York Times archives are searchable as separate collections. Current newspapers are available in the Newspaper tab under the "Most Popular" databases link on the library homepage. 

Full-text 1670 to 1998
America's News Collection (NewsBank)

With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. This collection includes access to San Diego Union-Tribune articles from from 1983-present.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1978 to Current None
America: History & Life

Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.

Links to full-text via Get-It 1964 to current All
American Chemical Society

Access to full text articles from more than 30 journals of the American Chemical Society

Full-text 1879 to current All
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers 1912-1990

For most of the twentieth century, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against their government. Its primary aims have been the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens. The organization has been responsible for what historian Samuel Walker has called “a revolution of law and public attitudes toward individual liberty.” Walker estimates that modern constitutional law has been shaped in no small measure by the ACLU, with the organization involved in some eighty percent of the landmark cases of the twentieth century. The ACLU fostered the growth of tolerance, fought to end racial discrimination, promoted a legal definition of privacy rights, and defended the rights of the unpopular, the powerless, and the despised.

Full-text 1912 to 1990 Some
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers: Southern Regional Office Files

This unique manuscript collection offers digital access to the papers of the Southern Regional Office of the American Civil Liberties Union, primarily in the period 1945 to 1990. The collection has never been scanned or filmed before, and covers topics including school segregation; local challenges to busing; the suppression of voting rights; student anti-war protest; and legal cases relating to women, sexism, and overtime pay. The archive consists of memos, court documents, amicus briefs, publications, testimony, administrative files, personnel records, meeting minutes, and files related to the history of the Southern Regional Office. The papers are housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.

Full-text 1945 to 1990
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 (Gale)

A collection of 14,000 letters, from 1833 to 1893, written by Presbyterian missionaries documenting their interactions with indigenous communities of North America. 

Full-text 1833 to 1893
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism (Gale)

The American Indian Movement (AIM) was founded at a time of continuing social change and protest following achievement of national legislation of the Civil Rights Movement. The radical approach AIM adopted was based on its leaders' perceptions that early Indian advocacy had failed to achieve any tangible results by lobbying activities with Congress and state legislatures.

AIM used the press and media to present its own unvarnished message to the American public. During ceremonies on Thanksgiving Day 1970, commemorating the 350th anniversary of the Pilgrims' landing at Plymouth Rock, AIM seized the replica of the Mayflower. In 1971, members occupied Mount Rushmore; in 1972, they marched the "Trail of Broken Treaties" and took over the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) headquarters in Washington, D.C. In February of 1973, a group of AIM members took part in a seventy-one days long siege at Wounded Knee, South Dakota. The occupation was in response to the 1890 massacre of at least 150 Lakota Sioux men, women, and children by the U.S. Seventh Calvary at a camp near Wounded Knee Creek. During the siege, AIM occupied the Sacred Heart Church and the Gildersleeve Trading Post. Although periodic negotiations were held between AIM spokesmen and Federal government negotiators, there was shooting from both sides.

This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.

Full-text 1968 to 1979
American Mathematical Society (AMS) MathSciNet

MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 125,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.  Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID), enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 90,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet® contains over 3.6 million items and over 2.3 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 650 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.  This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current Most
American Physical Society (APS) Journals

APS Journals is a full-text database of all scholarly journals and publications from the American Physical Society, a leading publisher in the field of physics. Includes complete coverage for Physical Review Series I-II (1893-1960) and Series III (1960-present) Phys. Rev. sub-journals; Physical Review Letters; Reviews of Modern Physics; and the open-access magazine Physics. Physical Review Series I-II are available in the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA), which is included in the APS Journals database.

Full-text 1893 to current Most
American State Papers, 1789-1838

Collection of U.S. Congressional business after the Continental Congresses and before the U.S. Congressional Serial Set began.

Full-text 1789 to 1838 All
AnthroSource

Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.

Full-text current to current All
Archive of Americana

A set of collections of digital documents representing American history and the growth of the nation (American State Papers, U.S. Congressional Serial Set and its maps, and a collection of Hispanic American Newspapers. Search all collections at one time,

Full-text 1789 to 1980 All
ArchiveGrid

Access to thousands of digital texts, audio files, and images from open access archives.

N/A current None
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel ), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in…" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals.

International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture:

  • Presents material from regions and populations that are not generally encountered in gender and sexuality studies, specifically southern Africa and Australia.
  • Offers a substantial periodical collection highlighting Australian LGBTQ history and culture from the 1970’s to the 2000’s.
  • Provides coverage of organizations and activists involved in LGBTQ rights in the twentieth century, as well as ephemera from each of the states in the United States and countries from Albania to Zimbabwe.
Full-text 1970 to 2000
Art Full Text

Indexes over 550 journals covering a wide variety of the arts (film to fashion, classic to cutting edge, ancient to modern) from the US and around the world.

Some full-text 1995 to current Most
Arts and Letters Daily

Compilation of opinion pieces on current events and book reviews.

Full-text 1998 to current Some
Asian American Drama (Alexander Street Press)

Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. 

Full-text late 19th century to current