General

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Report Problems
Full-text 1991 to current None
LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
ProQuest

Search all of ProQuest's databases.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Most

Gov Docs

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Report Problems
Full-text 1991 to current None
ERIC

A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.

Report Problems
ALERT! Within ERIC search results: IF the "Link to ERIC full text" does not work, try the "Get It!" link.
Links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current Some
Export.gov Market Research Library

Registration by students or researchers required. Market Research for foreign countries and industry sectors.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
FedStats

Official statistical information from the federal government, including economic and population trends, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
GPO: U.S. Government Printing Office

Abstracts from all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1976 to current All
Homeland Security Digital Library

The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and agencies.

Report Problems
Full-text current Most
LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
Medline

The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. PubMed provides more updated content in a less user-friendly interface.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current All
MedlinePlus

A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
O*Net Online

The O*NET Online serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations.

Report Problems
Full-text current Most
PAIS

An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current All
PubMed @ CSUSM

The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current All

Newspapers

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
ABI/INFORM Complete

Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

 

The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current Some
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Accessible Archives

A good source for 19th Century American History; includes newspapers on the Civil War and African Americans.

Report Problems
Full-text 1728 to 1900 Most
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Newspapers digitized from 37 states chronicling African American experiences and influence in a variety of events from the early 19th through late 20th centuries.

Report Problems
Full-text 1827 to 1998
California Digital Newspaper Collection

Digitized full text newspapers consisting of lesser-known titles from cities and regions in California. Part of the IMLS-funded national effort to make historical newspapers freely available.

Report Problems
Full-text 1846 to 1920
Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1992 to current None
Factiva

Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

Report Problems
Full-text 1808 to 1980 None
LexisNexis Academic - News

Direct to the News link of LexisNexis Academic

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
Los Angeles Times (Historical)

Archival issues and articles beginning with 1881. Issues published during the past twenty-four years are not available in this database. Check ProQuest or Factiva databases for the material not held in this collection.

Report Problems
Full-text Archive None
New York Times (Historical Collection)

The New York Times Historical Collection provides full page and article images including the NY Daily Times (1851-1857). The most recent four years not included in this historical collection can be searched through ProQuest Direct, LexisNexis or Factiva.

Report Problems
Full-text Archive None
ProQuest Newsstand

Includes coverage of over 300 major U.S. and international newspapers, such as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune.

Report Problems
Full-text 1970 to current None
San Diego Union Newspaper Archive

Collection of newspapers published in San Diego under various titles, including the San Diego Union.

Report Problems
Full-text 1872 to 1983
Times (London) digital archive 1785-1985

Provides access to the complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Report Problems
Full-text 1785 to 1985 None

Reference

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)

Images from a variety of museums and collections with educational use rights.

Report Problems
current
College Source

Access to nearly 25,000 full-text college catalogs. A great place to begin looking at graduate and professional schools.

Report Problems
Full-text 1994 to current None
Contemporary Authors

Biographies and bibliographies of 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Report Problems
Full-text 1991 to current None
Dictionary of Literary Biography

Biographical and critical reception studies of over 140,000 authors as well as year-in-review articles.

Report Problems
Some full-text current Some
EBSCO Animals

Provides a good, brief introduction to various animal species; includes encyclopedia entries for common animals.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current None
Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Brief entries on key philosophical and religious persons and concepts.

Report Problems
Temporarily Unavailable as of 4/25/2014. Access being provided through CougarApps. Be patient as it may take some time to load.
CD ROMS: web-accessible 1000 to current All
Export.gov Market Research Library

Registration by students or researchers required. Market Research for foreign countries and industry sectors.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
FedStats

Official statistical information from the federal government, including economic and population trends, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
Glassdoor

A comprehensive career resource with information on thousands of companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of work.ing for a particular employer.

Report Problems
Full-text current
Going Global Country and Career Guides

Going Global Country and Career Guides contains country profiles and cultural briefings, global employer profiles and job opportunities and resources. Contact the Career Center to take full advantage of these opportunities.

 

 

Report Problems
Full-text current
IBISWorld Industry Research

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.

Report Problems
Full-text current Most
Import Genius

Import Genius tracks import and export activities around the world. To access register using cougars email.

Report Problems
Need proxy, domain names to build page
Full-text current
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Informative introduction to major people and ideas in the world of literary theory and criticism.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Literature Criticism Online

Extensive collection of literary criticism authors and their works from antiquity to present.

Report Problems
Some full-text current Some
MedlinePlus

A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
Oxford English Dictionary

A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Passport GMID. Euromonitor's international markets & reference statistics.

Market size, company share, brand share data for 24 industries across 80 countries over a 20-year period (1997-2016) complimented by full-text market reports and industry sectors at the country level.  Country and Consumer statistics and analysis for 212 countries.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Twayne's Authors Online

This series provides literary criticism for approximately 600 authors, including critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres.

Report Problems
Full-text current All
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

The premier database for finding publication information on journals and other periodicals; includes 250,000 + academic journals, magazines, and other hard-to-locate serials.

Report Problems
None 1932 to current None

Trial

We're trying out the following databases for possible purchase.
Give them a spin and tell us what you think.

Database Coverage Scholarly
Afro-Americana Imprints,1535-1922

A variety of texts, pamphlets and more reflecting the African American experience in 19th and early 20th Century America. Click on the America's Historical Imprints to access the African American collection.

Trial access available from 10/27/2014 until 11/30/2014
current