Business (General)

You are here

Welcome to Business Research

Industry and Company Research Videos

Introduction (video & tools)

Introduction to Business Research at CSUSM library    
This short video is an introduction to using the CSUSM library for business research.  If you are new to the campus you will want to view this. (Welcome to CSUSM library, business research) 

Industry Research    (Required Viewing for SE 495)
This 5 min video is what you need to get started on industry research for many of your courses.  If you are new to the campus this is required viewing and will show you how to use these premium subscription industry reports.


IBISWorld Industry Reports Video Tutorial
Excellent overview what the Industry Reports contain and how to extract pertinent information for your research reports

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

This webguide will walk you through each step in referenceUSA to find private and competitor information. 

ReferenceUSA     (Prezi slideshow)  to find private company information and analyse your competition by revenue, employee size, and location.   This is an interactive tool where you will finish with a completed competitor list.

 

Business News

Business News Databases

Trade publications report on the industry for the industry, examples are: Automotive News, Restaurant News, Hotel and Motel Management, Sales and Marketing Management.  The free web will give you current or sample issues. Premium content and backfiles are available through these research databases.

 

      Ebsco Business Source Premier

Harvard Business Review full text 

Excellent source for industry reports, company profiles and SWOTS and managment and market news.

 

      Proquest ABI Inform Complete

Best for all industry news articles, widely used by business for recent news on competitors, suppliers and customers.

 

Factiva 

Wall Street Journal and world wide news 

Excellent for major publically traded companies and international. 
TIP:  Search "conference call" [company name] to read latest analysis and quarterly reports interviewed by top analysts.

 

Euromonitor Passport

Industry market reports on consumer goods and services.   Excellent economic indicator reports.  Global perspective.

 

Trade and  Professional Associations

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.

Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association

 

Local Business News  These links provide premium current and full text access unavailable to free web)
 

San Diego Union Tribune 
San Diego Business Journal    (limited access via Proquest).  Physical holdings for SDBJ Book of Lists

 

Books | eBooks | Videos | More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

Books & eBooks Collections

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Business Expert Press E-Books

Business Expert Press publishes concise, practical treatments of the topics taught in MBA programs. Our born-digital books are written by professors who translate real-life business experiences into teaching tools, and serve as curriculum-oriented, cost-effective alternatives to high-priced textbooks. Unencumbered by DRM, they can be used easily and without limitation by the academic community.

Report Problems
Full-text 2010 to 2014 Most
Wiley Online Library

Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current Most
Safari Books

A collection of over 300 O'Reilly programming and technology books - each completely searchable, including code fragments.

Report Problems
Full-text 1993 to current None
SpringerLink

Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
EBSCO eBook Collection

Access to a full text collection of over 4,000 e-book titles covering a wide-range of subject areas.

Report Problems
Full-text 1850 to current Most

APA Business Citations

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

Common Business Citation Styles

Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

Recommended Citation Generators
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

Articles:
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name.

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

Company Information TEMPLATE 
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 

How to cite REFERENCEUSA
Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

 

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
08/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info