Marketing (Start here)

Marketing [Start here] JSO 4/16

Marketing

Use the navigation on the left-hand side of the page to locate - books, journals, articles, and more!

This resource puts together sources for researching topics related to marketing and advertising.  The web sources offer links to tools to locate learn more about the profession of marketing and also web-based marketing sites of interest. 

DICTIONARY | ENCYCLOPEDIA | REFERENCE SOURCES:

    

    Image of ebook  Developing successful marketing strategies  [eBook]

      eBook via Business Expert Press.  For off-campus access CSUSM ID  and password required

 

 

 


 

     The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing: Putting Theory to Use [eBook]

     eBook via Ebook Central.  For off-campus access CSUSM ID and password required

 

 

 

 

See LEFT to link to other pages of resources for Marketing/Advertising.

Books | eBooks | More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

Marketing Books, eBooks and More (JSO 4/16)

When searching the collections for books/ebooks on this topic try the following keywords and subject headings.

Advertising campaignsBranding (Marketing) | Consumer Behavior | Consumer profiling - research | Consumers -- United StatesDemography -- United States |  Export MarketingInternet advertisingInternet Marketing | Marketing | Market segmentationMarketing - ManagementMarketing - Case Studies | ConsumersMarketing - Social AspectsMotivation research (Marketing)Social Marketing | Target Marketing | Relationship Marketing | Marketing Research

Select books, eBooks, and more below

Image of ebook.       Brand Famous: How to Get Everyone Talking About Your Business [eBook]
     eBook via Safari Books Online








 

Image for Ebook       Understanding Digital Marketing [eBook]
      eBook via Ebook Central 





 


 

  The Handbook of Marketing Research: Uses, Misuses, and Future Advances
  [available in both print & eBook]
   eBook via Sage  |  Library   4th Floor Stacks   HF5415.2 .H286 2006




 

     Data-Driven Marketing: The 15 Metrics Everyone in Marketing Should Know
     [e-book]
    
eBook via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)




 

Image of book, links to a catalog search for all titles by New Strategist New Strategist Editors Collection [e-book collection]  - Selected individual titles listed below

Series of e-books on consumer behavior & consumer demographics 

 

 

 


      The American Marketplace Demographics and Spending Patterns [eBook]





 

 

link to ebook     Who's Buying: Executive Summary of Household Spending [eBook]

 

 

 

    

Link to book     How to Write a Marketing Plan [ebook]
     eBook available via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary).  For off-campus access CSUSM ID and password required

 

 

 

 

 

Image  of ebook    Instragram Power: Build your brand and reach more customers with visual influence [book]

   eBook available via Safari Books Online. For off-campus access CSUSM ID and password required

 

 

 

 

Link to e-book via Ebrary databaseThe Marketing Pathfinder  [eBook]

  eBook available via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary).  For off-campus access CSUSM ID and password required

 


 

 

 

image of ebook Handbook of research on digital media and advertising: User-generated content consumption [eBook]

  eBook available via Business Expert Press - IG Library 

 

JSO-Marketing-Films on Demand

Streaming Media Titles on Marketing/Advertising (selected):

 

Image of Corinna Falusi, chief creative officer of Mother New York who speaks  Corinna Falusi: Interviews with Giants, 22:12 min video  

     Corinna Falusi, chief creative officer of Mother New York, sits down with John to discuss international differences in advertising, how fast-moving trends keep you creative, and how diversity in the workplace directly correlates with a diversity of good ideas.

 

 

 

Image showing a consumer holding a cell phone Marketing: Secrets of Branding, 49:49 min video

     Advertising and marketing creates a perceived need for goods and services. In this program, ad agency experts share their insight into how compelling messages are crafted.
A BBC Production.

 

 

 

Image showing consumer drinking Starbucks coffee  Marketing Strategy Case Studies: The Starbucks Experience, 26:55 min video

     Starbucks is the essential success story of the American capitalist dream. From humble beginnings in 1971 as a Seattle coffee store, it’s become a multinational with over 21,000 outlets in 63 countries. Its brand is universally known. This program looks at the role of acquisition, brand-stretching, social media, and new channel development in Starbucks' success and considers criticisms of some of the company's policies.
 

 

Databases (selected)

JSO-Marketing-select-DBs

Databases (selected) provide access to news, magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals.

  • ABI/Inform: Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
     
  • Business Source Premier: Full-text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
     
  • Factiva: Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news
     
  • Sage Journals OnlineSage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
     
  • ScienceDirect: Provides full-text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
     
  • EmeraldProvides access to the full-text of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.

Marketing - Consumer Demographics, Segmentation

  • Sports Market Analytic Research Network: SBRnet serves any individual or organization with an interest in the business of sports with "one-stop" access to multiple resources, including Industry-developed Market Research, Government Statistics, Facility Reports and News, International Market Publications, Customized Research, and Directories. Only SBRnet provides nationwide analysis of statistical trends in each major segment of the sports market and the extent to which they interrelate.
     
  • Passport by Euromonitor Expert market analysis and statistics on consumer products and services for most countries.
     
  • SimplyAnalytics (CSUSM) and create personal account to saveConsumer demographics at the national US level, state, county, and local levels.  Uses MRI and SimmonsLocal detailed consumer preferences, lifestyle, survey responses. Create your own account. 
     
  • ESRI GIS Community AnalystTo obtain password access to ESRI's GIS product please contact the Business Librarian Ann Fiegen, afiegen@csusm.edu(link sends e-mail) or Allen  Risley arisley@csusm.edu
     

Census & Local Information

  • Business & Industry - Census Bureau Economic Statistics (Main page) (Census)
     
  • American Factfinder: Enter a state, county, city, town, or zip code:
    (Find popular facts: population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.

     
  • SANDAG (San Diego Area Governments): Contains demographic & other data. Try the data surfer or Fast Facts, Census, etc.
     
  • American Consumer Survey: helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation (Source: ACS). 
     
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS): Main page showing the various surveys conducted by this service.
    • Consumer Expenditure Survey: Datafinder for the CES, "This survey measures how people in the United States spend their money on items such as housing, food, education, transportation, and health care" (Source; BLS). 
       
    • American Time Use Survey: Datafinder for the ATUS, "The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. (Source: BLS). 

 

Marketing and Advertising Popular Reads

Marketing & Advertising (Periodicals, websites)

Library Resources (selected):

Advertising Age (library resource)

Ad Week (library resource)

PRweek (library resource)

Customer relationship magazine (CRM) Magazine (library resource)

Target Marketing (library resource)

Sales and Marketing Management  (online resource) Limited free availability

Online Resources:

Nielsen Insights  Top Ten  (online resource) Discover what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, and buying.  Issued weekly, monthly or quarterly.

Greenbook: Guide for buyers of marketing research (online source) Worldwide directory of market research firms and related newsletters and blogs

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Business & Economics Librarian
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Website  Research

Featured -- Learn about the US Census online at Census Academy
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting

Judy Opdahl

Instruction & Reference Librarian
Image of librarian Judy Opdahl
jopdahl@csusm.edu
760-750-4307
Office Location: 
KEL 3424, office has changed now inside the librarian hallway
Office Hours: 
email for an appointment

Each Spring & Summer Semester(s) serves as Business & Economics Librarian. 

  


Feedback