You are here

Data and Statistics in the Library

Data Sources for Business

Business Statistics and Data

Data and Reports for Business Research

Open Data Sources

Data USA  Open data on public data for United States.    Compiled by "Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo, Professor at the MIT Media Lab and Director of Collective Learning" (student recommended)

Google Public Data
Selected data set search,  ability to create and save your own data sets.

 

California Higher Education Data Sources
Web Data sources for California Higher Education 

Census and Government Sources: 

USA.gov Statistics  Search for all levels of government data and statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States of the United States Quick look up to fast facts.  By topic, employment, demographics, business enterprises, labor, population, health, etc.

US Census www.census.gov
     People and Households; Business and Industry,. geography

American Community Survey is an annual survey on demographics that updates the dicennial census.
An excellent source for customer demographics is the U.S. Census especially the yearly American Community Survey which samples population characteristics.   The kinds of information collected by the U.S. Census Bureau supports the work of and is used by federal, state, and local government agencies.

What's the difference between the U.S. Census and the American Community Survey?
American Factfinder  A tool to find census data
San Diego Association of Governments  County planning and transportation for San Diego County
In San Diego the local arm of the Census is SanDAG the San Diego Association of Governments which takes census data and inteprets and augments the data for local economic and land use and transportation planning

Commercial Databases (CSUSM users only)

The library subscribes to a number of data sets useful for business, many are listed in the library business course guides and research guides. Listed here are those with extensive statistics and data useful for business decisions. 

ReferenceUSA Consumer and Lifestyle Database   Use for business company look up, competitor analysis, site location, target market areas, links to Yahoo jobs and company contact info.  Limited lifestyle and demographics.

Euromonitor Passport Reports and Statistics 
Passport has a global consumer behavior marketing reports and statistics, supply chain, and economics.

ESRI GIS Business and Community Analyst Online.  See Ann Fiegen for password access

Simply Analytics (CSUSM users only)
Demographic, socio-political, and consumer behavior data and analysis.  Contains mapping and spatial analysis features.  Requires individual registration, be sure to look at the video introduction in upper right.   Contact the business librarian for help using this excellent source.

 

 

 


 

 

Financial Ratios

Financial Ratios


How to find Financial Statements and Industry Ratios:

Kaufmann Foundation Business templates
(This has not been tested)

Interactive sheets for finance but be aware PC conversion needed prior to MAC use.  

MOST POPULAR:

IBISWorld Key Statistics
Industry  Financial Ratios for major industries.    Look to the far right tab for KEY STATISTICS --> Ratios

 

Mergent Online (Library Database)
A financial analysis database of over 10,000 publicly traded US and international companies. Search by SIC, long term debt, profit margin, total revenue, and more. Create custom financial comparison charts. Includes EDGAR (SEC) filings back to 1993.

 

Bizminer   (Library Database)
Premium library access to industry financial analysis by NAIC and market analysis, excellent for SME, Small to Medium Enterprises
 Metro, county, state, national
 

How to pull Reports in Bizminer
1. Industry Financial Analysis.   

  1. Industry Financial Reports: Business plans, 

    1. Industry Financial Reports --->  Search your industry

      1. Industry Financial Profiles --> Choose Location --> Select Sales class
         

    2.  Industry Market Reports  contain   competitor reports and Sales per sq. ft reports

RMA Annual Statement Studies (in Print)
REFERENCE
HF5681.B2 R6 
Industry financials and ratios by industry type (SIC). Comparison data back 5 years. Data derived from membership loan applications. Good for national.

Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (in Print) / Leo Troy.
REFERENCE 
HF5681.R25 A45 
Troy's uses IRS tax return data, the publication covers 192 industries, and 50 performance indicators, you can often find more detail in Troy's. Use NAICS to locate your industry. Useful when other titles do not cover your industry, and includes some industries that are typically privately held. Data derived from tax returns. Good for national.

 

A) If you have a company name -

Company directories library databases:  ReferenceUSA, Mergent will list the SIC or NAIC number and industry description.   Jot these down as they are the way to find any industry info.  Besides you will be requied in Senior Experience to memorize them!

B) If you know the industry name -

Go to U.S. Census to find the industry classification number NAICS or SIC:
North American Industrial Classification System

2. The titles listed provide industry financial averages and ratios. Most are located in the Business Quick Reference area of the library or as electronic databases.

 

Title Industry Company

Bizminer (Library Database)

 

x  

BizStats.com
Find business statistics, profitability and financial ratios for industry type and company.

 

      x        x

Business reference guide: for anyone involved in analyzing, valuing or selling a business. HD1393.25 2011 Reference. earlier edition circulates.

 

      x        x

 Business and Industry Economic Census
Industry and Economic data by the US Census

 

    x  

Factiva  [Library Database]
Choose the Company/Markets Tab on top  to view Industry averages and ratios
 

     x  x

First Research Industry Profiles by Dun & Bradstreet    accessed from ABI Inform Complete
Enter the search: pub(first research)  and add your industry.   "Food Trucks" is a good example of the kinds of reports you will get.    Includes Financial Ratios for the industry.

 

      x  

Mergent Online [Library Database]
A financial analysis database of over 10,000 publicly traded US and international companies. Search by SIC, long term debt, profit margin, total revenue, and more. Create custom financial comparison charts. Includes EDGAR (SEC) filings back to 1993.

 

      x  x

RMA Annual Statement Studies LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
REFERENCE HF5681.B2 R6
Industry financials and ratios by industry type (SIC). Comparison data back 5 years. Data derived from membership loan applications

 

      x  

Reuters Business and Finance Stocks
Once you enter a company name, choose ratios report. Includes lots of ratios, by company, industry, sector, and S&T 500. This path will lead you to the short free reports.

 

      x        x

S & P / Capital IQ Industry Surveys  LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions

S & P / Capital IQ Industry Survey. Monthly investment review.
REFERENCE HG4915 .S652
Essays in broad industry categories. Financials for companies back 5 years, and 10th year.

 

         x

Tax Statistics / IRS
Use the business tax statistics to see statistics by sector, industry, type of return and size. Especially useful for sole proprietorship, partnerships where data is not as easily accessible from other sources. Data derived from tax returns and other tax agency statistics.

 

      x  

Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (in print) / Leo Troy.

LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
REFERENCE 5681.R25 A45  PRINT ONLY
Troy's uses IRS tax return data, the publication covers 192 industries, and 50 performance indicators, you can often find more detail in Troy's. Use NAICS to locate your industry. Useful when other titles do not cover your industry, and includes some industries that are typically privately held. Data derived from tax returns.

 

      x  

Value Line Investment Survey HG4501 .V26 Reference  PRINT ONLY
Provides a short set of financial ratios for industries that can be compared to company reports.

 

      x        x

Yahoo Finance Stock Screening
Choose industry, and selected ratios for sales and profitability and valuation. For current year only

 

      x        x

 

How to interpret ratios

Recommended Subject in the Library Catalog:

Ratio Analysis    Over 16 books on how to work with financial ratios to view online or  check out of the library to take home.

Bragg, S. M. (2002). Business ratios and formulas: a comprehensive guide, Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. In print HF5691 . B73

Bragg, S. M. (2012). Business ratios and formulas: A comprehensive guide. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. e-Book access Online.

 

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Website  Research

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback