BA 604: Business Research Methods

You are here

Business Research Methods

Business Research Methods

Busines Research Methods Sources in the library

Business Expert Press 
Briefing books on many business subjects.  Free registration for full download. 

Sage Research Methods 

For the advanced user.  Find resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions. Use the Methods Maps to narrow to your area of interest, Reading lists, Project planner, Stats Pick tool.  Has  books, short articles and tutorials.

Business Subject Guide 

Industry and Company Research

Industry and Company Research Videos

Premium business databases ---

Business    Look here for a list of all business databases available through the library.

 

Introduction (video & tools)

Introduction to Business Research at CSUSM library    
This short video is an introduction to using the CSUSM library for business research.  If you are new to the campus you will want to view this. (Welcome to CSUSM library, business research) 

Industry Research    (Required Viewing for SE 495)
This 5 min video is what you need to get started on industry research for many of your courses.  If you are new to the campus this is required viewing and will show you how to use these premium subscription industry reports.


IBISWorld Industry Reports Video Tutorial
Excellent overview what the Industry Reports contain and how to extract pertinent information for your research reports

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

This webguide will walk you through each step in referenceUSA to find private and competitor information. 

ReferenceUSA     (Prezi slideshow)  to find private company information and analyse your competition by revenue, employee size, and location.   This is an interactive tool where you will finish with a completed competitor list.

 

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start:  

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect):  

Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts Search library home page (Oneas keyword and industry name.  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts and news reports. 

Local Industry Analysis 

San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library   Electronic version of Industry Surveys 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database) 

Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.  
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data.  Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Bizminer   Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis.   9000 industries by sales.  Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Statistics and Data

Business Statistics and Data

Data and Reports for Business Research

Open Data Sources

Google Public Data
Selected data set search,   ability to create and save your own data sets.

California Higher Education Data Sources
Web Data sources for California Higher Education 

Census and Government Sources: 

USA.gov Statistics  Search for all levels of government data and statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States of the United States Quick look up to fast facts.  By topic, employment, demographics, business enterprises, labor, population, health, etc.

US Census www.census.gov
     People and Households; Business and Industry,. geography

American Community Survey is an annual survey on demographics that updates the dicennial census.
An excellent source for customer demographics is the U.S. Census especially the yearly American Community Survey which samples population characteristics.   The kinds of information collected by the U.S. Census Bureau supports the work of and is used by federal, state, and local government agencies.

What's the difference between the U.S. Census and the American Community Survey?
American Factfinder  A tool to find census data
San Diego Association of Governments  County planning and transportation for San Diego County
In San Diego the local arm of the Census is SanDAG the San Diego Association of Governments which takes census data and inteprets and augments the data for local economic and land use and transportation planning

Commercial Databases (CSUSM users only)

The library subscribes to a number of data sets useful for business, many are listed in the library business course guides and research guides. Listed here are those with extensive statistics and data useful for business decisions. 

ReferenceUSA Consumer and Lifestyle Database   Use for business company look up, competitor analysis, site location, target market areas, links to Yahoo jobs and company contact info.  Limited lifestyle and demographics.

Euromonitor Passport Reports and Statistics 
Passport has a global consumer behavior marketing reports and statistics, supply chain, and economics.

ESRI Business and Community Analyst Online.  See Ann  Fiegen for password access
 

 

 

 


 

 

GIS (Geographical Information Systems) for Business

GIS for Business and Marketing

 

ESRI Community / Business Analyst

Demographic & Lifestyle data with Spatial Analysis -- Mapping

GIS in Business videos from the ESRI 2016 Business summit right in San Diego

Access to ESRI data and mapping service is available via password request.  Contact AnnFiegen, your instructor or the GIS lab.

For library research associated with a business assignment contact Ann Fiegen afiegen@csusm.edu for a password.

About GIS @ CSUSM

Business Analyst Online  Sign in with CSUSM password 
Business Analyst Online Web app  One minute getting started video.

 

ArcGIS Online

HELP INTRODUCTION to using Community Analyst Online

ESRI Demographics   See data source, available geographies and years and methodologies.  US and Other countries.
Sectors include:   For the US: ESRI Updated demographics, Census and ACS, Tapestry Segmentation, Consumer Spending, Market Potential, Retail MarketPlace, Business Data, Major Shopping Center, Traffic Counts.  

Available geographics:  Census designations, and DMA (Designated Market Areas)  based on Nielsen Media Research.

Consumer Spending:     20 categories with data derived from Bureau of Labor Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Market Potential:    35 categories of products and services derived from GfK MRI
Retail MarketPlace:     Retail sales by industry (NAIC) and measures supply and demand. 
Business Location Data:     By SIC/NAIC industry; annual sales, employees and other. Compiled from InfoGroup.  Use for site or competitor analysis, day or evening hiring by industry, match to busines inventory statistics.
Major Shopping:     Location and data on major shopping center.
Traffic Counts:    Daily volume and changes. 
 

ESRI White Papers HELP PAGES
Using data from the American Community Survey  (how to work with margins of error and more)

Importing your own data into Business Analyst

Explore ESRI GIS Retail for marketing, merchandizing and real estate and supply chain

ESRI Demographics Global Coverage Story Map directing user to data and maps

ESRI Insights    ESRI Insights Tutorial

 

 

 

APA Citing Your Sources

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

 

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

 

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

 

Recommended Citation Generators:


A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

 

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161



News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva. 

 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

 

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

 

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

 

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

 

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

 

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department Stores in the U.S Report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Storess.  Retreived from Mergent First Research. 


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 


Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info