MGMT 422 | Training & Development | Woodard

You are here

Start Here

MGMT 415 Getting Started

How to Use this Guide

Use this guide for your In-The-News assignments.  See the Business News tab for access to NYT, WSJ, and other metro papers.

Practitioner and Professional Journals  Just below you will see a list of practitioner and academic journals in your field.

Use the 3 Ways to Locate a Journal Article.  Still having trouble?   Use the chat or email to contact a librarian.

 

Industry Research For those needing to study an Industry, use the tab on the left.   Recommendations for management classes are IBISWorld for general overview;  First Research has great Getting Started Interview questions to understand management perspective in a particular industry. Real time Twitter feed on trending topics in the industry!

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Human Resources Journals: Academic and Practioner

HR Journals: Academic and Practioner


HR in the News

SHRM Society for Human Resource Management
International HR resources
Knowledge@Wharton Human Resources.  Reports of research by faculty at University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business
McKinsey & Co.

Premium News Sources at CSUSM
Factiva:   Wordwide business news and reports.  Access current and past issues of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post and thousands of others.
San Diego Union Tribune   Access via campus Newsbank subscription
San Diego Business Journal  Accessv via campus subscription to Proquest

In Depth HR Research: 3 ways to search.

1. OneSearch at CSUSM LIbrary (narrow your choices on the left navigation bar)   Caution this method is like "google inside the library"

2. Library Databases with Management, Org Behavior and Human Resources Magazinesa and Journals.
 
Search these recommended databases by your topic and narrow to approved journal titles.
All Business Databases

ABI Inform
Business Source Premier (BSP) Most of your tiltes are available through BSP --good place to start
Emerald Full Text (UK publisher with international content)
Science Direct  (all scholarly articles)
SpringerLink (all scholarly articles)
Wiley Online   (all scholarly articles)

3. Practitioner Journals

This is a list of selected HR and management journals available directly from the indicated database listed.  Use the links above to access them.  Look for Search by Publication to access by  title or use a search by topic. 
 

Academy of Management Executive (BSP Business Source Premier)
Across the Board (BSP)
ASTD Training and Development (ABI Inform)
Business Horizons (ScienceDirect)

Harvard Business Review (BSP)
HR Magazine (BSP)
HR Focus  (BSP through 2016)
Workforce Management (ABI Inform)
Organizational Dynamics (ScienceDirect)

Staffing Industry Review (selected free only not owned by the library
Staffing Success (selected free only not owned by the library

Training  (ABI Inform) each issue includes a country focus article
Training and Development (ABI Inform)
Workforce Management  (previously Personnel Journal) (BSP)
World at Work (Freely available and ABI Inform)

Academic Journals

Academy of Management Journal   (BSP)  also  HD28 .A24 Periodicals
Academy of Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .A23
Administrative Science Quarterly   (BSP) also HD28 .A25
California Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .C1

Employee Relations Law Journal  (BSP)
Employee Responsibilties and Rights Journal (Springer)
Human Relations   (BSP)  HD1 .H8
Human Resource Development Quarterly (Wiley Online)
Human Resource Management (Wiley Interscience)
Human Resource Management Review (ScienceDirect)

Industrial & Labor Relations Review (LexisNexis Academic, JSTOR-no full text for latest 3 years)
Industrial Relations (Blackwell Synergy)
International Journal of Human Relations  (BSP)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (BSP-no full text for latest 18 months)

Journal of Applied Psychology (PsychArticles Ebsco)
Journal of Business Ethics (Springer)
Journal of Collective Negotiation in the Public Sector  (BSP)
Journal of Labor Research  (BSP)
Journal of Management  (BSP)  also  HD28 .J597
Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology  (BSP)
Journal of Organizational Behavior  (Wiley Interscience)
Journal of Organizational Behavior Management (ABI)
Journal of Vocational Behavior  (ScienceDirect)

Labor Law Journal  (ABI Inform Global)
Labor Studies Journal  (BSP)
MIT Sloan Management Review

People and Strategy (Business Source Premier)
Personnel Psychology (BSP)  also HF5549 .A2 P53
Public Personnel Management (ABI Inform Global, CINAHL Plus)
 

 



 


Industry and Company

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start:  

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect):  

Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts Search library home page (Oneas keyword and industry name.  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts and news reports. 

Local Industry Analysis 

San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library   Electronic version of Industry Surveys 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database) 

Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.  
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data.  Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Bizminer   Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis.   9000 industries by sales.  Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Company

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.

Company  directories provide individual and competitor details for:

Name
Address and other contacts
Key personnel
Revenue and Sales
Employee size
NAIC / SIC numbers


Databases by Subject Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee  numbers.  Executive contact info.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

How to guides for all things ReferenceUSA

Factiva Public company profiles.  Choose the Companies tab across the top first.  Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.
Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Hoovers Company Profiles (ABI Inform)
Public and some larger companies,  Short competitor list and executives.

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 

Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

Non-profit and charitable resource page
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

 

Industry Research Getting Started VIDEOS

Industry and Company Research Videos

Premium business databases ---

Business    Look here for a list of all business databases available through the library.

 

Introduction (video & tools)

Introduction to Business Research at CSUSM library    
This short video is an introduction to using the CSUSM library for business research.  If you are new to the campus you will want to view this. (Welcome to CSUSM library, business research) 

Industry Research    (Required Viewing for SE 495)
This 5 min video is what you need to get started on industry research for many of your courses.  If you are new to the campus this is required viewing and will show you how to use these premium subscription industry reports.


IBISWorld Industry Reports Video Tutorial
Excellent overview what the Industry Reports contain and how to extract pertinent information for your research reports

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

This webguide will walk you through each step in referenceUSA to find private and competitor information. 

ReferenceUSA     (Prezi slideshow)  to find private company information and analyse your competition by revenue, employee size, and location.   This is an interactive tool where you will finish with a completed competitor list.

 

HR Books Videos and More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

MGMT 422 Subject headings

Training & Development

Library Catalog Books, Journal Titles and Media search

Select subject terms for catalog searches: 

career development | employees training of | formation | industrial management | management games | needs assessment | organizational effectiveness | organizational learning | organizational change | Personnel Management | social learning | training needs | learning psychology of | training |

Streaming Media

Business & Management Collection in Films on Demand
Videos are a click away anytime, anywhere.  For off campus access make sure to log-in with your User Name & Password.

Among the subjects covered in Films on Demand:  Business Education | Business Technology | Economics | Ethics & Business Law | Finance, Accounting & Taxation | Management | Marketing

Selected Videos on Training & Development

A Formula For Team Success (12:45)

Kanopy:  Videos on the subject of Business and Management

__________________________________________________________

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info