HD 300: Administration in Human Services Settings

You are here

Scholarly Articles

TL-HD300-scholarlyarticles


Searching for Articles

Access the online database below to find scholarly articles.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

  • A good general database to search for academic journals, newspaper, or magazine articles.  You can narrow your results by clicking on the publication type on the left.  

Google Scholar

  • An academically-oriented database powered by Google.  It includes scholarly articles as well as reputable websites and books.  Click on Get-It! @ CSUSM to retrieve or request the full text of the articles.

Human Development Databases

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
PsycINFO

Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1887 to current All
Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
Social Services Abstracts

Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1980 to current All
ERIC

A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.

Report Problems
ALERT! Within ERIC search results: IF the "Link to ERIC full text" does not work, try the "Get It!" link.
Links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current Some
CINAHL Complete

CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1937 to current Most
Google Scholar CSUSM

Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Social Work Abstracts

This database provides access to social work and human services journals from 1965 to the present. Topics include addictions, therapy, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, mental health, education, and human services.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1965 to current Most
MedlinePlus

A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current Some
POPLINE

Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes abstracts from published and unpublished sources all over the world.

Report Problems
None 1827 to current Most

Beyond Articles

TL-ALL-Books

Books often provide a broader treatment of a topic or issue. A book on the issue you are studying can provide background and a base of knowledge. A research project always needs some sort of background or context before discussing the focused issue.

 

Books at Cal State San Marcos

Library Catalog  

Search our local collection of physical and online books.

Other Options

Circuit (1-3 day delivery)

Search the collections of other San Diego area libraries -- about 3,000,000 books. Find and request books directly online; pick them up at our Library in 1-3 days.

WorldCat (5-10 day delivery)

Search the collections of libraries world-wide -- about 52,000,000 books. Find a book in this database, and fill-out an Interlibrary Loan delivery request. Book will be delivered to Library for pickup.

TL-ALL-FindingBooks

Finding Books in the Library

  1. Search the catalog to find a book.
  2. Make sure the item you want is available.
  3. Write down the call number (e.g. HQ 342.29 2007).
  4. Find the location of the book.
  5. Proceed to the location of the book (e.g. REF, 4th Floor Stacks). Look for the call number labels at the end of each row of bookcases, near the top.

You can use the item in the library OR check it out at the 3rd floor Check Out Desk with your student ID.

TL-ALL-searchcatalog

Subject Headings

  • Subject headings are words and phrases specifically created to tell you what a book is about.
  • They are the controlled vocabulary of the catalog.


One way to search by subject headings is to begin with a keyword search in the library catalog.

  • Locate a relevant item and click details to view the record.
  • Click one of the links under "Subjects" to view a list of other items that have been assigned the same subject heading. 

This image shows the details of a book record in the catalog. The subject headings of the book are highlighted. These headings can help to revise a search strategy.

  

Video: Using subject headings to find library materials

2015-05-19_13-38-02

 

 

What's the difference between searching by keyword and searching by subject headings?

 
Keyword Searching
  • Searching by keyword will return all results that include your search terms anywhere in the item record.
  • It is a more broad, less focused search.

This image shows an example of a keyword search. 21 results are found with the following search: (veterans ptsd).

 

 

Subject Searching
  • Searching by subject will only return those results that have been tagged with that specific word or phrase as a subject heading.
  • It will result in a more focused search.

 

This image shows a subject search. The title of the subject heading is (Veterans Mental Health Services United States). Subject searches can return more relevant results.

Statistical Data

TL-ALL-stats

National
Local
Health
Mental Health
Children/Youth
Education
Gerontology
Crime
Cultures
Cultures and Health

Program Funding

TL-HD300-programfundingguidance


Grant opportunities can be found directly from the websites of agencies and organizations offering those grants, or from other websites and databases that collect information on grants.


You may find it helpful to go up to the book stacks to browse the shelves. All of the books on the same shelf/area will be on a similar topic, so this is a good way of finding materials you might not have otherwise found by searching the book catalog. Try going up to the book stacks and browsing the following call number ranges:

HD62.6 Non-profit management

HF5686.N56 Non-profit finances / evaluation

HG177 Grants and grant-writing

HJ197 Non-profit finance

HV701-1420.5 Human services programs for children

TL-ALL-grantsGen

General Funding Resources

  • Pivot - *CSUSM only.* Pivot contains information on available grants, awards, fellowships, from federal/non-federal, corporate/private foundation, and international funding sources.
  • Federal Grants - Find and apply for federal grants at grants.gov.
  • Book: The Foundation Directory  Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor)  AS911.A2 F65
  • Book: Annual Register of Grant Support  Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor)  AS911.A2 A67
  • Foundation Center  Use this resource to find funders. Locate basic information by organization name, contact information and 990 IRS returns. Contains statistics on foundation and grant activity, search for RFP announcements for calls for grant applications. 
  • The Grantsmanship Center  Lists funding sources by state.
  • Guidestar  Use this website to find foundations and non-profit organizations that are interested in programs like yours. You will have to go separately afterwards to the organizations' websites to see what granting opportunities they offer. To find relevant foundations and organizations, click on "Take Action for Your Favorite Causes" and select the issue your program deals with.

Local Funding Resources

 

TL-ALL-grantsHealth

Health-Related Grants

 

APA Citation Help

TL-ALL-APA

Citing sources is expected in scholarly communities and is almost always required in research papers. Scholars cite:

  • to give credit where credit is due;
  • so your reader (professor) can find the source that you mentioned in your assignment;
  • to add credibility to your research - shows you did the work;
  • and to avoid plagiarism!

Not sure where to start? Review this Flow Chart of the citation process before you continue!

APA Style

APA stands for the American Psychological Association. This is the preferred citation style of many of the social and behavioral sciences. Always remember to check your assignment guidelines or ask your professor which citation style they prefer for your work.

Official APA Style Manual Resources

  • APA Style Manual (BF76.7 P83 2010)  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: the most current APA style manual is available at the Kellogg library. Click on the above link to find a copy. 
  • The official APA website  Off campus or need APA guidelines right now? Access the official APA website for citation help by clicking the above link. This site has useful tutorials and up-to-date facts about citing in APA.  

 

Helpful Online Resources

 

Also Helpful: Citation Generators

  • Zotero  Zotero is a tool for storing citations and generating bibliographies using data collected from the library catalog or websites such as Amazon or Google. For more information on using Zotero, see our Zotero Guide. Always double check your results with citation generators, they are not always perfect!
  • KnightCite Citation Service   This citation generator formats your citations for you. This can be a convenient tool, especially if you have a lot of sources to cite, but it is NOT 100% accurate. ALWAYS check an additional resource like the APA Manual or Purdue OWL to make sure that the citation is formatted correctly!

 

Sample Papers in APA format

 

Need Help?


Feedback
Contact Info