MKTG 442: Market Research

You are here

Secondary Sources Assignment

MRKT 442: Market Research SP16


Secondary Sources Assignment

Secondary published resources for your marketing assignment.

Your assignment familiarizes you with customer analysis sources.  Many sources are available free from goverment and some are only available through business and marketing databases or reports.  A sampling is available to the academic market via the library website.  Look to the tabs in this research guide to guide you with this assignment.

Secondary research is faster and cheaper than primary.  Knowledge of when and how to apply both are needed for customer analysis.

There are two kinds of sources:  Freely available sources such as government and organization/association websites.

  • Government sources-- demographics
  • Free web --free survey sites, association pages.

Subscription databases are access through the library and are free to currently enrolled students.

  • News Articles--Back issues from hundreds of trade magazines in Proquest ABI Inform; Factiva; Lexis Nexis etc.
  • Commercial databases on consumer preferences

  • ReferenceUSA -- Business directory and broad lifestyle categories at detailed geographic level (city, zipcode, neighborhood)

  • Scholarly research on customer analysis -- look for articles your professors and other marketing scholars write Emerald and Science Direct, Ebsco Host

  • Marketing Periodicals CSUSM Library

  • Market research reports (custom reports for companies not available to the general public) $$$$  Not available for purchase.

Statistics and Data

Statistics and Data


Data and Reports

 

Census and Government Sources: 

Statistical Abstract of the United States of the United States Quick look up to fast facts.  By topic, employment, demographics, business enterprises, labor, population, health, etc.

US Census www.census.gov
     People and Households; Business and Industry,. geography

American Community Survey is an annual survey on demographics that updates the dicennial census.
An excellent source for customer demographics is the U.S. Census especially the yearly American Community Survey which samples population characteristics.   The kinds of information collected by the U.S. Census Bureau supports the work of and is used by federal, state, and local government agencies such as, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Department of Transportation, Health and Human Services, Internel Revenue Service, Department of Labor etc.

What's the difference between the U.S. Census and the American Community Survey?

American Factfinder  A tool to find census data

SANDAG [San Diego Association of Governments]  County planning and transportation for San Diego County
In San Diego the local arm of the Census is SanDAG the San Diego Association of Governments which takes census data and inteprets and augments the data for local economic and land use and transportation planning

Bureau of Transportation Statistics "Over the years of its existence, BTS established itself with a focus in three key areas, each mandated by legislation: 1) compiling, analyzing, and publishing a comprehensive set of transportation statistics; 2) making statistics readily accessible; and 3) implementing a long term data collection program" (Source About BTS).

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Expenduture Survey "The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau" (Source: Consumer Expenditure Survey).

 

Commercial Databases

ReferenceUSA Consumer and Lifestyle Database
View tutorial

Passport GMID Euromonitor's International Markets & Reference Statistics
GMID is a global consumer behavior marketing reports and statistics. 

Industry, Consumer and Country data
INDUSTRIES--use the Quick Analysis Finder to access Country reports, Company profiles, Global reports, Latest News all by industry
COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS--view consumer trends, lifestyles, and other information (past & forecasted) by country

Premium business news sources. 

Factiva

ABI Inform Complete

Business Source Premier 

Lexis Nexis Academic
Clustered by type of publication you will get a different perspective by searching: Industry Trade perspective, News, Magazines
 

Market Research Reference Publications in Print (search in Library Catalog)


     By MSA with socio/cultural lifestyles, MSA rankings, lifestyle rankings, demographic rankings
Editor and Publisher Market Guide for US and Canada
     By MSA:  Market ranking tables, state and metro area market surveys, population, age, ethnicity, housing, income, education, general retail sales.

Marketing Information: A Strategic Guide for Business and Finance Libraries
     Leads to more demographic, geographic, lifestyle sources.

 


NAICS (Business)

 Use a directory or company search to help you identify an Industry Classification code.  This will be helpful in your next steps in Industry research.

North American Classification System [NAICS]

NAICS Pronounced Nakes; is a unique, all-new system for classifying business establishments. Adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, it is the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States. (Source: FAQs US Census).

2012 NAICS classifications

 

Google for Statistics & Data

Google can be an effective tool to locate some public data. 

"Search demographic terms like population or unemployment rate, followed by a county, state or country, and you'll get instant data about your chosen location directly from the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. From there, you can click through to compare rates in different locations" (Source Search Tips & Tricks - Inside Google).
 

Try it - in the search bar type" "Population San Diego"
 

  The result will yield a chart from the US Census.

  When you select this chart, additonal data and filters are provided.  You  

  can then compare geographical regions, time periods, and demographics.

 

 


There is also a Google Public Data Explorer  This link allows you to access the different public (US and Global) datasets for searching.  You can search across all OR select a specific dataset.

Complete list of tips & tricks for searching GOOGLE

 

APA Citations for Business

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

 

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

 

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

 

Recommended Citation Generators:


A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

 

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161



News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

 

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

 

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

 

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

 

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

 

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department Stores in the U.S Report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Storess.  Retreived from Mergent First Research. 


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 


Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen

 

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info