MGMT 622 Hospitality & Tourism Management S17

You are here

Getting Started : Business Research

Industry and Company Research Videos

Premium business databases ---

Business    Look here for a list of all business databases available through the library.

 

Introduction (video & tools)

Introduction to Business Research at CSUSM library    
This short video is an introduction to using the CSUSM library for business research.  If you are new to the campus you will want to view this. (Welcome to CSUSM library, business research) 

Industry Research    (Required Viewing for SE 495)
This 5 min video is what you need to get started on industry research for many of your courses.  If you are new to the campus this is required viewing and will show you how to use these premium subscription industry reports.


IBISWorld Industry Reports Video Tutorial
Excellent overview what the Industry Reports contain and how to extract pertinent information for your research reports

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

This webguide will walk you through each step in referenceUSA to find private and competitor information. 

ReferenceUSA     (Prezi slideshow)  to find private company information and analyse your competition by revenue, employee size, and location.   This is an interactive tool where you will finish with a completed competitor list.

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Hospitality and Management Journal

HR Journals: Academic and Practioner


HR in the News

SHRM Society for Human Resource Management
International HR resources
Knowledge@Wharton Human Resources.  Reports of research by faculty at University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business
McKinsey & Co.

Premium News Sources at CSUSM
Factiva:   Wordwide business news and reports.  Access current and past issues of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post and thousands of others.
San Diego Union Tribune   Access via campus Newsbank subscription
San Diego Business Journal  Accessv via campus subscription to Proquest

In Depth HR Research: 3 ways to search.

1. OneSearch at CSUSM LIbrary (narrow your choices on the left navigation bar)   Caution this method is like "google inside the library"

2. Library Databases with Management, Org Behavior and Human Resources Magazinesa and Journals.
 
Search these recommended databases by your topic and narrow to approved journal titles.
All Business Databases

ABI Inform
Business Source Premier (BSP) Most of your tiltes are available through BSP --good place to start
Emerald Full Text (UK publisher with international content)
Science Direct  (all scholarly articles)
SpringerLink (all scholarly articles)
Wiley Online   (all scholarly articles)

3. Practitioner Journals

This is a list of selected HR and management journals available directly from the indicated database listed.  Use the links above to access them.  Look for Search by Publication to access by  title or use a search by topic. 
 

Academy of Management Executive (BSP Business Source Premier)
Across the Board (BSP)
ASTD Training and Development (ABI Inform)
Business Horizons (ScienceDirect)

Harvard Business Review (BSP)
HR Magazine (BSP)
HR Focus  (BSP through 2016)
Workforce Management (ABI Inform)
Organizational Dynamics (ScienceDirect)

Staffing Industry Review (selected free only not owned by the library
Staffing Success (selected free only not owned by the library

Training  (ABI Inform) each issue includes a country focus article
Training and Development (ABI Inform)
Workforce Management  (previously Personnel Journal) (BSP)
World at Work (Freely available and ABI Inform)

Academic Journals

Academy of Management Journal   (BSP)  also  HD28 .A24 Periodicals
Academy of Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .A23
Administrative Science Quarterly   (BSP) also HD28 .A25
California Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .C1

Employee Relations Law Journal  (BSP)
Employee Responsibilties and Rights Journal (Springer)
Human Relations   (BSP)  HD1 .H8
Human Resource Development Quarterly (Wiley Online)
Human Resource Management (Wiley Interscience)
Human Resource Management Review (ScienceDirect)

Industrial & Labor Relations Review (LexisNexis Academic, JSTOR-no full text for latest 3 years)
Industrial Relations (Blackwell Synergy)
International Journal of Human Relations  (BSP)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (BSP-no full text for latest 18 months)

Journal of Applied Psychology (PsychArticles Ebsco)
Journal of Business Ethics (Springer)
Journal of Collective Negotiation in the Public Sector  (BSP)
Journal of Labor Research  (BSP)
Journal of Management  (BSP)  also  HD28 .J597
Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology  (BSP)
Journal of Organizational Behavior  (Wiley Interscience)
Journal of Organizational Behavior Management (ABI)
Journal of Vocational Behavior  (ScienceDirect)

Labor Law Journal  (ABI Inform Global)
Labor Studies Journal  (BSP)
MIT Sloan Management Review

People and Strategy (Business Source Premier)
Personnel Psychology (BSP)  also HF5549 .A2 P53
Public Personnel Management (ABI Inform Global, CINAHL Plus)
 

 



 


APA Citation Style

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

 

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

 

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

 

Recommended Citation Generators:


A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

 

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161



News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

 

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

 

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

 

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

 

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

 

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department Stores in the U.S Report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Storess.  Retreived from Mergent First Research. 


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 


Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info