GBM 484 Strategies for Emerging Markets

You are here

Country Profile

Country Culture for Business

Recommended Reading
Juergensmeyer, M. (Ed.). 2014. Thinking globally.  Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.  (e-book).

Thomas, D. C. & Inkson, K. (2009) Cultural intelligence: Living and working globally (2nd Ed.). San Francisco, CA: Berrett-Koehler. (on order for the library)

Backgroud

CIA World FactBook    Short factual information on a country

World Bank Country Lending Groups
To locate low, lower middle, and upper middle income economies

Global Edge     Do this First--   You Must register for free to have full use of this site

Countries > Region > Europe >  Austria, Germany, Switzerland
Quick Links:
    Country Commercial Guide 
    BBC--Country Profile--verview, Facts, Leaders, Historial Timeline and of course latest news

Look at video clips under Video and Audio and  Programmes (left nav bar)

CPI Corruption Perception Index - This is from Transpacrency International, check to see where you country falls on this index.

GlobalEDGE Resource Desk for Culture   MGMT 461
Pick a country in Global Insights and look to the left light blue contents for culture.  Find links to Center for Intercultural Learning and Culture Crossing.  

Filter by country  >>  Cultures (Left blue bar)
Find links to Center for Intercultural Learning and Culture Crossing.

International Montetary Fund - Visit this site to learn more on your country.
     Take a look at the DataMapper (to help choose a country based on criterion) and IMF Data link

Select Databases

Business Source Premier  MGMT 461

Choose >>> Country Reports   Select a report for example: Select County Tab >>> India

Excellent Marketline reports in depth country profiles with chapter on social aspects of country. 

Films on Demand Country Culture
Film clips on countries and management practices around the world.  Custom clips can be embedded into your presentations. 

Gobal Management Information

Euromonitor Passport
Consumer industries and country studies and in depth market reports and statistics

Can do a KEYWORD Search OR Use the Search "tree" [multiple ways to get at data]

Example: Industries (Top bar in black) >>> Select Hot Drinks >>> Use the Search Tree

Hot Drinks >>>Consumer Expenditure >>> hit blue arrow >>> add in geography >>>Latin America >>> Search

Results show Popular Statistics | Analysis | Combined Statistics

ABI/IINFORM  (News, reports, data, Journals) MGMT 461 

Seach Hofstede and [dimension]   
Limit by Subject  
Limit by Country 

"Full-text journals, case studies, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world" (Source: ABI/INFORM).

Emerald Insight
Provides global perspectives scholarly articles with access to the fulltext of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.

ScienceDirect

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals in science, including subjects in social science: Business, Accounting & Management

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Doing Business In...

Doing Business in ...


Recommended Sources for Doing Business in .... guides

 

EUROPAGES
Described as a business-to-business directory for European business establishments. Search by product, service, company name, the directory returns company name, address, email, and maps and catalogs.

Foreign Governments on the Web / University of Michigan Documents Center
Lists foreign government web sites, background, laws, news and statistics. Immigration laws, labor laws, and links to Doing Business In foreign countries.

USA Trade Online
"A dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data" (Source: About USA Trade Online).  Sign-in required.
        Quick Start guide on the USA Trade Online 

Related Trade Database (US Census)

Exports: "A related-party export transaction is one between a U.S. exporter and a foreign consignee, where either party owns, directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the other party."

U.S. International Trade Statistics by NAICS and country

Export.gov  GBM 425
Country Commercial Guides (Doing business in ....) GBM 425
Industry Overviews
Market Updates
Multilateral Development Bank Reports
Best Markets
Industry / Regional Reports

HSBC Global Connections Country Guides Doing Business in 
Introductory material  (free and free registration)
Look at the country doing business in reports.   Doing business, taxation, audit and accountancy, HR and employment law, trade, banking, country overview.
Use the Trade Forecast reports, the Trade Forecast tool maps to see largest trading routes.

Doing Business in.... GlobalEdge (free registration recommended) GBM 425
Free online courses on doing business in.

Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to 90 countries. REF HF5549.5.E45 C73 2004 2 vol.
This title is getting a bit dated but has practical relocation info.

 

Country Risk Reports and Indicators

Doing Business: Benchmarking Business Regulations (World Bank)
Compare and calculate business risk in over 175 countries. Topics cover all aspects of starting and operating businesses in the selected countries. Includes business law library in home language that include labor laws, tax and tariffs. Yearly World Bank Doing Business In ... reports available for download.
Recommended for GBM 425 and BA 616 view links for law library and download country report, some are more complete than others.

NationMaster GBM 425
Quickly compare two countries across categories

Gini Index (World Bank Estimates) measuring inequality of wealth and income across countries.

Gini Coefficients: All the Ginis 1950-2012 from The World Bank

Dig deeper, latest news and analysis

Business Source Premier  (Library database) GBM 425
Seach:   Doing business in ........   to find articles on many countries.

Europa (The European Union Online)
Find news, activities, official documents and information sources including statistics.

GlobalEDGE International Business Resource Desk GBM 425
Covers free resources and links to research topics, countries, states, industries, and statistical tools. Created by Michigan State University, Broad College of Business.

Global Development Finance / World Bank.
Global Economic Prospects / World Bank.
These two flagship publications from the World Bank serve to track, record and forecast financial capital and economic forces for emerging countries.

International Country Statistics on the Web
Lists statistical agencies for each country. Through a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Web Site.

OECD - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

OECD Statistics Portal
Statistics arranged by topic and member country. Some topics are globalisation, Information and Communication Technology, Labor, Purchasing power.

OECD Stats by Theme
Comprehensive list of OECD statistical data collection programmes classified by theme.

OECD Data portal
Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: Charts, maps, tables, etc.

Selected countries

ProMexico Doing business in Mexico resources

China Business Research Guide
Best source for business guides to China. Compiled by University of Penn librarians.

Other sources

The Best Sources for International Industry Statistics / The Information Advisor. Volume 21(12) Dec. 2009.
Reports Online databases, market research reports, National statistics. Thanks to IA for sharing this.

 

Import / Export

Import / Export

IMPORT/EXPORT

Use this guide to get practical information on import, export, products, suppliers, products, consumers, industries and tax and tariff info.

San Diego International Trade Resources.
Good instructions and video clips on how to export and set up a  business.

Export.gov short videos on every aspect of exporting.

Part A:  Export Compliance and Regulations including Taxes and Tariffs, what's a freight forwarder, pro forma invoice, foreign trade zones
Part B:  Reporting Electronic Export Info, how to classify your commodity.
Part C: Using Trade Data for Export Planning and Strategy
Parct D:  Trade Agreements

Market Research, Products, Consumers etc

Euromonitor Passport CSUSM only GBM 425  
Comparative statistics on consumer product and services in major countries.  Essays on market potential in countries.

Mergent Online  provides information on industries in large geographic areas.  Select Industry Analysis with industry & country.

International Trade Data by Import / Export 

International Trade Administration  TradeStats Express

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
Provides export/import data on commodities between two countries. Search by commodity name or harmonized codes.

USA TradeOnline.  GBM 425 Follow instructions on the Practice Sheet for Kellogg Library Access
Detailed stats!   Import / Export commodity data between US and other countries. Port level data!   Search by commodity, commodity ranking, and times series, countries and trade groups.

Getting Stated Guide USA TradeOnline

Video Clip on access Import / Export Data in USA Trade Online

Video Clips on State Export data
 

U.S. Department of State
The Business Center web site has resources to help U.S. business in foreign countries. The Countries and Regions web site has country background reports. Embassy listings for each country include resources on doing business in that country including Country Commercial Guides.

U. S. International Trade Administration
News, statistics, Export Assistance.

Manifest Journals
Contains US Import Data analysis. Free registration required.

Doing Business ...   Import / Export Guidance, Tax, Tariff and 

BuyUSA.gov  GBM 425
Guidance for import and export by country.

Export.gov  GBM 425
International trade assistance and links to federal agencies with exporting resources
U.S. Customs and Border Protection. Trade   Import and Export information.

 

EXPORT SOURCES

Export Inport Bank of the United States
Export credit agency and financing.

Trade regulations, country specific trade issues, industry sectors
www.tradeport.org
www.ita.doc.gov


U.S. Chamber of Commerce (international business category)

Help with Export Barriers
Office of the United States Trade Representative 
www.ustr.gov

US. State Dept
www.state.gov

US Export Controls
www.export.gov/exportcontrols.html

UK and Ireland (firm information)

USA Trade Online  (Free trial registration)

For Europe
www.europages.net

For Latin America
www.mercantil.com

California International Trade Programs  some useful export assistance programs.

Corporate Information
Interactive web forms guide you in researching a company, a country, and industry, and currency rates.

Alibaba World wide access to wholesale product sellers and buyers. Free registration required.

Kompass Worldwide B to B supplier network
International directory of import/export companies with short company descriptions, contact information, and products and services. Some with web links to company sites.

Directory of United States Importers. REF HF3012 .D54 
Published by Commonwealth Business Media and PIERS. The directory is arranged by company name, product (name and SIC), state, trade commissions, embassy and consulate, foreign trade zones, ports, and financial services.

Directory of United States Exporters. REF HF 3011 .D63 
Published by Commonwealth Business Media and PIERS. The directory is arranged by company name, product (name and SIC), state, trade commissions, embassy and consulate, foreign trade zones, ports, and financial services.

Cost to Export (US$ per container)  World Bank  Comparative fees associated with exporting or importing a container

Port of Entry--San Diego
Port of San Diego, including Airport/Seaport, and Palomar Airport.
List of brokers with contact, and service hours
Forms for import export operations

 

Useful sites

San Diego World Trade Center
The SDWTC is an international business service organization licensed by the World Trade Center Association in New York. Members and clients of the SDWTC are primarily small, medium sized businesses or organizations committed to world trade.

APA Citations

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

 

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

 

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

 

Recommended Citation Generators:


A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

 

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161



News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

 

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

 

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

 

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

 

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

 

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department Stores in the U.S Report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Storess.  Retreived from Mergent First Research. 


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 


Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info