HIST 500-600: Tools for History Graduate Students

You are here

Welcome

Welcome to the Program!

Congratulations on joining the historians' scholarly community at CSUSM and beyond!

While the History Program's page for graduate students (Overview of the Masters of Arts in History at CSUSM), your graduate advisor, and thesis committee are the authoritive sources for questions pertaining to your thesis, this site has been designed to identify research sources and library functions in regards to your thesis.

Please feel free to contact me for additional help or with questions that are not answered here. I can frequently be found in the Archives (KEL 1006) rather than my office, so email or call if you are going to drop by.

With historical research, you need to keep in mind that your use of materials for your thesis can be different than a peer's use of the same materials, so there is no absolute answer in many cases. Rules, access, and resources are in constant flux meaning this information can change, so check back and ask often!

Preparatory Reading--My Recommendations

Of course, thinking about research opens the question to whether you can access materials during the summer when you may not be enrolled. Current library policy is that if you present documentation (a dated letter from a member of your thesis committee is best) that you are enrolling in the fall semester to continue your thesis work, privileges for continued access will be provided. If you enroll in Extended Studies for summer session, you are automatically granted library privileges. These include Circuit and Interlibrary Loan as well.

These titles are suggestions to supplement all the reading you will have during your breaks.

Writing history: a guide for students (REF D16 .S864 2004)

Feminist research practice: a primer (Stacks  HQ1180 .H47 2007)

The information-literate historian: a guide to research for history students (REF D16.2 .P715 2007) 

Navigating world history: historians create a global past (Stacks D21.3 .M285 2003 )

History Citations

HIST 500-600 Chicago Citation

Chicago/Turabian Style & Citations

The Chicago Manual of Style is the preference for most history researchers, but always check with your professor before proceeding on both citation style and which version. The Notes-Bibliography system is generally preferred in Chicago-style citations, but there is also an Author-Date system. These systems use different formatting, so be sure which your professor prefers.

IMPORTANT! Late 2010, University of Chicago Press issued a new edition for this style guide. Check your resources to make sure you are being given the latest information based on the 16th edition as not all sites have updated yet. Notable changes are listed here.

Chicago may be referred to as Turabian, after Kate Turabian, who wrote a manual for students for research, writing and citing sources based on the Chicago citation style. The current version is titled A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. The CSUSM library keeps a copy at the Research Help Desk at LB2369 .T8 2007 and a copy on permanent Reserves (Checkout Desk.)

Some helpful web sites:

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (University of Chicago, the publishers of the Manual, this is based on the 16th edition)

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers (U of Memphis, varies slightly from the guidelines of the 16th edition.)

HIST 500-600 Citation Generators

Citation generators are software that will format your citation by a fill-in-the-box strategy. Those available to students at no cost are listed here. There are other products with a range of prices and capabilities available for purchase.

Free does not mean perfect, so use with caution.

KnightCite (APA, MLA, Chicago) http://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/index.php

Son of Citation Machine http://www.citationmachine.net/

Citation Builder (NCSU) http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/citationbuilder

DocsCite (government documents in APA or MLA) http://www.asu.edu/lib/hayden/govdocs/docscite/docscite.htm

NOTE:

Zotero is a very useful (and free) tool for managing not only your citations, but your research materials as well. 

Copyright

Copyright for Historians

You may never thought about copyright before, but EVERYTHING has been or is copyrighted.

This can impact the materials you choose to use, the access you have to materials, and your exposure to legal and ethical risk. This is especially true if you are going to create a media/technology project as part of your culminating research and has impact in your future career in using materials created by others.

Do not despair, there are laws and legal interpretations allowing certain types of use, generally under the "fair use" interpretation of the law. Being a student gives you certain freedoms, but still requires permissions and citations. So, what does this mean to you as a student researcher?

  • Be aware of copyright and citation requirements
  • Be aware of privacy issues and permissions
  • Apply the rule of "Fair Use" (see below)
  • Err on the side of caution--when in doubt, discuss with your thesis/project advisor as they have trod this ground before and comply with copyright and privacy issues as well.

Copyright Rules (this is a generalization, so always verify your particular use)

  1. United States copyright law is different than other nations' and with the advent of digital publications and formats, the rules can be vague and subject to broad interpretation. The concepts noted here are from US law and practice. 
  2. The purpose of copyright is to protect an author/creator's right to make a profit from their work. There are companies and copyright holders who will pursue their copyrights vigorously.
  3. Many works fall out of copyright 70 years after the author's death and become "public domain", but the estate may continue copyright and the number of years defined by law has varied over the years. The presentation of the information may be copyrighted, while the actual information is no longer under copyright.
  4. Keep in mind that you are not the only person who will get sued for copyright infringement--the campus and History Department can be sued as well. 
  5. Just because someone else has committed copyright infringement, doesn't mean that you may do the same. CHECK THE SOURCE and permissions!
  6. Educational use has a greater amount of freedom than for profit, but the use still must be reasonable.
  7. Rule of PANE--in order to comply with copyright, you must meet at least THREE of these criteria
  • Purpose of the use. Is this for profit or educational use in a limited environment?
  • Amount of the source material being used. Are you are using the entire document or item or a minimal portion that would not affect the sale of the item?
  • Nature of the work. Is this a list of facts? A government document? Meant as a for-profit product?
  • Effect of the new work. Will use of the material limit or prevent sales of the original work?

Highly recommended links:

How I Learned to Love Fair Use Mary Minow's site on Copyright and Fair Use in academe

Copyright Term and the Public Domain (excellent site from Cornell) 

Sample Copyright Permissions and Descriptions:

Creative Commons (licensing effort to protect author's rights yet allow broad use)

United Nations Development Programme

Internet Archive Terms of Use

Computer History Museum Terms of Use

Thesis Information

Thesis History

Upon your successful thesis defense and signed approval by your committee, your thesis is added to the CSUSM Scholarworks collection in perpetuity as an Electronic Theses/Dissertation (ETD)!

To get your hard work into the collection, there are guidelines and more importantly, deadlines, from your department, the CSUSM Graduate Office, and Library:

Overview of the Masters of Arts in History at CSUSM

Library ETD Submissions Guide

CSUSM Office of Graduate Studies and Research

Masters Thesis, Project or Comprehensive Exam Information and Forms

Want to see what other CSUSM History Theses look like? Search SCHOLARWORKS >Theses, Dissertations and Graduate Research > History

Google

Google Books

What can Google Books do for you?

A search will reveal a large number of results, just like with any other internet search. You are getting a more focused portion of the internet as this is only searching books which have been scanned by Google in collaboration with some large universities. 

Problem is there are limitations set by publishers and copyright law on accessing full text.

Google is:

  • providing high-quality scans of searchable text.
  • including citations to books and snippets of books as well as full text of materials that are out of copyright or have provided permission for access.
  • including older journals and some government documents in this collection.
  • helping you discover what has been published in books that may not be available locally.

Google does NOT:

  • provide full text access to all documents found through a search. There is a mix of fully-available, text snippets, and citation only.
  • provide information on how results are ranked.
  • sort results by topic area.
  • allow printing of the text you locate.
  • tell you if the material is available through other means via CSUSM.

Workarounds:

  • Who else but your librarian? We are experts at solving the difficult and commited to providing access to the information you need.
  • How to find a title from Google Books:

    Here is a sample of some results on a search for "great war" and nursing and what they mean:

    • Be sure the title is a BOOK and search the title in our library catalog using a TITLE search. 
    • If CSUSM does not own the material, you have the option of ordering the material through Circuit from the record OR Interlibrary Loan at https://illiad.csusm.edu/login/. You will be asked to register during your first use to verify your contact and delivery information as you will be notified by email when the item has arrived.

Google Scholar

Doesn't the name, Google Scholar, sound perfect for you, the college researcher? Of course it does--you are entering the field of academic scholarship, so anything to do with being a scholar is the right choice, right? Well, this is a double-edged sword in that it is a great tool, but...

A search in Scholar will reveal a large number of results, just like with any other internet search. You are getting a more focused portion of the internet which should improve your search results for relevancy and quality.  Problem is, Google, like all technologies, has its limitations and there are limits set on accessing the full text. You need to be aware of limitations and their workarounds before assuming everything is at your fingertips in this one source.

Google does:

  • attempt to index every publication in the scholarly universe--it's not there yet, although they are trying!
  • include citations to books and articles as well as full text of materials that are out of copyright or have provided permission for access.
  • help you discover what has been published in books and articles as well as some non-published materials.
  • provide links to access (there is a catch here, read on...)

Google does NOT:

  • provide full text access to all documents found through a search using Scholar. There is a mix of fully-available, text snippets, and citation only.
  • provide information on how results are ranked.
  • automatically allow access to materials behind firewalls such as research databases (caveat here--if you are working through the campus link to Google Scholar, GET IT@CSUSM will work. This gives you access to the databases for which CSUSM has purchased access. This is automatic when on campus and can be set up for home use by following the instructions below.)
  • sort results by topic area. A search on literary criticism of Hemingway returned works in the field of medicine, psychology and others that were not relevant. This happens because an author's name is Hemingway or other non-relevant connection.
  • help you if you get stuck (such as a link-through not working).
  • tell you if the material is available through other means via CSUSM if you are not using the GET-IT link.

Workarounds:

  • Who else but your librarian? We are experts at solving the difficult and commited to providing access to the information you need. 
  • Scholar at home--follow the steps below to set up your Google Scholar to provide access to full text through CSUSM.

Here is a sample of some results on the search literary criticism Hemingway and what they mean:

http://content.screencast.com/users/jdownie/folders/Snagit/media/e1e2f5e3-a56b-4882-9b3f-d7f13d77c769/2015-09-01_13-35-32.png

 

Google Scholar at Home for the CSUSM User

Follow these steps to set up your Google Scholar to provide access to full text purchased by CSUSM. (Note, this is not going to work for materials held in licensed databases CSUSM hasn't paid for. Materials in that case will need to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan which is explained in the last bullet.)

  • At the machine you intend to use, go to http://scholar.google.com.
  • Click on Scholar Preferences, just to the right of the search box.
  • Look for Library Links. Type in the phrase California State University San Marcos and click on one or both boxes (one name has a comma in it) to select.  
  • Click on SAVE Preferences at bottom of screen.

Make sure your pop-up blocker is set to allow pop-ups from csusm.edu

Conduct your search, using appropriate terminology or authors' names. 

When you find something you want, click on the GET-IT @CSUSM link. (Note in the screen shot above that the link can be next to the title, or on a line underneath...wherever you find it, click on it.)

A new screen opens with the options available for accessing full text.

  • If it is a book, the link will take you to our library catalog and you will need to come in to retrieve and check out.
  • If it is an article, a screen will open (this is a pop-up) and you will be asked to log in  with your campus log in and password. Retrieve the document and you can close the document window and use the back button on the GET-IT.
  • If CSUSM does not own the material and/or it is not available through Circuit, you have the option of ordering the material through Interlibrary Loan. This is an simple process as the information downloads from the system, but you will be asked to register during your first use to verify your contact and delivery information.

Need Help?

Judith A. Downie

Special Collections and History Librarian
jdownie@csusm.edu
760-750-4374 OR 760-750-4312 (Archives)
Office Location: 
KEL3424
Office Hours: 
By Appointment

Feedback
Contact Info