For primary source material, please try this page: History Databases with Primary Source Materials
| Database | Full Text | Coverage | Scholarly |
|---|---|---|---|
|
America: History & Life info
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present. Report Problems |
|
1964 to current | All |
|
Historical Abstracts info
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Report Problems |
|
1973 to current | All |
|
JSTOR info
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences. Report Problems |
|
1838 to most recent five years | Most |
|
Project Muse info
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics Report Problems |
|
1993 to current | All |
|
ProQuest - History info
Search among ProQuest’s History databases Report Problems |
|
1985 to current | None |
| Database | Full Text | Coverage | Scholarly |
|---|---|---|---|
|
ACLS Humanities E-Book info
Approximately 1700 full-text e-books in the humanities. Report Problems |
|
1911 to current | All |
|
ArchiveGrid info
Access to thousands of digital texts, audio files, and images from open access archives. Report Problems |
current | ||
|
Dissertations and Theses Database: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection info
Dissertations and Theses Database includes digitized dissertations in a variety of subject areas including Art, Communications, Education, History, Linguistics, Literature, and Social Sciences. Report Problems |
|
1979 to current | All |
|
Electronic Collections Online (ECO) info
A broad database that includes brief abstracts of journals on a wide-range of topics. EBSCOHost provides a better place to start. Report Problems |
|
1995 to current | All |
|
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 info
A variety of books on art, science, history, music, religion and fiction from academic publishers. Report Problems |
|
1982 to 2004 | All |
|
Ethnic NewsWatch info
Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish. Report Problems |
|
1992 to current | None |
|
Handbook of Latin American Studies info
An essential bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Report Problems |
1935 to current | All | |
|
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index info
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. Report Problems |
1970 to current | All | |
|
History E-Book Project [name changed to ACLS Humanities E-Book] info
Approximately 1700 full-text e-books in the humanities Report Problems |
|
1911 to current | All |
|
Gale World History in Context info
Resources include primary and secondary materials on world history from the earliest times. Report Problems |
|
current | Few |
|
Military & Government Collection info
Provides full text for hundreds of military related periodicals and general interest magazines. Report Problems |
|
1975 to current | Some |
|
Oxford English Dictionary info
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet Report Problems |
|
current | All |
|
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 info
Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Report Problems |
|
1500 to 1926 | |
|
Making of the Modern World info
Digitized texts from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1914 provides access to over 62,000 primary source works on economics and business. Report Problems |
|
1450 to 1914 |