Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Visual & Cultural Arts eBooks - CSUSM Library
- Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning, by Pamela Sachant and Peggy Blood, University of North Georgia Press, 2016.
Open Textbook Collections (if applicable)
- UC Press E-Book Collection
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
- Open Culture Meta Collection
- Cool 4 Ed
- Khan Academy
- Ebooks Directory, searchable by keyword or topic.
- HathiTrust: A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Project Gutenberg offers thousands of free ebooks. Books can be searched by title or by category.
- Open Library searches a variety of sources for print and online books. Many ebooks are freely available for online reading or download.
- METPublications Over 400 free books on art published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- Guggenheim Digitized Books
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Some good channels:
- Tip: try searching YouTube by the name of your favorite museum to see if they have a YouTube channel.
- TED Talks – Animation / Art / Creativity / Culture / Design / Fashion / Media / Museums / Painting / Performance / Performance Art / Photography / Science and Art / Social Change / Social Media / Society / Sound / Street Art / Television / Typography / World Cultures/
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on the Arts and related topics.
- Art & Art History Videos from Stanford Humanities Center
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Select “Books & More” tab and use these limits: Full Text Available Online and Video.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals – search Open access journal titles
Courses via video and related materials, see the section Arts & Humanities.
- OER Commons
Searchable by discipline and academic level, this site provides a broad range of instructional materials, including texts, images, videos, primary sources and more.
- Merlot – Arts
Merlot (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a compilation of freely available resources for use in higher education, hosted by the California State Universities.
- Art & Art History courses, via Open Culture list of free online courses
Other Open Educational Resources
- National Gallery of Art image collection
- Rijksmuseum image collection
- Museum of Modern Art image collection
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Image Collection
- Open Image Collection from the British Library
- CSU IMAGE Project
- South Asian American Digital Archive
- New York Public Library Digital Collections Prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, ephemera from the collection of NYPL
- Political posters from the collection of the Oakland Museum of California
- Los Angeles Public Library Digital Collections
- SFAQ/NYAQ/LXAQ (San Francisco, New York, and Los Angeles Art Quarterly)
- Met Publications (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Other tools and resources
Other CSUSM Library Resources
More information about finding and using library resources can be found on the Visual & Performing Arts Research Guide.