Getting Started in the Library

You are here

On Campus Student

Getting Started - On Campus Student

Here are some helpful links and some information to get you started in the library. Whether you need help with research, a comfy place to study, or access to your course reserves, the University Library is the place for you!

Get help from a librarian

Need help interpreting your assignment requirements? Not sure where to go to find resources on your research topic? Been searching for 15 minutes and haven’t gotten anywhere yet? It’s time to get help from a librarian! You can get help from a librarian in the following ways:

  • Chat - best for relatively quick questions that you need answered quickly

  • Email - for more complex questions, or when you don’t need an answer ASAP

  • In-person at the Research Help Desk - when you need to meet with a librarian face-to-face or to find something inside the library building

  • Phone - when you can’t come to campus and need to talk out your question with a librarian

  • By appointment - when your question is complex and you need more than 5 minutes with a librarian who is an expert in your subject

Course Reserves

Sometimes your professor will put materials for your courses either online at the library or behind the check out desk at the library. Check the course reserves system to see if we have what you need. If we don’t have it, you can ask your professor if they can put a copy on reserve or you can check the University Bookstore.

Find a book

  • Go to the library’s homepage

  • Click on the tab for “Books & More”, type in your key word, and click “Search”

    • If you know the specific book you’re looking for, you can search by Author or Title (select these options in the drop down menu)

    • If you need to find a book on a certain topic, search by Keyword or Subject

  • On the next screen, select “Books” from the “Materials Type” drop down menu

  • If you need a book right away:

    • Access electronic books from anywhere with an internet connection and your CSUSM log in.

    • Find physical books can be on the 3rd-5th floors of the library by call number.

  • If you can wait a little bit (up to a week), use CSU+ to request books from another CSU library:

    • On the results page, select “Search Within: California State University collections” from the drop down menu

    • Click “Search”

    • The results list will show items that are at CSUSM and also at other CSU libraries

    • For items at other libraries, sign in with your CSUSM account to request the items you are interested in.

    • After you request your items, you will receive an email when they are ready to be picked up at the CSUSM library check out desk (3-5 business days).
       

Need help? Stop by the Research Help Desk or chat with a librarian.

 

Find a scholarly article

If your professor is requiring “scholarly”, “academic”, “peer-reviewed”, “scientific”, or “research” articles, you will need to use an article database.

  • Select an article database by subject or search alphabetically if your professor has recommended a particular database.

  • Each database is a little bit different, but there will generally be an option that allows you to narrow down your search so you are retrieving mostly scholarly/academic articles.

  • Search our Research or Course guides for help specific to your subject/course.

Not sure if the article you found is scholarly? Watch the What is a Scholarly Article? Video from the Kimbel Library.

 

Still not sure? Ask a CSUSM Librarian!

Distance Student

Getting Started - Distance Student

Here are some helpful links and some information to get you started on your library research if you are off-campus. Whether you need help with research, access to your course reserves, or need to find some information, the University Library is the place for you!

 

You can qualify for Distance Education library services if:

  • You are enrolled in classes that meet in Temecula or off-campus
  • You are enrolled in online classes that do not meet on campus

You will use Interlibrary Loan to request articles and books to be delivered to you for free. Your distance education service expires at the end of each semester so be sure to reapply for uninterrupted service.

If you have any questions contact Distance Education library services.

Get help from a librarian

Need help interpreting your assignment requirements? Not sure where to go to find resources on your research topic? Been searching for 15 minutes and haven’t gotten anywhere yet? It’s time to get help from a librarian! Distance education students can get help from a librarian in the following ways:

  • Chat - best for relatively quick questions that you need answered quickly
  • Email - for more complex questions, or when you don’t need an answer ASAP
  • Phone - when you can’t come to campus and need to talk out your question with a librarian
  • By appointment (phone or video chat) - when your question is complex and you need more than 5 minutes with a librarian who is an expert in your subject

Course Reserves

Sometimes your professor will put materials for your courses online through the library’s website. Check the course reserves system to see if we have what you need. If we don’t have it, you can ask your professor if they can put a copy on reserve or you can check the University Bookstore.

eBooks & Book Delivery

As a distance education student, our electronic books will likely be the most useful to you. However, you may register for distance education library services to have library books mailed to your home.

Follow these instructions to find books:

  • Go to the library’s homepage
  • Click on the tab for “Books & More”, type in your key word, and click “Search”
    • If you know the specific book you’re looking for, you can search by Author or Title (select these options in the drop down menu)
    • If you need to find a book on a certain topic, search by Keyword or Subject
  • On the next screen, select “Books” from the “Materials Type” drop down menu
  • If you need a book right away:
    • Access electronic books from anywhere with an internet connection and your CSUSM log in. Select “Full text online” in the menu under “Availability”.
  • If you can wait a little bit, request physical materials:
    • On the results page, select “Available online” in the menu under “Availability”
    • Fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form for the items you need.
    • The items will be sent to you from the CSUSM library.

Need help? Contact distance education library services or chat with a librarian.

Find a scholarly article

If your professor is requiring “scholarly”, “academic”, “peer-reviewed”, “scientific”, or “research” articles, you will need to use an article database.

  • Select an article database by subject or search alphabetically if your professor has recommended a particular database.
  • Each database is a little bit different, but there will generally be an option that allows you to narrow down your search so you are retrieving mostly scholarly/academic articles.
  • Search our Research or Course guides for help specific to your subject/course.

If the article you need is only available in the library, contact distance education library services to request the item to be scanned and sent to you.

Not sure if the article you found is scholarly? Watch the What is a Scholarly Article? Video from the Kimbel Library.

Still not sure? Ask a CSUSM Librarian!

Alumni

Getting Started - Alumni

The CSUSM University Library is open to the public, including all alumni.

All visitors are welcome to:

  • Use books and materials in open collections within the Library
  • Use designated guest computers
  • Access campus Wi-Fi from personal devices
  • Access most electronic resources within the Library
  • Access federal and state publications within the Library
  • Obtain assistance from the Research Help Desk

 

Public Use of Computers

Visitors may use designated guest workstations in the Research Help Desk area on the 3rd Floor. These workstations do not require users to log in, are intended for quick use, and provide basic internet access to the library’s electronic resources. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, software applications (including Microsoft Office) are not available to visitors. It is recommended that users bring a USB flash drive in order to save documents.

Alumni are also welcome to bring their own laptops and connect to the CSUSM CSUSM guest wireless network.

 

How to Print in the Library

Alumni may print from designated computers or personal devices within the library. The cost of printing is $0.12/page (black and white), $0.25/page (color).

Library users may seek assistance from the Research Help Desk on the 3rd floor or the Student Technology Help Desk on the 2nd floor. General questions regarding printing should be directed to the Student Technology Help Desk at (760)750-6505.


Electronic Resources

Most of our subscription/licensed electronic databases can be accessed from within the library building using designated guest computers or your own personal device. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not available for these subscription services. However, your local public library may provide access to a number of electronic databases.

Community

Getting Started - Community

The CSUSM University Library is open to the public.

All visitors are welcome to:

  • Use books and materials in open collections within the Library
  • Use designated guest computers
  • Access campus Wi-Fi from personal devices
  • Access most electronic resources within the Library
  • Access federal and state publications within the Library
  • Obtain assistance from the Research Help Desk


Public Use of Computers

Visitors may use designated guest workstations in the Research Help Desk area on the 3rd Floor. These workstations do not require users to log in, are intended for quick use, and provide basic internet access to the library’s electronic resources. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, software applications (including Microsoft Office) are not available to visitors. It is recommended that users bring a USB flash drive in order to save documents.


Community members are also welcome to bring their own laptops and connect to the CSUSM guest wireless network.


How to Print in the Library

Community members may print from designated computers or personal devices within the library. The cost of printing is $0.12/page (black and white), $0.25/page (color).


Library users may seek assistance from the Research Help Desk on the 3rd floor or the Student Technology Help Desk on the 2nd floor. General questions regarding printing should be directed to the Student Technology Help Desk at (760)750-6505.


Electronic Resources

Most of our subscription/licensed electronic databases can be accessed from within the library building using designated guest computers or your own personal device. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not available for these subscription services. However, your local public library may provide access to a number of electronic databases.

 

 


Feedback
Contact Info