Ebooks in the Library (including monologues and playscripts)
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords or subject and search (for monologues, use monolog* and playscripts, use playscrip*)
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Open Textbook Collections
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Tip: try searching YouTube by name of your favorite theatre company to see if they have a YouTube channel.
Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our Theatre databases
for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course.
This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).
Open Access Journals
- MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more. Check the Topic: Fine Arts>Subtopic: Performance Arts to find the specialty categories of Theatre and Theatrical Design
- OER Commons
Searchable by discipline and academic level, this site provides a broad range of instructional materials, including texts, images, videos, primary sources and more.
- Merlot – Theatre
Merlot (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a compilation of freely available resources for use in higher education, hosted by the California State Universities.
Other Open Educational Resources
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
Providing links to digitized collections and exhibits as well as bibliographies. Both searchable and browseable to explore the rich variety of resources.
- Educational Theatre Association
Focused on the theatre instructor in K-12, many links are useful links for anyone interested in theatre.
- Voice Recipe Online
A Voice Recipe is a method for analyzing voice using nine categories: temp, rhythm, articulation, pronunciation, pitch, volume, quality, word choice, and non-verbals.
- Journey of the Voice: Anatomy, Physiology and Care of the Voice
This study of the production of articulate sound can be thought of as a journey through a series of processes.
- Classrooms Full of Stars: Theater Games in the Social Sciences
Step-by-step instructions for teaching basic theater game techniques.
- American Theatre Wing
This site offers collections of videos on Working in the Theatre and Career Guides.
- The American Variety Stage
The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. Included are English and Yiddish playscripts.
- Global Performing Arts Database (GLOPAD)
–Film & Television
Other CSUSM Library Resources
More information about finding and using library resources can be found on the Theatre submenu of the Visual and Performing Arts Research Guide.