You are here

CALM Psychology

Open textbooks

CALM Psychology Open Textbooks

  • Open Education Resources-Psychology
    A wide ranging collection of resources. Particularly helpful are the detailed descriptions of resources.
  • Flat World Knowledge
    Flat World has several psychology books: Human Relations, Research Methods in Psychology, Principles of Social Psychology, Introduction to Psychology and Sexuality & Our Diversity: Integrating Culture with the Biopsychosocial.
  • Noba
    Noba is an online platform that provides open, ready-made psychology textbooks and the opportunity to build a textbook from freely available chapters. Users must create an account to use Noba.
  • BC Campus OpenEd
    A collection of open textbooks from British Columbia, this site provides access to a variety of Psychology titles.
  • Open textbooks in Developmental Psychology

Multimedia

CALM Psychology Multimedia

Ebooks in the Library

CALM Psychology Ebooks in the Library

The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:

Go to the University Library homepage Choose “Books and More”

  • Enter keywords and search
  • Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
  • Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media

Psychology Ebooks – CSUSM Library 

 

    Journal Articles

    CALM Psychology Journal Articles

    Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our psychology databases for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course. This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).

    This page provides examples illustrating how to find permalinks in the Library’s databases.

    Please contact your librarian if you are still unsure of how to find the permalink.

     

      Open Courseware

      CALM Psychology Open Courseware

      • The Open Learning Initiative (OLI)
        You can access course materials at no cost to the student or to you the instructor. Students work at their own pace, and can review modules before exams. OLI’s learning platform gives the instructor targeted feedback as the class progresses, which helps provide a red flag when students need more practice or if they are mastering a topic. Instructors can help design and review course materials with the open learning initiative. Instructors can take a tour before signing up to use the platform.
      • MIT Open Courseware
        MIT Open Courseware has 29 Undergraduate courses in Psychology and 18 graduate courses. Course formats vary, but some include, lecture videos, activities, assignments, discussions, and online resources for further study.
      • Saylor Foundation
        This resource provides course learning outcomes,readings, lectures, and web media to 7 completed core programs in psychology and 10 elective courses in psychology. Some of the courses listed include: Life Span Development. Abnormal Behavior, and Theories of Personality.You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you want to apply to your course.
      • The Open University
        The Open University (OU) Learning Space has, 10 units in Psychology to explore. The units have user ratings, time it takes to complete the unit, and level of use indicated on the page. In order to use the complete courses and users need to sign in to keep track of courses. This site offers learning tools, such as knowledge maps and journals and students can print materials to view them.

       

        Other CSUSM Library Resources

        Suggestions


        v style="display:none;">
        Feedback