Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
- Filter by language
Open Textbook Collections
- Ebooks Directory
Searchable by keyword or topic.
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world, including many of the great philosophy texts.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers thousands of free ebooks. Books can be searched by title or by category.
- Open Library searches a variety of sources for print and online books. Many ebooks are freely available for online reading or download.
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Tip: try searching YouTube by the title of your favorite journal publication to see if that journal also produces a YouTube channel.
- TED Talks – Language / TED en Español / World Cultures
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on Language and related topics. Try searching the TED site for videos in various languages.
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Select “Books & More” tab and use these limits: Full Text Available Online and Audio Visual.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leaveÂ at leastÂ 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our Modern Languages database collection
for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course.
This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).
- MIT Open Courseware
Offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more. Check the Topic: Humanities>Subtopic: Language to find either languages or “Teaching of English as a Second Language”.
- MERLOT World Languages
An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.
- OER Commons
Searchable by discipline and academic level, this site provides a broad range of instructional materials, including texts, images, videos, primary sources and more.
- BBC Languages
Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.
- Lingu@net Worldwide
Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
- Mis Cositas
Resources for Spanish, French, Chinese, and Italian. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
- Language Lessons, via Open Culture list of free online courses
- The University of Texas at Austin Linguistics Research Center provides a number of free resources related to Indo-European languages, a category that includes Latin and Greek as well as Spanish and English.
Other Open Educational Resources
Other CSUSM Library Resources