Global Studies Research Guide

You are here

Getting Started

Global Studies - Getting started


Getting Started

These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

Encyclopedia of international relations and global politics
REFERENCE JZ1160 .E53 2005

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations
REFERENCE G63 .W67

The Oxford companion to politics of the world
REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001

Routledge international encyclopedia of women: Global women's issues and knowledge
REFERENCE HQ1115 .R69 2000

The Blackwell dictionary of political science

Journal Articles

Global Studies - Journal articles


Journal Articles

To look for articles in journals, you will need to start with a research database. The following databases provide abstracts of articles from thousands of journals and other sources, often providing full-text.

Most Useful

Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Coverage: 1975→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

PAIS
An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.
Coverage: 1972→current

Also Useful

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
Coverage: 1975→current

LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information including bill tracking, hearing testimony, Congressional Record, and Federal Register.
Coverage: 1980→current

GPO: U.S. Government Printing Office
Abstracts from all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records.
Coverage: 1976→current

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Coverage: 1991→current

Public Policy Institute of California
This collection of California state policy, research and statistical reports covers subjects such as economic development, education, employment, environment, government/politics, health, housing, infrastructure (transportation, water, etc.), immigration.
Coverage: 1996→current

Web Sites

Global studies - web sites


Select Global Studies Internet  Resources

  • FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends This database covers areas in the field of international relations and security, such as hard facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data.
  • International Relations and Security Network The ISN is a free public service that provides a wide range of high-quality and comprehensive products and resources to encourage the exchange of information among international relations and security professionals worldwide.

Citing Your Sources

Global studies - citing your sources


Chicago manual of style

image of Chicago Manual of Style book cover
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Library Copies (Z253 .U69)

Notable changes in the 16th edition

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online: Chicago Style

 

______________________________________________________


MLA Style Guide

As an emerging scholar in your field, graduate students are required to follow the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholary Publishing, which is a different work than the Handbook you used as an undergraduate (see MLA's explanation of the difference).This work, in its 3rd edition, focuses more on formatting manuscripts for publication in both refereed and non-referred journals and books.

The information on citing resources is more current in the MLA Handbook, 7th edition (released mid-2009), but the formatting rules in the Style Manual are the current rules for graduate-level work.

 

 

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 2008. Third Edition

Modern Language Association.

 

CSUSM Research Help Collection  PN 147 .G44 2008

 

See also: Documenting Sources: A Hacker Handbooks Supplement: Guidelines based on the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, Third Edition.


AAA: American Anthropological Association

Every time you use someone else's ideas (even if you explain the idea in your own words) give credit in your bibliography *and* in the text of your paper.

The American Anthropological Association has its own citation style and paper format, described in The AAA Style Guide [pdf]

    To format citations in the text of your paper:

    Both direct and indirect quotes should include page numbers. 

    • As Brown (2001:14) shows blah blah blah.
    • Blah blah blah (Brown 2001:14-15).
    • According to Smith (1998:14), "direct quote."
    • "Direct quote" (Smith 1998:14).
    • For two authors, use both names: (Brown and Smith 2007:53).
    • For three or more authors, you can use "et al." when citing in-text: Brown et al. (2009:18) investigate blah blah. List all authors in your bibliography.
     
      To cite an interview:
    • Interviewee's last name, First name.  Interview by interviewer's first and last name. Location, date month year. 
    • Velez, Emma. Interview by Melanie Chu. San Marcos, CA, January 11, 2010.
    • For in-text citations, when paraphrasing or directly quoting the interview, use the same format as above without page numbers: Velez (2010) explains... or Blah blah (Velez 2010).

    To format your bibliography:

    • The AAA Style Guide [pdf] includes sample entries for an AAA References Cited list (scroll to p. 7).

    Here is a citation of a journal article in an AAA References Cited list, with all parts of the citation labeled:

    A labeled diagram of an AAA citation

     

    Additional resources on plagiarism and academic honesty.


      CSE: Council of Science Editors

      Quick Summary
      Library Copies (T11 .S386 2006)

       

       


      University of Chicago Law Review Style Sheet

      Download the Style Sheet as a PDF file


      APA: American Psychological Association

      Image of APA citation manual book cover

      APA Style Help
      Including APA style guide to electronic references

      Finding the DOI

      Library Copies (BF76.7 .P83 2001)

      GBST 100

      Global studies - GBST 100

      GBST 100

      Organize with your group

      Each team has a topic (e.g. human rights, terrorism, poverty, economic, environmental, etc).

      Each student needs to pick a current event related to their team topic occuring in one of the world regions (Europe, Central America, South America, Africa, Middle East, East Asia, South Asia, Oceania).

      As you search, gather the following on your current event and region:

      • What is the current event?
      • Where is it happening?
      • Who is involved?
      • A brief background and explanation
      • Why is it important?
      • How does it relate to the topic?
         

      Start with reliable news sites

      NOTE: Your presentation must be based on a current event from the last 6 months (e.g. not older than March 2014), but you can supplement that with older articles for background info.

      BBC
      CNN
      The Economist
      Far Eastern Economic Review
      Guardian
      New York Times

      Proquest Newsstand: database with more news.
      LexisNexis Academic: database with lots of international newspaper content.
       

      Add background and data 

      CIA World Factbook
      Human Rights Watch
      UN Framework Convention on Climate Change
      US Department of State Country Fact Sheets
      World Health Organization

      CQ Researcher: database with summaries on current topics in the nation and the world.
      Business Monitor Online: database with country reports and SWOT analyses.


      Feedback
      Contact Info