Women's Studies Research Guide

You are here

Getting started

Women's studies - Getting started

Research Process

Research is a process that cannot (should not) be completed in one sitting. If you follow the steps outlined below, you should experience less frustration, anxiety and general dread, and be much happier with the end product. Librarians can help you at any step in the process, but specifically in topic development, background research, and the collection of evidence.

Once you get the assignment, you will choose your topic, and start brainstorming. Next, you will conduct some exploration or background research and take detailed notes about what you find. Using these notes, you will then focus your topic, and your brainstorming will then be about how you will start searching for your topic. Then, you will collect the information you need to support your topic. This is where you may go back to further refining your topic and collecting more background information.  Once you feel that you have enough information to start writing, then you will work on drafting your assignment. Again, you may need to collect more information if you feel that there are gaps in your paper. Once you have completed your writing, you will write your citations and bibliography. Then you will finish by evaluating the processOnce you get the assignment, you will choose your topic, and start brainstorming. Next, you will conduct some exploration or background research and take detailed notes about what you find. Using these notes, you will then focus your topic, and your brainstorming will then be about how you will start searching for your topic. Then, you will collect the information you need to support your topic. This is where you may go back to further refining your topic and collecting more background information.  Once you feel that you have enough information to start writing, then you will work on drafting your assignment. Again, you may need to collect more information if you feel that there are gaps in your paper. Once you have completed your writing, you will write your citations and bibliography. Then you will finish by evaluating the process.

One thing that I can’t stress enough, is that this process is cyclical. If you follow this process, then you may have to revise your topic, and search for new sources a few times. Don’t be discouraged if it feels like you are going in circles with your research. You can always come meet with a librarian for help with your research.

Books

Women's studies - books


Books

Books will give you background information and an overview on what you are researching. You need this information in order to provide context.

Books at Cal State San Marcos

Library Catalog  
Search our local collection of about 250,000 books.

Other Options

Circuit (1-3 day delivery)
Search the collections of other San Diego area libraries -- about 3,000,000 books. Find and request books directly online; pick them up at our Library in 1-3 days.

WorldCat (5-10 day delivery)
Search the collections of libraries world-wide -- about 52,000,000 books. Find a book in this database, and fill-out an Interlibrary Loan delivery request. Book will be delivered to Library for pickup.


Reference Books

These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

Bibliographies

An annotated critical bibliography of feminist criticism
REF Z7963.F44 H85 1987

Introduction to library research in women's studies
REF HQ1206 .S42 1985

Feminist research methods : an annotated bibliography
REF Z7963.F44 M54 1991

Women's studies : a guide to information sources
REF Z7961 .C37 1990

Dictionaries/encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of feminism
REF HQ1115 .T87 1986

A feminist dictionary
REF HQ1115 .K73 1985

Womanwords : a dictionary of words about women
REF HQ1115 .M546 1992

Women's studies encyclopedia
REF HQ1115 .W645 1989

Statistics

Statistical handbook on women in America
REF HQ1420 .T34 1991

Statistical record of women worldwide
REF HQ1150 .S73 1991

Women, a world survey
REF HQ1154 .S547 1995

The World's women, 1995 : trends and statistics
REF HQ1154 .W675 1995

Journal Articles

Women's studies - Journal articles


Women's Studies - Journal Articles

To look for articles in journals, you will need to start with a research database. The following databases provide abstracts of articles from thousands of journals and other sources, often providing full-text.

Most Useful

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Coverage: 1963→current

Women's Studies International
Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.
Coverage: 1972→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

Also Useful

ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
Coverage: 1995→current

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1993→current

America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.
Coverage: 1964→current

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1973→current

MLA
Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.
Coverage: 1963→current

PsycINFO
Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
Coverage: 1887→current

Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage: 1980→current

Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Coverage: current

Web Sites & Special Topics

Women's studies - web sites & special topics

Special Topics

Each year, during Women's History Month, a special theme is chosen. The following pages list resources for each theme.

 Web Sites

There are a number of useful Women's Studies Web sites. Make sure you evaluate each site for accuracy and authority.

Several sites include only those web resources that are tailored to college and university audiences. One such site is Academic Info. Another is the site at the University of California Riverside called InfoMine where you can search for more information under the topics of women,  gender studies, or the more specific topic you are focusing on.

Women Issues (University of Amsterdam)
Provides links to sites related to women's studies.  It is a comprehensive site maintained by the sociology department of the university.

Internet Resources for Women's History and Women's Studies
From University of Massachusetts Amherst provides to links to several research universities' special and archival collections for women studies.  They provide primary sources for research in women's history studies.

Women's resources online
List women's studies resources by category.

Women3rdworld!
Includes female circumcision, marriage customs, daily life of women worldwide, trafficking of women and much more. Another great site is the Q Web  is the women's global communication network for exchange of knowledge, experience and ideas on women's health and gender issues.It is searchable.

Celebration of Women Writers
A site from Carnegie Mellon University  recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history.

Artemis Guide to Women's Studies Programs throughout the United States
Provides  links  to most women's studies programs in the U.S. Keep in mind only those programs with web sites will be listed.

Women's Organizations

Feminist Bookstores, Publishers, Reviews, and First Chapters of Women's Studies Books (University of Wisconsin)

Need Help?

Torie Quiñonez

Arts and Humanities Librarian
tquinonez@csusm.edu
760-750-4353
Office Location: 
KEL 3426
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback
Contact Info