You are here

SOC 403: Children's International Rights (Victory)

SOC 403: Final Research Paper

SOC 403: Final Research Paper

For Professor Victory's class, you will write a 10-15 page paper delving into specific issues and regions relevant to children's rights. This paper will provide clarity on policies affecting children and you must "take a stand" and persuasively apply research and reason to make your case. The choices of topics and regions are up to you. This paper must include 5-7 peer-reviewed, academic articles related to your topic. You may also include 5 additional credible sources, including book chapters, news, websites, reports, etc.

Please consult Professor Victory's complete prompt in Cougar Courses for information on due dates, format, etc.

SOC 403: How do I access empirical articles?

SOC 480: How to identify a scholarly article

Distinguishing scholarly articles from non-scholarly sources (CSU Chico, Meriam Library)

To find empirical articles in Sociological Abstracts:

  • Use the "Advanced Search" mode to enter your keywords and include terms from the Sociological Abstracts thesaurus such as:
    • Case Studies
    • Empirical Methods
    • Ethnography
    • Experiments
    • Fieldwork
    • Grounded Theory
    • Interviews
    • Observation
    • Qualitative Methods
    • Quantitative Methods
    • Research
    • Surveys
    • Click "Search"

    • On the left side of the results screen, under "Source Type," you may limit to "Scholarly Journals."

    To find find empirical articles in PsycINFO:

    • Type your keywords into the search boxes
    • Scroll down the page to "Methodology," (in the right column) and select "Empirical Study"
    • Click on the "Search" button
    • On the "Results" page, you can filter by Publication Date and other limiters.

    TUTORIAL: How do I find an empirical article in PsycINFO?

    To find empirical articles in ERIC:

    • Use the "Advanced Search" mode to enter your keywords
    • Scroll down the page to "Document Type," and choose "143 Reports: Research"
    • Select other limits, such as publication date, if needed
    • Click "Search"
    • On the left side of the results screen, under "Source Type," you may limit to "Scholarly Journals."

    If you're still not generating results, add terms from the ERIC thesaurus to your keyword search. These include:

    • Action Research
    • Case Studies
    • Ethnography
    • Evaluation Methods
    • Evaluation Research
    • Experiments
    • Focus Groups
    • Field Studies
    • Interviews
    • Mail Surveys
    • Mixed Methods Research
    • Naturalistic Observation
    • Online Surveys
    • Participant Observation
    • Participatory Research
    • Qualitative Research
    • Questionnaires
    • Research
    • Statistical Analysis
    • Statistical Studies
    • Telephone Surveys

     

     

    SOC 403: Using JSTOR and Google Scholar CSUSM

    SOC 480: JSTOR and Google

    Research articles in JSTOR:

    JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database providing access to a wide breadth of scholarship including books, journals, and primary sources. For those of you searching for critical theories related to your angle of advocacy, I recommend giving this database a try. Its search functions are slightly different from the other databases we've covered, so here are some strategies to try:

    • Select Advanced Search (under the Basic Search box)

    • Further refine by searching against your initial set of results.

    • You may limit to journal articles by checking the "Journals" box; the vast majority of resources in JSTOR are peer-reviewed, including books. However, if you are unsure, check the source of your article (Journal name) and the publisher by doing a simple Google search. If you're still unsure, reach out to a librarian or your professor.

    Research articles in Google Scholar CSUSM:

    • Please remember to use the Library's access point to Google Scholar CSUSM (linked in the heading of this section) to get to full-text articles and other research

    Library Databases for Sociology

    Sociology Databases

    Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
    Sociological Abstracts

    Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

    Report Problems
    Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
    Social Services Abstracts

    Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

    Report Problems
    Links to full-text via Get-It 1980 to current All
    JSTOR

    Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

    Report Problems
    Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
    ERIC

    A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.

    Report Problems
    ALERT! Within ERIC search results: IF the "Link to ERIC full text" does not work, try the "Get It!" link.
    Links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current Some
    Social Work Abstracts

    This database provides access to social work and human services journals from 1965 to the present. Topics include addictions, therapy, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, mental health, education, and human services.

    Report Problems
    Links to full-text via Get-It 1965 to current Most
    Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
    WestlawNext Campus Research

    This is a comprehensive database for news, business, and law-related information has been designed for students. It brings together news databases arranged geographically and topically; newswires as well as business, trade, and professional journals and publications; and law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

    Report Problems
    Full-text 1789 to current Some
    Oxford University Press Journals

    Provides access to the full text of approximately 168 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, humanities, social sciences, mathematics, and law.

    Report Problems
    Full-text 1996 to current All
    Sage Journals Online

    Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

    Report Problems
    Full-text current to current All
    Women's Studies International

    Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

    Report Problems
    Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current Most
    Project Muse

    Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics

    Report Problems
    Full-text 1993 to current All
    Academic Search Premier

    This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

    Report Problems
    Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
    Google Scholar CSUSM

    Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

    Report Problems
    Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All
    Dissertations and Theses Database: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection

    Dissertations and Theses Database includes digitized dissertations in a variety of subject areas including Art, Communications, Education, History, Linguistics, Literature, and Social Sciences.

    Report Problems
    Some full-text 1979 to current All

    Internet Resources for SOC 403

    SOC 403: Internet Resources

    Internet Resources for Sociology 403 research:

    Amnesty International International human rights NGO with systems of tracking human trafficking and slavery, as well as assistance programs

    Centre for the Study of Globalisation and Regionalisation (CSGR) European-based organization dedicated to researching global and regional political economies

    Child Trafficking: News stories on child trafficking from the New York Times

    Child Labor: News stories on human trafficking from the New York Times

    Human Rights Watch International organization dedicated to defending and protecting human rights

    United Nations Human Rights (Office of the High Commissioner) Works to promote and protect the human rights that are guaranteed under international law and stipulated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948

    United Nations Action for Cooperation Against Trafficking in Persons Works to strategically and effectively combat trafficking in persons in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS) and beyond

    UNICEF: This resource focuses on socioeconomic issues, particularly education and health, affecting children worldwide

    World Health Organization: Health-based international organization serving all nations within the UN. This resource has information about global health initiatives as well as issues affecting individual countries

    International Data

    City Population

    Country Statistical Yearbooks: An Alphabetical Index

    Statistical Sites of the World Wide Web

    United States Data

    American FactFinder

    Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

    San Diego Data

    SANDAG - Demographics and other data

    SOC 403: How do I structure my keyword search in the databases?

    SOC 403: How do I structure a keyword search in the databases?

    Before you embark on your database search, take a few moments to identify keywords, which will be a timesaver for you. Some things to try:

    • Write down any research questions you have about your topic; these should be open-ended (starting with How...? or Why...?)
    • Identify the key concepts from your research question (look at the nouns)
    • Write down synonyms for those key concepts
    • Continue to write down any 

    Taking a few minutes to think about and identify some keywords before starting your search will help you search more efficiently, which will save you time (and probably a little frustration).

    • Identify important concepts from your research question (look for nouns)
    • Brainstorm some synonyms (to help you find more information)
    • Keep track of useful terms you discover during research and add those to your set of keywords

    Ex. research question: How do NGOs work collaboratively in order to develop information sharing resources  and effectively combat child trafficking in the Asia-Pacific region?

    (Identify the keywords in this research question)

    How do NGOs work collaboratively in order to develop information sharing resources  and effectively combat child trafficking in the Asia-Pacific region?

    NGOs Information Sharing Resources

    trafficking

     child Asia-Pacific
    non-governmental organizations information channels

    slavery

    youth South Asia / Southeast Asia
    nonprofit listservs

    sex trade

    adolescent India
    international organization newsletters bondage teenager  Thailand

    Tips on searching the databases

    Here are some general tips on searching for articles for your report:

    Tip Examples
    Use keywords, not long search phrases

    Instead of searching for "How do NGOs work collaboratively in order to develop information sharing resources  and effectively combat child trafficking in the Asia-Pacific region?"break down your search into the main keywords:

    NGOs, information sharing, child trafficking, Asia-Pacific

    Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together

    Use AND to combine different keywords

    "child trafficking" AND "Asia-Pacific)
    Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords "child trafficking" or "child slavery"
    Look for ways to limit your search in the database You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publicationsubject 

    Citing Your Sources

    APA (General)

    What is APA style?

    APA stands for the American Psychological Association. It is the citation style used in most of the social sciences as well as some of the natural sciences.

    Official APA Style Manual at CSUSM Library

    This is the official APA manual published by the American Psychological Association. It is the most recent and up-to-date edition available, currently the 6th edition.

    • Library copies (BF76.7 P83 2010) 
      The CSUSM Library owns several copies of the official APA manual that you can consult in person. Click on the link above to see where they are located.
    • The official APA website 
      Need access to the official APA guidelines right now but can't get to a copy of the book? Try out their website. It has helpful FAQs and basic guidelines.


    Helpful Online Guides

    What is a DOI? 

    APA style requires that you include a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) whenever you cite the online version of an article.  A DOI is a special number that identifies each unique article in a database.  Please note- some articles may not have a DOI.  

    To find the DOI, Ask a Librarian or check out the follwing tools:

    Using APA for Special Cases 

    More FAQs at the official APA website...

    Sample Paper in APA Style

    ASA (General)

    What is ASA style?

    ASA stands for the American Sociological Association. It is the citation style used by many sociologists, and it is the style used in all ASA journals.

     

    Official ASA Style Guide

     

    This is the official ASA manual published by the American Sociological Society. The CSUSM Library currently offers copies of the 5th edition.

     

    Helpful Online Guides



    Sample Papers in ASA Style

    There are currently no sample papers available in ASA style. The following links offer guidance on how to format an ASA-style paper.

    Need Help?

    Lalitha Nataraj

    Social Sciences Librarian
    Lalitha Nataraj
    lnataraj@csusm.edu
    760-750-4070
    Office Location: 
    KEL3427
    Office Hours: 
    By appointment

    Feedback