| CINAHL Complete
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
|Links to full-text via Get-It||1937 to current||Most|
| Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
|Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It||current to current||All|
| PubMed @ CSUSM
The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
|Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It||1966 to current||All|
| Social Work Abstracts
This database provides access to social work and human services journals from 1965 to the present. Topics include addictions, therapy, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, mental health, education, and human services.
|Links to full-text via Get-It||1965 to current||Most|
Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
|Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It||1887 to current||All|
| Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
|Links to full-text via Get-It||1980 to current||All|
| Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Tips for the search!
1) Generating keywords
- think of more than one way to discuss your topic and use a variety of terms/synonyms to search
- ("academic achievement" OR "academic performance") AND (coping OR resilience)
- look up your topic online to find more keywords (wikipedia is a great resource for this!)
2) Boolean Operators
- AND - returns literature that includes both terms
- OR - returns literature that includes either terms
- NOT - excludes literature with the term
- putting an asterisk at the root of a term will return variations of word
- tour* = tour, tours, tourist, tourism, toured
- use parentheses around synonyms for the same concept
- (coping OR resilience) AND stress AND (program* OR treatment)
5) Controlled Vocab
- The "subjects" attached to each result represent the controlled vocab for that database
- USE THESE TERMS!
6) Still not getting good results?
Find research articles by either searching the databases or by browsing within the palliative care-related publications below.
Journal of Social Work in End-of-life & Palliative Care (previously titled: Loss, Grief, & Care)
Research Help Videos
Searching the PubMed Database
The 3 videos below provide a brief introduction to using the database, PubMed. Always remember to enter the PubMed database through links on the CSUSM Library Website to ensure you will be connected to the full text articles available.
Want to learn more about PubMed? Review this tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
If you have questions, contact your librarian!
Accessing Pubmed and Getting Full-text Articles
Searching PubMed: MeSH Subject Headings and Filtering Results
Searching PubMed: Finding Literature Reviews and Requesting Articles through Interlibrary Loan
The 3 videos below provide a brief introduction to using the nursing and allied health database, CINAHL. Always remember to enter CINAHL through links on the CSUSM Library website to ensure you will be connected to the full text articles available.
If you have questions, contact your librarian!
Finding articles in CINAHL: The basics of searching and accessing articles.
Searching by CINAHL Subject Headings: Focused searching using Subject Headings.
Database Comparison: Highlights the differences between CINAHL, Google Scholar, and PubMed. Covers when to use each database and why.
Palliative Care Books in the Library
Select ebook titles:
- Palliative Care and Ethics
- Palliative Care (open access title)
- Pediatric Palliative Care (open access title)
- Nursing care at the end of life: What every clinician should know
- Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing
- Palliative care nursing: quality care to the end of life
- End of life: nursing solutions for death with dignity
- Living with dying: a handbook for end-of-life healthcare practitioners
- Geriatric palliative care: a practical guide for clinicians
- Transforming palliative care in nursing homes: the social work role
- Spirituality and Hospice Social Work
- Counseling clients near the end of life: a practical guide for mental health professionals
- Care at the End of Life: An Economic Perspective
- End of life: helping with comfort and care (NIH report)
- Religious understandings of a good death in hospice palliative care
Select physical book titles:
- LGBTQ-inclusive hospice and palliative care: a practical guide to transforming professional practice
- Modern death: how medicine changed the end of life
- The conversation: a revolutionary plan for end-of-life care
- Knocking on heaven's door: the path to a better way of death
Palliative Care Related Videos in the Library
Books often provide a broader treatment of a topic or issue. A book on the issue you are studying can provide background and a base of knowledge. A research project always needs some sort of background or context before discussing the focused issue.
In order to place a request:
- Start your search in OneSearch.
- When you locate an item you want to request, click the "Get it through CSU+" link, which will prompt you to sign in with your CSUSM credentials in order to place the request.
- If the CSU+ link is not visible, that means that a CSU library doesn't hold the item, but you can still request it through ILL by clicking the "Get it through Interlibrary Loan" link.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables CSUSM Library to borrow materials from libraries all over the world. ILL can take slightly longer than CSU+ for materials to be received (up to 7-12 days).
I need to find specific materials that I can't always find in OneSearch - no CSU has them. How will I find them and request them?
If you cannot locate materials you need in OneSearch, try WorldCat. WorldCat is a database of library books and materials held at thousands of libraries worldwide. When you find a book you are interested in through WorldCat, use the "GetIt! @ San Marcos" link to check if the item is available at CSUSM, or the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" to send the item information to CSUSM's ILL system to place the request.
Important note: Off-campus, you must use the link to WorldCat from the Library's Research Databases by Title list and login as a CSUSM user when prompted in order to seamlessly place requests from WorldCat through CSUSM ILL. This is because when you are on campus, WorldCat knows you are a CSUSM user; but off-campus, you will need to login in order to be identified as a CSUSM user and see CSUSM's custom ILL links in WorldCat.
You can also directly fill out a request form for any items you need using the Library's ILL request form.
Finding Books in the Library
- Search the catalog to find a book.
- Make sure the item you want is available.
- Write down the call number (e.g. HQ 342.29 2007).
- Find the location of the book.
- Proceed to the location of the book (e.g. REF, 4th Floor Stacks). Look for the call number labels at the end of each row of bookcases, near the top.
You can use the item in the library OR check it out at the 3rd floor Check Out Desk with your student ID.
Searching for books by Subject Headings
- Subject headings are words and phrases specifically created to tell you what a book is about.
- They are the controlled vocabulary of the catalog.
One way to search by subject headings is to begin with a keyword search in the library catalog.
- Locate a relevant item and click details to view the record.
- Click one of the links under "Subjects" to view a list of other items that have been assigned the same subject heading.
What's the difference between searching by keyword and searching by subject headings?
- Searching by keyword will return all results that include your search terms anywhere in the item record.
- It is a more broad, less focused search.
- Searching by subject will only return those results that have been tagged with that specific word or phrase as a subject heading.
- It will result in a more focused search.
- FastStats - Hospice Care (CDC)
- National Home and Hospice Care Survey (CDC)
- Long Term Care Services in the United States - 2013 (CDC report)
- Palliative Care in California - 2018 (California Health Care Foundation Report)
- American Factfinder
- Census Bureau
- Statistical abstract of the United States. A compilation of social, economic and political statistics about the U.S. Available Online, or in print at the library (Reference call number: HA202 .S73, or Goverment documents call number: C 3.134)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- San Diego QuickFacts Census Bureau
- San Diego Public Records
- SANDAG: San Diego Association of Governments Demographics and Other Data
- California Quick Facts: U.S. Census
- County Health Rankings and Roadmaps (A Service from the Robert Woods Johnson Foundation)
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- National Center for Health (CDC)
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- World Health Organization (WHO) Statistical Information System
- World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Atlas
- The Office of Minority Health
- California Department of Public Health
- California Department of Health Services
- Healthy City (California-specific)
- San Diego Community Health
- San Diego-Health and Human Services Agency
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
- NIMH Statistics
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- World Health Organization Mental Health Atlas
- Child Welfare Information Gateway Includes useful statistics and other child welfare resources.
- Childstats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
- Administration for Children and Families
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
- Kidsdata (California-specific)
- National Juvenile Court Data
- National Center for Education Statistics
- National Education Association
- School District Demographic System
- Schools and Staffing Survey
- State Education Data Profiles
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics-Education Data
- Aging Integrated Database
- Administration on Aging
- Administration for Community Living
- AARP Research Center
- FBI Crime Statistics
- United States: Uniform Crime Report Statistics by state from 1906-2005.
- Crime and delinquency in California Provides access to data about crimes, arrests, dispositions, adult corrections, criminal justice expenditures and personnel for the State. From the Office of the Attorney General, California Department of Justice.
- San Diego Police Department Crime Statistics
- National Juvenile Court Data
- US Census 2010 briefs
- Briefs are broken into population groups (for example, The Older Population, The Hispanic Population, etc.).
- Latin American Network Information Center
Cultures and Health
Organizations related to Palliative Care
Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) - tools, training, technical assistance, and connection for all clinicians caring for people with a serious illness
National Hospice & Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) - ongoing inspiration, practice guidance, and legislative representation to hospice and palliative care providers so they can enrich experiences for patients and ease caregiving responsibilities and emotional stress for families
CaringInfo (NHPCO) - provides free resources to help people make decisions about end-of-life care and services before a crisis
National Palliative Care Research Center - committed to stimulating, developing, and funding research directed at improving care for seriously ill patients and their families
Hospice Foundation of America - improving access, care and knowledge about hospice, grief and loss
Family Caregiver Alliance: National Center on Caregiving - provides services and support to family caregivers of adults with physical and cognitive impairments
Professional Associations related to Palliative Care
Web resources developed to inform and support patients and their families.
Grants & Funding
General Funding Resources
- Pivot - *CSUSM only.* Pivot contains information on available grants, awards, fellowships, from federal/non-federal, corporate/private foundation, and international funding sources.
- Federal Grants - Find and apply for federal grants at grants.gov.
- Book: The Foundation Directory Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor) AS911.A2 F65
- Book: Annual Register of Grant Support Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor) AS911.A2 A67
- Foundation Center Use this resource to find funders. Locate basic information by organization name, contact information and 990 IRS returns. Contains statistics on foundation and grant activity, search for RFP announcements for calls for grant applications.
- The Grantsmanship Center Lists funding sources by state.
- Guidestar Use this website to find foundations and non-profit organizations that are interested in programs like yours. You will have to go separately afterwards to the organizations' websites to see what granting opportunities they offer. To find relevant foundations and organizations, click on "Take Action for Your Favorite Causes" and select the issue your program deals with.
Local Funding Resources
- National Institutes of Health Use this page to search NIH Grants and application information.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Click "Funding Opportunity Announcements" to view calls for applications and program announcements.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health Listing of currently available grants.
- No Kid Hungry: Child Nutrition Program Grant Opportunities This page provides a useful summary of funding opportunities for child health programs.
- National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) - Funding Opportunities. Browse Active Funding Opportunities.
- The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). Listing of currently available grants.
- American Nurses Association (ANA) - Opportunities for Research Funding. Provides links to prominent funders for nursing research.
- American Nurses Foundation (ANF) - Nursing Research Grant. The ANF funds beginner and experienced nurse researchers each year to conduct studies that advance nursing and patient care.