Palliative Care

You are here

Journal Articles

TL-NURS-findarticles

Use the research databases below to find articles in scholarly journals, newspapers, or magazines. 

Tip: Don't filter by full-text only! Use the Get-it Button to find the full-text in other library databases.

 

Palliative Care

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
PubMed @ CSUSM

The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1966 to current All
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides abstracts for articles from 1,700 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1982 to current Most
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Report Problems
Full-text current Most
Google Scholar CSUSM

Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Social Services Abstracts

Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1980 to current All
PsycINFO

Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1887 to current All

Search Tips

TL-ALL-searchtips

Tips for the search!

 

1) Generating keywords

  • think of more than one way to discuss your topic and use a variety of terms/synonyms to search
    • ("academic achievement" OR "academic performance") AND (coping OR resilience)
  • look up your topic online to find more keywords (wikipedia is a great resource for this!)

 

2) Boolean Operators

  • AND - returns literature that includes both terms
  • OR - returns literature that includes either terms
  • NOT - excludes literature with the term


 

 

3) Truncation

  • putting an asterisk at the root of a term will return variations of word
  • tour*  =  tour, tours, tourist, tourism, toured

 

4) Parenthesis

  • use parentheses around synonyms for the same concept
  • (coping OR resilience) AND stress AND (program* OR treatment)

 

5) Controlled Vocab

  • The "subjects" attached to each result represent the controlled vocab for that database
  • USE THESE TERMS!

 

6) Still not getting good results?

Pubmed (Research Help Videos)

TL-KINES-Pubmedvideos

The videos below provide a brief introduction to searching PubMed. To learn more, review this tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.

 

Accessing Pubmed and Research Articles

Accessing Pubmed 2015-08-28_11-32-33

 

PubMed: MeSH Subject Headings and Filtering Results

MeSH and Filtering Results 2015-08-28_12-03-08

 

PubMed: Finding Literature Reviews and Requesting Articles through Interlibrary Loan

Lit Reviews and ILL 2015-08-28_12-27-54

CINAHL (Research Help Videos)

TL-NURS-ResearchHelp

Finding articles in CINAHL

The basics of searching in CINAHL and accessing articles. 

CINAHL-Finding articles 2014-09-30_16-19-57

Searching by CINAHL Subject Headings

Focused searching using Subject Headings in CINAHL.

CINAHL subject headings 2014-09-30_18-11-48

Database Comparison

Highlights the differences between CINAHL, Google Scholar, and PubMed. Covers when to use each database and why. 

Nursing database comparison2014-10-03_15-38-58

 

 

Books

TL-ALL-Books

Books often provide a broader treatment of a topic or issue. A book on the issue you are studying can provide background and a base of knowledge. A research project always needs some sort of background or context before discussing the focused issue.

 

Books at Cal State San Marcos

Library Catalog  

Search our local collection of physical and online books.

Other Options

Circuit (1-3 day delivery)

Search the collections of other San Diego area libraries -- about 3,000,000 books. Find and request books directly online; pick them up at our Library in 1-3 days.

WorldCat (5-10 day delivery)

Search the collections of libraries world-wide -- about 52,000,000 books. Find a book in this database, and fill-out an Interlibrary Loan delivery request. Book will be delivered to Library for pickup.

TL-ALL-FindingBooks

Finding Books in the Library

  1. Search the catalog to find a book.
  2. Make sure the item you want is available.
  3. Write down the call number (e.g. HQ 342.29 2007).
  4. Find the location of the book.
  5. Proceed to the location of the book (e.g. REF, 4th Floor Stacks). Look for the call number labels at the end of each row of bookcases, near the top.

You can use the item in the library OR check it out at the 3rd floor Check Out Desk with your student ID.

TL-ALL-searchcatalog

Subject Headings

  • Subject headings are words and phrases specifically created to tell you what a book is about.
  • They are the controlled vocabulary of the catalog.


One way to search by subject headings is to begin with a keyword search in the library catalog.

  • Locate a relevant item and click details to view the record.
  • Click one of the links under "Subjects" to view a list of other items that have been assigned the same subject heading. 

This image shows the details of a book record in the catalog. The subject headings of the book are highlighted. These headings can help to revise a search strategy.

  

Video: Using subject headings to find library materials

2015-05-19_13-38-02

 

 

What's the difference between searching by keyword and searching by subject headings?

 
Keyword Searching
  • Searching by keyword will return all results that include your search terms anywhere in the item record.
  • It is a more broad, less focused search.

This image shows an example of a keyword search. 21 results are found with the following search: (veterans ptsd).

 

 

Subject Searching
  • Searching by subject will only return those results that have been tagged with that specific word or phrase as a subject heading.
  • It will result in a more focused search.

 

This image shows a subject search. The title of the subject heading is (Veterans Mental Health Services United States). Subject searches can return more relevant results.

Statistics

TL-ALL-stats

National
Local
Health
Mental Health
Children/Youth
Education
Gerontology
Crime
Cultures
Cultures and Health

Grants & Funding

TL-ALL-grantsGen

General Funding Resources

  • Pivot - *CSUSM only.* Pivot contains information on available grants, awards, fellowships, from federal/non-federal, corporate/private foundation, and international funding sources.
  • Federal Grants - Find and apply for federal grants at grants.gov.
  • Book: The Foundation Directory  Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor)  AS911.A2 F65
  • Book: Annual Register of Grant Support  Location: Library Reference (3rd Floor)  AS911.A2 A67
  • Foundation Center  Use this resource to find funders. Locate basic information by organization name, contact information and 990 IRS returns. Contains statistics on foundation and grant activity, search for RFP announcements for calls for grant applications. 
  • The Grantsmanship Center  Lists funding sources by state.
  • Guidestar  Use this website to find foundations and non-profit organizations that are interested in programs like yours. You will have to go separately afterwards to the organizations' websites to see what granting opportunities they offer. To find relevant foundations and organizations, click on "Take Action for Your Favorite Causes" and select the issue your program deals with.
  • Guide to Government Grant sources - CSUSM  Find more resources on the Government Documents research guide.

Local Funding Resources

 

TL-ALL-grantsHealth

Health-Related Grants

 

TL-ALL-grantsNURS

Nursing-Related Grants

 

Need Help?


Feedback
Contact Info