Modern Languages Research Guide

You are here

Introduction

Introduction Mod Lang

Modern Languages

The purpose of this guide is to familiarize you with the best resources for research on the languages offered at CSUSM (Arabic, French, German, Japanese and Spanish).

General

Beyond textbooks used in class, there are dictionaries, pronunciation guides, and reference works to help you develop skills in your new language and do research on topics of interest around the world. Here are some examples:

Dictionaries

Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English, English-French
REF PC2640 .O83 1994

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary
REF PF3640 .C68 1995

Oxford Starter Japanese Dictionary
BOOK STACKS PL679 .O946 2000b

American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Ingl�s/Espa�ol
REF PC4640 .A47 2001

Handbook of English-Arabic for Professionals
REF PJ6640 .S47 1983

Pronunciation and Usage

Using French: A Guide to Contemporary Usage
BOOK STACKS PC2460 .B37 2000

Using German Synonyms
BOOK STACKS PF3591 .D87 2000

Dictionary of Japanese Particles
BOOK STACKS PL601 .K39 1999

Writer's Reference Guide to Spanish
REF PC4410 .F68 1999

A Handbook of Pronunciation : English, Italian, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Chinese, Japanese, Esperanto
REF P221 .C276 2005 

Other Resources (just a sample)

Oxford Guide to Film Studies
BOOK STACKS PN1995.9 .O93 1998

Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book
REF PQ6055 .S63 1993

Who's Who in the World
REF CT120 .W5 2004

Arabic Literary Culture, 500-925
REF PJ7521 .A73 2005

Books & Catalog

Books & Catalog Mod Lang

Books

To develop your reading skills, practice helps! CSUSM offers general literature for reading in a variety of languages. Also, the materials held in the Language Learning Center are listed in the library catalog to show the great resources available there.

Books at Cal State San Marcos

Here are several strategies for successful searching in the Library Catalog:

Keyword search

In the simple search screen, type your topic in the KEYWORD search and use the Modify Search function to restrict the search once you have the list of results. The Modify Search button allows you to choose from the language options and brings back texts and movies in both English (translated from the language requested) and materials published in the language.

Genre Search

In the simple search screen, select the Genre Search option to look for the categories of materials we have in the collection in your language (type in the name of the language and examine the choices that appear.) This will search for any language you type in, but don't have every language represented.

Pre-limited Search by Language

There are some collections we have identified in our catalog due to there being active courses in these languages. Using the catalog's Advanced Search, type in one of the following search terms and choose the SUBJECT OR GENRE option.

Other options to locate books and videos:

Circuit (1-3 day delivery)
Search the collections of other San Diego area libraries -- about 3,000,000 books. Find and request books directly online; pick them up at our Library in 1-3 days.

WorldCat (5-10 day delivery)
Search the collections of libraries world-wide -- about 52,000,000 books. Find a book in this database, and fill-out an Interlibrary Loan delivery request. Book will be delivered to Library for pickup.

Browse the Book Stacks
Sometimes, just looking through the shelves can turn up works you would not have considered otherwise. Using the Library of Congress subject system, languages are shelved in the P call number area. The Library of Congress provides a list of the subclasses in the P area so you can see how this is organized.

Useful Subject Terms

Library catalogs use specific subject headings to group related books together. This is different from the genre search discussed above in that genre headings address the specific format and writing style, but subject headings identify the topic of the work.

Finding a Person in the Catalog

What type of search depends on whether you are looking for works BY or works ABOUT the person.

Looking for works by a specific author? Use the AUTHOR search option and type the name in lastname, firstname order. Be sure to spell correctly! A search on Borges, Jorge Luis as author brings back 64 works that he wrote in the CSUSM collection. A similar search through CIRCUIT will return even more.

Looking for works about an author? Borges, Jorge Luis as a SUBJECT search brings back 21 different subject headings, some of which have a number of works attached (23 titles have the subject heading 'criticism and interpretation'.) Notice the lastname, firstname order!

Articles & Journals

Articles & Journals Mod Lang

Articles & Journals

Journal and most newspaper articles are found through research databases. Several databases provide material in your chosen language and others address topics you may be researching for your class. They all include some of the latest news and research in the field. To find articles, you need to select an appropriate database and if you need help, we are here!

Some databases do not offer full text of the articles. Use the Check SFX for Availability button to check our other resources for full text.

This is a listing of some of the databases with languages other than English.

Useful for Research on Languages

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Provides abstracts of articles from about 2,000 journals (published worldwide), coverage of recent books, book review citations and dissertation listings.
Coverage: 1973→current

ERIC
A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.
Coverage: 1966→current

MLA
Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.
Coverage: 1963→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1993→current

Some Materials in Languages Other Than English

ClasePeriodica
Search 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1975→current

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Provides full-text for over 460 general interest and current events magazines.
Coverage: 1985→current

ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
Coverage: 1995→current

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Coverage: 1963→current

Newspapers

Newspapers Mod Lang

Newspapers

Journal and newspaper articles are found in our research databases. Several databases provide material in your chosen language and other databases address topics you may be researching for your class. They all include some of the latest news and research in the field. To find articles, you need to select an appropriate database and if you need help, we are here! This is a listing of some of the databases with languages other than English.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Of special note are the "World News" and "Non-English Language News" portions of this huge collection (look under the NEWS section in the left navigation bar.)

ProQuest Newspapers
Includes coverage of over 300 major U.S. and international newspapers, such as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune.

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

A good means to practice your reading skills. Some are offered in English language versions as well--that can help if you want to check your understanding of what you are reading. 

Arabic

French

German

Japanese

Spanish

Media

Media Mod Lang

Media

Want to watch a film or listen to a CD in your language? We have materials in the library collection to meet your needs. There are different ways to find items, dependent on what you are doing--language practice or researching a specific topic.

From the library home page, type a topic or subject into the search box. When your results are lists, use the REFINE SEARCH button and choose Location=Media.

You can also use the REFINE SEARCH command to limit to a specific language from the list provided or add the name of the language desired to your orginial search terms.

Online Resources

Online Resources Mod Lang

Online Resources

There are a wide variety of online language resources, some are of questionable quality, but others are very good. Be careful and do further research before accepting anything posted as factual. All information is subject to an author's bias that might exclude important information.

General and Government Websites

Most countries have websites, which may be the official government site with links to education, culture, research or other information to help you in your research. Some sites are aimed towards tourism or provide a very biased and restricted view of the country, so may not be useful for research, but still useful for reading practice.

How to tell if you have the country's official site? Look at the domain name. It should NOT be a .org or .com. The country code (with the exception of the United States) identifies the country's official server (examples are .fr is for France, .es is for Spain). A complete list of official national websites is at Northwestern University's Foreign Governments site. The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority site provides the list of domain names for all countries of the world.

Citing Sources

MLA - APA - Chicago


MLA Citations for Students

 

As you write your paper, you'll need to cite passages and ideas from the sources you've found.  In order to cite your resources properly, you need to follow the style guide used by for this class, the MLA Handbook.

Sites with examples of in-text citations and works cited pages (supplement the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)

In the library:

MLA handbook for writers of research papers.
7th ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2009.

 


APA: American Psychological Association

Image of APA citation manual book cover

APA Style Help
Including APA style guide to electronic references

Finding the DOI

Library Copies (BF76.7 .P83 2001)

 

 


Chicago/Turabian Style & Citations

The Chicago Manual of Style is the preference for most history researchers, but always check with your professor before proceeding on both citation style and which version. The Notes-Bibliography system is generally preferred in Chicago-style citations, but there is also an Author-Date system. These systems use different formatting, so be sure which your professor prefers.

IMPORTANT! Late 2010, University of Chicago Press issued a new edition for this style guide. Check your resources to make sure you are being given the latest information based on the 16th edition as not all sites have updated yet. Notable changes are listed here.

Chicago may be referred to as Turabian, after Kate Turabian, who wrote a manual for students for research, writing and citing sources based on the Chicago citation style. The current version is titled A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. The CSUSM library keeps a copy at the Research Help Desk at LB2369 .T8 2007 and a copy on permanent Reserves (Checkout Desk.)

Some helpful web sites:

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (University of Chicago, the publishers of the Manual, this is based on the 16th edition)

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online: Chicago Style (offers both help on manuscript formatting and citation guidelines)

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers (U of Memphis, varies slightly from the guidelines of the 16th edition.)

Arabic

Arabic

Dictionaries

Handbook for English-Arabic for Professionals

5th Floor Stacks: PJ6640 .S47 1983

Milet picture dictionary, English-Arabic

Hansen Curriculum Room: PJ6640 .T87 2003

 

Pronunciation and Usage

A handbook of pronunciation : English, Italian, French, German, SPanish Portuguese, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Chinese, Japanese, Esperanto

5th Floor Stacks: P221 .C276 2005

 

Helpful e-Books

Arabic for Dummies

Arabic Today A Student, Business and Professional Course in Spoken and Written Arabic

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

Arabic language

Arabic Poetry

Koran -- Language, style

Languages in contact -- Arab countries

 

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

Arab News Media Online (link is external)(listing for general and by country, in Arabic and in English)

Al-Quds (link is external)(Palestinian daily newspaper, based in Jerusalem)

 

French

French

Dictionaries

The Cambridge French-English thesaurus

5th Floor Stacks: PC2591 .L24 1998

Milet picture dictionary, English-French

Hansen Curriculum Room: PC2640 .T87 2003

The Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English, English-French

REF PC2640 .O83 1994

 

Pronunciation and Usage

Media French : a vocabulary of contemporary usage

5th Floor Stacks: PC2460 .R58 2008

Using French : a guide to contemporary usage

5th Floor Stacks: PC2460 .B37 2000

 

Helpful e-Books

French All-in-One For Dummies

French Grammar For Dummies

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

French drama

French fiction

French language -- history

French literature

 

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

Courrier International (link is external)(political & world news)

L’Equipe (link is external) (sports news)

L’Express (link is external) (link is external)(literary and political reviews)

Le Figaro (link is external) (newspaper)

Investir (link is external) (stock and business news)

Le Monde (link is external) (general news)

Le Pointe (link is external)(conservative news magazine)

Reuters (link is external) (news agency)

 

German

German

Dictionaries

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary

5th Floor Stacks: PF3640 .C68 1995

Milet picture dictionary, English-German

Oxford German dictionary and grammar

5th Floor Stacks: PF3640 .O943 2001
 

Pronunciation and Usage

Grammar handbook for reading German texts

5th Floor Stacks: PF3112 .R63 1985

Using German Synonyms

5th Floor Stacks: PF3591 .D87 2000 or as an ebook

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

American literature -- German influences

Civilization -- German influences

German literature

Germany -- Civilization

Short stories, German

 

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

Berliner Morgenpost  (link is external) (daily news)

Die Zeit (link is external) (weekly news)

Stern (link is external) (weekly magazine)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Japanese

Japanese

Dictionaries

Kodansha's romanized Japanese-English Dictionary

5th Floor Stacks: PL679 .V36 1993

Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English learner's dictionary

5th Floor Stacks: PL679 .K38213 1993

Milet picture dictionary, English-Japanese

Hansen Curriculum Room: PL676 .T87 2003

Oxford Starter Japanese Dictionary

5th Floor Stacks: PL679 .O946 2000b

 

Pronunciation and Usage

Dictionary of Japanese Particles

5th Floor Stacks: PL601 .K39 1999

Japanese business language : an essential dictionary

4th Floor Stacks: HF1002 .J358 1987

Japanese/English English/Japanese glossary of scientific and technical terms

5th Floor Stacks: Q123 .T844 1993

 

Helpful e-Books

Japanese-English and English-Japanese dictionary

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

Japan -- Civilization

Japan -- Description and travel

Japan -- History

Japanese language

 

Online News papers, Magazines and News Agencies

Asahi Shimbun (link is external) (major Japanese newspaper)

CNN Japan (link is external) (news)

Mainichi Shimbun (link is external) (major Japanese newspaper)

Nikkei (link is external) (Japanese economic newspaper)

Sankei Simbun (link is external)(Japanese daily economic newspaper)

Yomiuri Shimbun (link is external)  (major Japanese newspaper)

Mandarian Chinese

Mandarin Chinese

Dictionaries

Milet picture dictionary, English-Chinese

Hansen Curriculum Room: PL1455 .T87 2003

Oxford starter Chinese dictionary

5th Floor Stacks: PL1455 .O925 2000

 

Pronunciation & Usage

Chinese Language(s) A Look through the Prism of the Great Dictionary of Modern Chinese Dialects

 

Helpful e-books

Chinese for Dummies

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

China -- Social conditions

China -- Civilization

Chinese -- Foreign countries -- Social conditions

Chinese language

 

Spanish

Toni's Spanish page

Spanish

The purpose of this guide is to familiarize you with Spanish resources for research in your area of study.  Most of the information about finding books for your Spanish courses can be found on the “Books & Catalog” tab on the main Modern Languages research guide.  Please contact Dr. Toni Olivas (tolivas@csusm.edu or call 760-750-4333) if you need more help locating Spanish resources.

Dictionaries

American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Ingles/Español
5th Floor Stacks PC4640 .A47 2012

Diccionario del Uso del Español
Barahona Center Reference 463 M722

Diccionario de la Lengua Española
Barahona Center Reference 463 D545
5th Floor Stacks PC4625 .A3 2001

Diccionario de Uso del Español de América y España
Barahona Center Reference 463 D545u
 
Diccionario Panhispánico de Dudas
Barahona Center Reference 463.1 D545

 

Diccionario Esencial
Barahona Center Reference 463 D545
 
Clave : Diccionario de Uso del Español Actual
Barahona Center Reference 463 C617
 
Guía Práctica del Español Actual: Diccionario Breve de Dudas y Dificultades
Barahona Center Reference   463.1 S445
Diccionario de la Real Academia Española

 

Articles

Many journal, newspaper, magazine and newspaper articles are found through the research databases below in both English and in Spanish languages.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.

MLA
Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.
Coverage: 1963→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1993→current

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Provides abstracts of articles from about 2,000 journals (published worldwide), coverage of recent books, book review citations and dissertation listings.
Coverage: 1973→current

ClasePeriodica
Search 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1975→current

 

For more help locating resources for your Spanish classes, please contact and/or make an appointment:

Toni Olivas, Ed.D.
tolivas@csusm.edu
(760) 750-4333
KEL 5011 (inside the Barahona Center)

Spanish

Dictionaries

American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Ingles/Español

Diccionario del Uso del Español

Barahona Center Reference 463 M722

Diccionario de la Lengua Española

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545
5th Floor Stacks: PC4625 .A3 2001

Diccionario de Uso del Español de América y España

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545u

Diccionario Panhispánico de Dudas

Barahona Center Reference 463.1 D545

Diccionario Esencial

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545

Clave : Diccionario de Uso del Español Actual

Barahona Center Reference 463 C617

Guía Práctica del Español Actual: Diccionario Breve de Dudas y Dificultades

Barahona Center Reference   463.1 S445

 

Helpful  e-Books

Diccionario de la Real Academia Española

 

Useful LC Subject Headings

Spanish language -- Errors of usage -- Dictionaries

Spanish language materials

 

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

El Mundo (link is external) (newspaper)

El Nuevo Herald (US) (link is external) (Spanish language news published in US)

 

Articles

Many journal, newspaper, magazine and newspaper articles are found through the research databases below in both English and in Spanish languages.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.

MLA
Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.
Coverage: 1963→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1993→current

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Provides abstracts of articles from about 2,000 journals (published worldwide), coverage of recent books, book review citations and dissertation listings.
Coverage: 1973→current

ClasePeriodica
Search 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1975→current

 

 

Need Help?

Torie Quiñonez

Arts and Humanities Librarian
tquinonez@csusm.edu
760-750-4353
Office Location: 
KEL 3426
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback
Contact Info