MGMT 461 Management in Different Cultures

You are here

Country Culture

Country Culture for Business

Recommended Reading
Juergensmeyer, M. (Ed.). 2014. Thinking globally.  Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.  (e-book).

Thomas, D. C. & Inkson, K. (2009) Cultural intelligence: Living and working globally (2nd Ed.). San Francisco, CA: Berrett-Koehler. (on order for the library)

Backgroud

CIA World FactBook    Short factual information on a country

World Bank Country Lending Groups
To locate low, lower middle, and upper middle income economies

Global Edge     Do this First--   You Must register for free to have full use of this site

Countries > Region > Europe >  Austria, Germany, Switzerland
Quick Links:
    Country Commercial Guide 
    BBC--Country Profile--verview, Facts, Leaders, Historial Timeline and of course latest news

Look at video clips under Video and Audio and  Programmes (left nav bar)

CPI Corruption Perception Index - This is from Transpacrency International, check to see where you country falls on this index.

GlobalEDGE Resource Desk for Culture   MGMT 461
Pick a country in Global Insights and look to the left light blue contents for culture.  Find links to Center for Intercultural Learning and Culture Crossing.  

Filter by country  >>  Cultures (Left blue bar)
Find links to Center for Intercultural Learning and Culture Crossing.

International Montetary Fund - Visit this site to learn more on your country.
     Take a look at the DataMapper (to help choose a country based on criterion) and IMF Data link

Select Databases

Business Source Premier  MGMT 461

Choose >>> Country Reports   Select a report for example: Select County Tab >>> India

Excellent Marketline reports in depth country profiles with chapter on social aspects of country. 

Films on Demand Country Culture
Film clips on countries and management practices around the world.  Custom clips can be embedded into your presentations. 

Gobal Management Information

Euromonitor Passport
Consumer industries and country studies and in depth market reports and statistics

Can do a KEYWORD Search OR Use the Search "tree" [multiple ways to get at data]

Example: Industries (Top bar in black) >>> Select Hot Drinks >>> Use the Search Tree

Hot Drinks >>>Consumer Expenditure >>> hit blue arrow >>> add in geography >>>Latin America >>> Search

Results show Popular Statistics | Analysis | Combined Statistics

ABI/IINFORM  (News, reports, data, Journals) MGMT 461 

Seach Hofstede and [dimension]   
Limit by Subject  
Limit by Country 

"Full-text journals, case studies, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world" (Source: ABI/INFORM).

Emerald Insight
Provides global perspectives scholarly articles with access to the fulltext of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.

ScienceDirect

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals in science, including subjects in social science: Business, Accounting & Management

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Books | eBooks | More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

Select Books, eBooks, More, Management in Different Cultures

Subject Terms  for books and chapters in books on the topic

The library and the Circuit has many books, internet links and videos for business etiquette, on selected countries.

Business etiquette -- [Country name]
Business travel
Corporate culture -- [Country name]
Intercultural Communication -- [Country name]
Negotiation in Business -- [Country name]

Books in the Library (Select, search catalog for more)

Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to 90 countries.
REF HF5549.5.E45 C73 2004 2 vol.
Business and relocation and information on top 90 trading countries.

CultureGrams 
GT150 .C85  5th Floor Oversize
Short descriptions for each country on cultural norms.

CultureShock! United Arab Emirates A Survival Guide to Customs and Etiquette / Gina Crocetti Benesh
(eBook via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary))

Essential do's and taboos: the complete guide to international business and leisure travel. / edited by Roger E. Axtell.
G156.5B86 A98 2007  4th floor stacks

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: How to do business in sixty countries/ Terri Morrison, Wayne A. Conaway & George A. Borden
HF5389 .M67 2006

Kiss, Bow, or Shake hands: How to do business in 12 Asian Countries / Terri Morrison
HF5389 .M667 2007

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: sales and marketing: the essential cultural guide -- from presentations and promotions to communicating and closing / Terri Morrison, Wayne A. Conaway & George A. Borden
HF5389 .M674 2012

eBooks - (Select titles - search library Catalog for more)

Make sure you are logged in to the library to access these titles.  Permalinks provided.

Intercultural Communication for Managers (eBook via Business Expert Press)

Bridging the Culture Gap A Practical guide to International Business Communication (eBook via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) Academic Complete)

Chinese Business Etiquette The Practical Pocket Guide (eBook via Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) Academic Complete)

Videos - (Select titles - search library Catalog for more)

Business Culture: Japan Global Business (21:19 mins | Films on Demand Collection)

Business Culture - India Global Culture (30:11 mins | Films on Demand Collection)

Business Culture - China Global Culture (27:11 mins | Films on Demand Collection)

Books & eBooks Collections

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Business Expert Press E-Books

Business Expert Press publishes concise, practical treatments of the topics taught in MBA programs. Our born-digital books are written by professors who translate real-life business experiences into teaching tools, and serve as curriculum-oriented, cost-effective alternatives to high-priced textbooks. Unencumbered by DRM, they can be used easily and without limitation by the academic community.

Report Problems
Full-text 2010 to 2014 Most
Wiley Online Library

Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current Most
Safari Books

A collection of over 300 O'Reilly programming and technology books - each completely searchable, including code fragments.

Report Problems
Full-text 1993 to current None
SpringerLink

Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
EBSCO eBook Collection

Access to a full text collection of over 4,000 e-book titles covering a wide-range of subject areas.

Report Problems
Full-text 1850 to current Most

Articles | Journals

Industry

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start:  MKTG 433 Fall 2017

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect):  MKTG 433 Fall 2017

Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts Search library home page (Oneas keyword and industry name.  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts and news reports. 

Local Industry Analysis 

San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library   Electronic version of Industry Surveys 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database) 

Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.  
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data.  Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Bizminer   Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis.   9000 industries by sales.  Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Business News

Business News Databases

Trade publications report on the industry for the industry, examples are: Automotive News, Restaurant News, Hotel and Motel Management, Sales and Marketing Management.  The free web will give you current or sample issues. Premium content and backfiles are available through these research databases.

 

      Ebsco Business Source Premier

Harvard Business Review full text 

Excellent source for industry reports, company profiles and SWOTS and managment and market news.

 

      Proquest ABI Inform Complete

Best for all industry news articles, widely used by business for recent news on competitors, suppliers and customers.

 

Factiva 

Wall Street Journal and world wide news 

Excellent for major publically traded companies and international. 
TIP:  Search "conference call" [company name] to read latest analysis and quarterly reports interviewed by top analysts.

 

Euromonitor Passport

Industry market reports on consumer goods and services.   Excellent economic indicator reports.  Global perspective.

 

Trade and  Professional Associations

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.

Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association

 

Local Business News  These links provide premium current and full text access unavailable to free web)
 

San Diego Union Tribune 
San Diego Business Journal    (limited access via Proquest).  Physical holdings for SDBJ Book of Lists

 

Advanced Google

Google for Business

Advanced Google features for business searching

Limit to domain names:   site:.gov [search terms]       site:.ca.gov ....    site:.edu ..     site:.org   ....

Add site:(domain) to your search terms, for example:

site:.gov demographics AND Oceanside, CA
site:.gov serbia and culture and management  
Limits to goverment entitites, works for all jurisdiction levels:  National, state, county, city, water district, school district ect. military.

regulations.gov  For current and proposed federal regulations

site:.org Associations AND Yoga
Limits to non profit organizations 

site:.edu Market research AND "frozen yogurt"
Limits to education sites.  USE WITH CAUTION as student papers may also be uploaded using the .edu domain, not to be confused with scholar.google.com

Scholar.google.com 

 

Limit to latest years:    Open Search tools (Grey box on right) >> Then select AnyTime (drop down)

 

Google marketing tools:

Search trends, shopping insights articles, and other marketing and advertising resources.

How Does Google Work?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=BNHR6IQJGZs

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info