You are here

MGMT 428: Compensation and Benefits | Woodard

MGMT 428 Getting Started & Comp and Benefit Resources

MGMT 415, MGMT 422 Getting Started

IN -THE-NEWS and HR Industry Research

Use this guide for your In-The-News assignments.  See the Business News tab for access to NYT, WSJ, and other metro papers.

Popular Magazines for Organizational Development In The News  (MGMT 302 -Woodard)
May or may not have full text on the web:  Premium subscriptions available via the library.
If these links don't work contact the library research help desk.

Newsweek Global  Full text in the library
Time Magazine   Full  text in the library
US News and World Report 
Bloomberg BusinessWeek  
Fortune  (accessible free from the web)

Practitioner and Professional Journals  Just below you will see a list of practitioner and academic journals in your field.

Use the 3 Ways to Locate a Journal Article.  Still having trouble?   Use the chat or email to contact a librarian.

Industry Research: MGMT 422 Use these links to get an overview of your industry.   Use IBISWorld and First Research to learn more.  The Industry section in this guide has additional resources.  You are learning about the industry so you can create a company in that industry for your semester research project.

San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation 

Sections across the top for Our Economy, Research Center etc.

Industry Research For those needing to study an Industry, use the tab on the left.

  • IBISWorld for general overview
  • First Research has great Getting Started Interview questions to understand management perspective in a particular industry. Real time Twitter feed on trending topics in the industry!

Compensation & Benefits



Compensation & Benefits

To research compensation and benefits trends in the news or scholarly material use the tabs in this Guide.

Your syllabus and cougar courses has a list of recommended sources from your professor.

Compensation --  Periodicals  (To find magazines and scholarly journals in the library catalog) 

 Recommended Bookmarks:

CALSHRM California State Council of SHRM

BLR Business and Legal Resources

EEOC 

HR.com

International Society of Performance Improvement

O*Net

OSHA 

US Bureau of Labor Statistics

World at Work

HRCI Human Resources Certification Institute

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

FACTIVA
Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others
  •  

Business News Publications

Newsbank:  America's News
Full text of major news sources including the Los Angeles Times and the San Diego Union Tribune, and Press Enterprise

 

San Diego Union Tribune    Link here and print edition, 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Proquest ABI Inform and print edition, 4th floor
Press Enterprise Riverside County Newsbank

 

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

 

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via Proquest ABI Inform]  Free Economist gives only limited content

 

Harvard Business Review  Ebsco - Business Source Premier -- Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription
  •  

Trade and  Professional Associations  -- Industry Trending News

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.  Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association.

Find associations in the industry reports recommended here, such as First Research.  Search on the web using .org   Find references to associations in news article

 

 

 

 

Human Resources Journals: Academic and Practioner

HR Journals: Academic and Practioner


HR in the News

SHRM Society for Human Resource Management
International HR resources
ATD Association of Talent Development
Knowledge@Wharton Human Resources.  Reports of research by faculty at University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business
McKinsey & Co.

CALSHRM
BLR
HR.com
ISPI
O*NetOnline
OSHA
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
HRCI

Premium News Sources at CSUSM
Factiva:   Wordwide business news and reports.  Access current and past issues of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post and thousands of others.
San Diego Union Tribune   Access via campus Newsbank subscription
San Diego Business Journal  Accessv via campus subscription to Proquest

In Depth HR Research: 3 ways to search.

1. OneSearch at CSUSM LIbrary (narrow your choices on the left navigation bar)   Caution this method is like "google inside the library"

2. Library Databases with Management, Org Behavior and Human Resources Magazinesa and Journals.
 
Search these recommended databases by your topic and narrow to approved journal titles.
All Business Databases

ABI Inform
Business Source Premier (BSP) Most of your tiltes are available through BSP --good place to start
Emerald Full Text (UK publisher with international content)
Science Direct  (all scholarly articles)
SpringerLink (all scholarly articles)
Wiley Online   (all scholarly articles)
 

Dr Ted Shore's recommended list of HR journals.  Select from this list.  Note the database where you can find the full text. Use instructions above to follow links to those databases.  

3. Practitioner Journals

This is a list of selected HR and management journals available directly from the indicated database listed.  Use the links above to access them.  Look for Search by Publication to access by  title or use a search by topic. 
 

Academy of Management Executive (BSP Business Source Premier)
Across the Board (BSP)
Business Horizons (ScienceDirect)

Harvard Business Review (BSP)
HR Magazine (BSP)
HR Focus  (BSP through 2016)

Management Review (ceased 2000)
Organizational Dynamics (ScienceDirect)
Personnel (Ceased newer title HR Focus)
Personnel Journal (ceased now Workforce Management) (BSP)


Supervisory Management (Ceased)
Training  (ABI Inform) each issue includes a country focus article
Training and Development (ABI Inform)

Workforce Management (ABI Inform)
Workforce Management  (previously Personnel Journal) (BSP)
 

Academic Journals

Academy of Management Journal   (BSP)  also  HD28 .A24 Periodicals
Academy of Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .A23
Administrative Science Quarterly   (BSP) also HD28 .A25
California Management Review   (BSP) also HD28 .C1

Employee Relations Law Journal  (BSP)
Employee Responsibilties and Rights Journal (Springer)
Human Relations   (BSP)  HD1 .H8
Human Resource Development Quarterly (Wiley Online)
Human Resource Management (Wiley Interscience)
Human Resource Management Review (ScienceDirect)

Industrial & Labor Relations Review (LexisNexis Academic, JSTOR-no full text for latest 3 years)
Industrial Relations (Blackwell Synergy)
International Journal of Human Relations  (BSP)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (BSP-no full text for latest 18 months)

Journal of Applied Psychology (Business Source Premier)
Journal of Applied Social Psychology (Wiley)
Journal of Business Ethics (Springer)
Journal of Collective Negotiation in the Public Sector  (BSP)
Journal of Labor Research  (BSP)
Journal of Management  (BSP)  also  HD28 .J597
Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology  (BSP)
Journal of Organizational Behavior  (Wiley Interscience)
Journal of Organizational Behavior Management (ABI)
Journal of Vocational Behavior  (ScienceDirect)

Labor Law Journal  (ABI Inform Global)
Labor Studies Journal  (BSP)
MIT Sloan Management Review

Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes
People and Strategy (Business Source Premier)
Personnel Psychology (BSP)  also HF5549 .A2 P53
Public Personnel Management (ABI Inform Global, CINAHL Plus)
 

 



 


Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Website  Research

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback