MASS 460 Political Economy of Mass Media | Fogle

You are here

Start Here & Survey

Survey Link MASS 460

SURVEY THE SESSION

Please provide feedback on your library session today!

This anonomyous survey will be used to inform future instruction sessions.

Access Survey Here

MASS 460 Start Here

Having a process or method for conducting research on a company and industry is a great skill to have in your toolbox.

  1. Gain a brief undertanding of NAICS codes - these codes can be used for searches in many of our databases including some of our subscription news.
     
  2. Search on the name of your company in our Databases.
     
  3. Look at the Industry.  Use an Industry code in a premium database (for example IBISWorld). 
     

NAICS (Business)

 Use a directory or company search to help you identify an Industry Classification code.  This will be helpful in your next steps in Industry research.

North American Classification System [NAICS]

NAICS Pronounced Nakes; is a unique, all-new system for classifying business establishments. Adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, it is the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States. (Source: FAQs US Census).

2012 NAICS classifications

 

Company

Company

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.

Company  directories provide individual and competitor details for:

Name
Address and other contacts
Key personnel
Revenue and Sales
Employee size
NAIC / SIC numbers


Databases by Subject Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee  numbers.  Executive contact info.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

REFUSA: Prezi Slideshow Tutorial Use this tool to learn how to create company essentials and competitor lists.  Also good for a quick look at local industry sales, and revenues. 

Factiva Public company profiles.  Choose the Companies tab across the top first.  Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.
Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Hoovers Company Profiles (ABI Inform)
Public and some larger companies,  Short competitor list and executives.

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 

Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

Non-profit and charitable resource page
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

 

Industry

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start:  

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect):  

Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts Search library home page (Oneas keyword and industry name.  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts and news reports. 

Local Industry Analysis 

San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library   Electronic version of Industry Surveys 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database) 

Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.  
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data.  Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Bizminer   Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis.   9000 industries by sales.  Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Annual Report

How to Read an Annual Report

How to Read an Annual Report  Courtesy of IBM.


This short lesson in how to read an annual report by IBM is worthwhile.

Most important for a company profile and analysis:

1. Letter to Stockholders

2. Corporate message

2. Board of Directors and Top management

3. Management Discussion

 

To get annual reports use Mergent Online.  Mergent also offers financial analysis.  They are also available in the invester relations sections of the companies webpage.

Business News

Business News Databases

Trade publications report on the industry for the industry, examples are: Automotive News, Restaurant News, Hotel and Motel Management, Sales and Marketing Management.  The free web will give you current or sample issues. Premium content and backfiles are available through these research databases.

 

      Ebsco Business Source Premier

Harvard Business Review full text 

Excellent source for industry reports, company profiles and SWOTS and managment and market news.

 

      Proquest ABI Inform Complete

Best for all industry news articles, widely used by business for recent news on competitors, suppliers and customers.

 

Factiva 

Wall Street Journal and world wide news 

Excellent for major publically traded companies and international. 
TIP:  Search "conference call" [company name] to read latest analysis and quarterly reports interviewed by top analysts.

 

Euromonitor Passport

Industry market reports on consumer goods and services.   Excellent economic indicator reports.  Global perspective.

 

Trade and  Professional Associations

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.

Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association

 

Local Business News  These links provide premium current and full text access unavailable to free web)
 

San Diego Union Tribune 
San Diego Business Journal    (limited access via Proquest).  Physical holdings for SDBJ Book of Lists

 

Books | eBooks | Videos | More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

Books & eBooks Collections

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Business Expert Press E-Books

Business Expert Press publishes concise, practical treatments of the topics taught in MBA programs. Our born-digital books are written by professors who translate real-life business experiences into teaching tools, and serve as curriculum-oriented, cost-effective alternatives to high-priced textbooks. Unencumbered by DRM, they can be used easily and without limitation by the academic community.

Report Problems
Full-text 2010 to 2014 Most
Wiley Online Library

Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current Most
Safari Books

A collection of over 300 O'Reilly programming and technology books - each completely searchable, including code fragments.

Report Problems
Full-text 1993 to current None
SpringerLink

Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.

Report Problems
Some full-text 1996 to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
EBSCO eBook Collection

Access to a full text collection of over 4,000 e-book titles covering a wide-range of subject areas.

Report Problems
Full-text 1850 to current Most
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some

Feedback
Contact Info