LTWR 308B: English Literature - Berghof

You are here

Getting Started

LTWR 308B Getting Started

This course examines the scope of literature by English authors from 1660 (end of the Renaissance) to 2014.

Professor Berghof has assigned a range of topic options which offer the opportunity to examine authors, genres, and cultural themes through one or many works.

Your first step in this process is to find FIVE resources for your Research Prospectus that you comment on as part of the assignment. Keep in mind that these five items are just the beginning of your research and that you will want more to complete your paper.

The other tabs on this page will help you locate those resources, but never hesitate to ask for help.

Databases

LTWR 308B

Resources for study in LTWR 308B, English Literature II: Restoration to present.

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Literature Criticism Online

Extensive collection of literary criticism authors and their works from antiquity to present.

Report Problems
Some full-text current Some
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
Project Muse

Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics

Report Problems
Full-text 1993 to current All
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Informative introduction to major people and ideas in the world of literary theory and criticism.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
MLA International Bibliography

Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1973 to current All
Times (London) digital archive 1785-1985

Provides access to the complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Report Problems
Full-text 1785 to 1985 None
Women's Studies International

Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current Most

Finding Articles

MLA - Reading a Citation

Here are some citations in MLA citation style as you may see in a bibliography or while using the MLA database.

This information is important for:

  • Identifying important journals and scholars
  • Knowing when the item is in the original publication and when it has been republished in a different source
  • Your own citation work
  • In the event you need to request the item from outside the CSUSM Library collection when using Interlibrary Loan

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online (LCO) is a collection of literary criticism originally reprinted from a variety of journals, magazines and even newspapers. 

There are also biographies and essays on a variety of genre and thematic topics. These are not signed, although written under the direction of the volume's editor(s). 

Citation Assistance

MLA Citations

As you write your paper, you'll need to cite passages and ideas from the sources you've found.  In order to cite your resources properly, you need to follow the style guide used by for this class, the MLA Handbook.

Sites with examples of in-text citations and works cited pages (supplement the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)

In the library:

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
 

Manage your citations and resources:

Zotero (it's free!, create a library to save your articles, notes and create citations)

Need Help?

Torie Quiñonez

Arts and Humanities Librarian
tquinonez@csusm.edu
760-750-4353
Office Location: 
KEL 3426
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback
Contact Info