LGBTQ Studies Guide

You are here

LGBTQ Studies - Start Here

LGBTQ Start Here

Use the navigation on the left hand side of page to locate books, journals, articles, and more!

This resource puts together sources for researching topics related to: LBGTQ issues.

BACKGROUND SOURCES:

GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES: For off campus access of electronic resource use your user name and password for access.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (library database - ID & Password required for off-campus use) - General reference collection 

  1.    LGBTQ in the 21st Century 
  2.      Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender 
     
  3. Image of book Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures     Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures

       

 

 

 

Books | eBooks | Media

Library Catalog Search (LGBTQ)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password
       
  3. Search the CSUSM Pride Center book collection

 

LGBTQ Subject headings JSO 8/24/17

When searching the collections for books and more try these Library of Congress Subject Headings searches.  

This is not a complete list of Library of Congress Subject headings, but a list intended to get your searches started. Also note that these terms may not use the language that you are normally accustomed to and may seem outdated; they are the terms selected by the Library of Congress to arrange materials under a single subject heading and do not necessarily reflect how the LGBTQA community describes themselves. 

Androdgyny (psychology)Bisexuals | Bisexuality | Butch and femme (Lesbian culture) |  Coming out (sexual orientation)Gay couples | Gay Liberation Movement | Gay activists | Gay and Lesbian StudiesGay adoption | Gay culture | Gay men | Gay ParentsGay rightsGaysGender and Ethnic studiesGender Identity | Gender Identity in Literature | Gender noncomformity | Heterosexism | Homophobia | Homosexual | HomosexualityIntersex people | Lesbians | Lesbianism | Lesbian Couples | Male homosexuality | Queer Theory |  sex change | Sex (psychology) | Same-Sex marriage | Sexual Minorities | TransgenderTransgender people | Transgenderism | Transsexuals | Transsexualism | Transvestisim | Transvestites | Women's Rights


 

LGBTQ Books, eBooks and Streaming Media (JSO 8/24/17)

Selected books, eBooks, Streaming Media, and Physical Media below - 

For online access to ebooks and streaming media - User ID & Password Required. 

  1. Image of ebook.  Historicising Gender and Sexuality.    Historicising Gender and Sexuality [eBook]
     
  2. Image for Ebook titled Travels in a Gay Nation : Portraits of LGBTQ Americans  Living Out : Gay and Lesbian Autobiography : Travels in a Gay Nation : Portraits of LGBTQ Americans [eBook]
     
  3. Image and link to ebook title Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity  Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity [eBook]
  4. Image of book titled: Queer America A GLBT History of the 20th Century   Queer America A GLBT History of the 20th Century [4tth Floor Stacks   HQ76.3.U5 E35 2008]

    Streaming Media 

Kanopy offers a robust collection of streaming videos on LGBTQ Stories, LGBTQ Cinema, Gender Studies, Social Studies - LGBTQ (Selected titles below).

  1. Image for Streaming Media title Just Gender Watch Just Gender Now (via Kanopy) [Streaming Media via Kanopy]
  2. Image of Streaming Media title Trans TRANS (via Kanopy) [Streaming Media via Kanopy]

    Physical Media

Selected Items from the Media Library

  1. Image of DVD titled STILL BLACK: A portrait of black transmenSTILL BLACK: a portriat of black transmen [DVD - Media   HQ77.95.U6 S75 2008 ] 
  2. Just Married: The Epic Battle Over Gay Marriage   Just married: the epic battle over gay marriage [DVD - Media   KFM2503 .J87 2005 ]

Databases | Journals | Articles

LGTBQ Databases

LGBTQ Studies is interdisciplinary, you may also want to visit databases lists for:

Sociology, Human Development, Social Work, Psychology, Women's Studies 

 

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
EBSCOHost

A collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, PsychInfo, and others.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current Most
ProQuest

Search all of ProQuest's databases.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1971 to current Most
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Report Problems
Full-text 1991 to current None
Academic Complete eBooks

E-books in all academic subject areas.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
Kanopy Video Library

Kanopy provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.

Report Problems
N/A current
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Report Problems
Full-text current Some
Research Topics: 

LBGTQ Selected Journal Titles (JSO 8_17)

Selected Journals for the discipline

Off campus use of these materials requires log-in and password.

Journal of LGBT Youth  [Online resource]

International journal of sexuality and gender studies  [Online resource]

Journal of Homosexuality [Print - Periodicals   HQ75 .J68  Locate]

GLQ: a journal of lesbian and gay studies [Online resource]

Columbia journal of gender and law [Online resource]

Duke journal of gender law and policy [Online resource]

 

 

 

 

Websites | Tools

LGBTQ Community Partners JSO 8_24_17

Community Partners

LGBTQ Advocacy

Advocacy & Research

Need Help?

Torie Quiñonez

Arts and Humanities Librarian
tquinonez@csusm.edu
760-750-4353
Office Location: 
KEL 3426
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback
Contact Info