KINE 306: Exercise Fitness and Health

You are here

KINE 306 - Tutorials and Library Assignment

TL-KINES306-tutorials&assignments

Complete the following in order to receive credit:

1.  Watch 2 online tutorials:

2. Complete the library worksheet

3. Email the completed worksheet to me at plantzy@csusm.edu with the Subject line [KINE306 yourlastname, yourfirstname] so I can grade it for credit. This assignment is worth 10 points.

4. Take this short survey.

Getting Started with the "Check the Facts" Assignment

TL-Kines306-gettingstarted


If you're wondering:

  • How can I tell the difference between scholarly peer-reviewed articles, authoritative information sources, and popular media resources? 
  • How can I find these different types of sources for my Check The Facts assignment?
  • How do I cite my sources?

 

You're in the right place!

This course guide will answer these questions and provide the resources you need to finish this assignment.

Need more help? Email your librarian! (Her email is on the right of the page.)

 

Still looking for a controversial health topic?

CQ Researcher (browse by topic or search by keyword)

Procon.org (browse "health & medicine" category) 

    Search Tips

    TL-ALL-searchtips

    Tips for the search!

     

    1) Generating keywords

    • think of more than one way to discuss your topic and use a variety of terms/synonyms to search
      • ("academic achievement" OR "academic performance") AND (coping OR resilience)
    • look up your topic online to find more keywords (wikipedia is a great resource for this!)

     

    2) Boolean Operators

    • AND - returns literature that includes both terms
    • OR - returns literature that includes either terms
    • NOT - excludes literature with the term


     

     

    3) Truncation

    • putting an asterisk at the root of a term will return variations of word
    • tour*  =  tour, tours, tourist, tourism, toured

     

    4) Parenthesis

    • use parentheses around synonyms for the same concept
    • (coping OR resilience) AND stress AND (program* OR treatment)

     

    5) Controlled Vocab

    • The "subjects" attached to each result represent the controlled vocab for that database
    • USE THESE TERMS!

     

    6) Still not getting good results?

    Source Type Comparison

    TL-KINES306-sourcetypecomparison


    What's the difference?

    Scholarly, Authoritative, or Popular?

      Scholarly (peer-reviewed, academic) Authoritative Popular
    Audience other scholars/researchers everyone everyone
    Vocabulary specialized language of the field, "jargon" professional language common language
    Structure very structured (abstract, intro, methods, conclusion, bibliography) can be structured for clarity more story-like, shorter with minimal headings
    Sources many sources in the bibliography sometimes includes a few sources or footnotes no bibliography
    Review blind reviewed by other scholars  fact checked by the organization sometimes reviewed by an editor
    Examples Ethnic and Racial Studies; Gender & Society; International Migration Review; American Journal of Public Health; Latin American Perspectives Government Publications, World Health Organization (WHO), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Time; Yahoo; Newsweek; Business Week;
    US News & World Report; New York Times; Christian Science Monitor
    Author(s) scholar(s) experts or reputable organizations non-experts or journalists


     

    1. Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Articles

    TL-KINES306-scholarly

    Finding Scholarly Sources


    What are scholarly sources?

    • written by scholars
    • written for other scholars and students
    • peer-reviewed by other scholars before getting published
    • very detailed 
    • often presents new research
    • extensive bibliography

    How do I find them?

    Search the databases! 

    Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary
    Google Scholar Multi-disciplinary
    CINAHL Nursing and Allied Health
    PubMed Biomedical 

    What are some examples?

    Articles published in journals like:

    • Clinical Medicine & Research
    • Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal
    • American Journal of Health Promotion
    • British Medical Journal (BMJ)
    • Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
    • Journal of Nurtrition Education & Behavior

    What is a Scholarly Article?

    2. Authoritative Health Information Sources

    TL-KINES306-authoritativesources

    Finding Authoritative Sources

    What are authoritative sources?

    • written by reputable national or international organizations or government agencies
    • written for the general public
    • Purpose: to inform or educate
    • usually include evidence for their claims 
    • can be detailed, informational webpages or government/institutional reports

    How do I find them?

    *You may need to broaden your topic search to find an authoritative source relevant to your topic. Yoga and depression-->depression and alternative medicine

    Google advanced searching

    • yoga depression site:.gov
      • will return only government sites
    • yoga depression site:.org
      • will return sites with the .org url

    What are some examples?

    Authoritative Sources

    3. Popular Media Information Sources

    TL-Kines306-popularsources


    Finding Popular Sources


    What are popular sources?

    • written by a non-expert, journalist, or community member
    • written for the general public
    • can be opinion or unsupported facts 
    • can be narrative 

    How do I find them?

    Any Google search on your topic. News articles, websites, and blogs all count!

    What are some examples?

    • Newspaper articles
    • Magazine articles
    • Health-related websites that are not reliable/authoritative
    • Blogs
    • General Websites that are not reliable/authoritative
    • Most of what you find on the Internet!

     

     

    Citing in APA

    TL-ALL-APA

    Citing sources is expected in scholarly communities and is almost always required in research papers. Scholars cite:

    • to give credit where credit is due;
    • so your reader (professor) can find the source that you mentioned in your assignment;
    • to add credibility to your research - shows you did the work;
    • and to avoid plagiarism!

    Not sure where to start? Review this Flow Chart of the citation process before you continue!

    APA Style

    APA stands for the American Psychological Association. This is the preferred citation style of many of the social and behavioral sciences. Always remember to check your assignment guidelines or ask your professor which citation style they prefer for your work.

    Official APA Style Manual Resources

    • APA Style Manual (BF76.7 P83 2010)  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: the most current APA style manual is available at the Kellogg library. Click on the above link to find a copy. 
    • The official APA website  Off campus or need APA guidelines right now? Access the official APA website for citation help by clicking the above link. This site has useful tutorials and up-to-date facts about citing in APA.  

     

    Helpful Online Resources

     

    Also Helpful: Citation Generators

    • Zotero  Zotero is a tool for storing citations and generating bibliographies using data collected from the library catalog or websites such as Amazon or Google. For more information on using Zotero, see our Zotero Guide. Always double check your results with citation generators, they are not always perfect!
    • KnightCite Citation Service   This citation generator formats your citations for you. This can be a convenient tool, especially if you have a lot of sources to cite, but it is NOT 100% accurate. ALWAYS check an additional resource like the APA Manual or Purdue OWL to make sure that the citation is formatted correctly!

     

    Sample Papers in APA format

     

    Need Help?


    Feedback
    Contact Info