You are here

How do I...?

How do I...?

HDI-home

Welcome

This guide was developed to house answers to the most commonly-asked questions of librarians at CSUSM. Look along the left-hand side of the page to see if your question is answered here. If it isn't answered or if you have further questions after reviewing the tab, contact the Research Help Desk using the information provided to the right of the page.

HDI-questions

...get the full text of an article?

HDI - get the full text of an article from Get it! at CSUSM

A search for articles in a CSUSM library database has been conducted, you now want the article in PDF Full text.

There are two different links that you may encounter in our databases: Get it! and PDF Full Text.

For example purposes a search for an article is shown. Arrows on the image point out two different links:

Get it! at CSUSM and PDF Full Text


 


If your article shows a Get it! at CSUSM link follow these steps below. If you need PDF Full text directions scroll down to the next section. 

  1. From the article entry OR from the list of article results: Click on the Get it! at CSUSM link.  Note: This is a three click process.  

     
  2. You will now be directed to the CSUSM library catalog (shown in image below). 

Our system works to locate a database that will provide you access to a full text copy of your article. Note: occassionally NO FULL TEXT is available.  Request the item via Inter-library loan for full text.

In the "View it" section of the library catalog is a link to a database that provides access to the article in full text.

  1. Make your second click on the database link provided. You will be taken to an article entry in the named database. 






















 

  1. From the named database article entry, locate a PDF Full text icon. Click three is on the PDF icon to download a copy of the article in full text. Congratualtion, you now have the Full text of your desired article.


     

 


 

Get full text of an article from the PDF Full Text link

If your article shows a PDF full text link follow these steps below. 

  1. From the article entry OR from the list of article results: Click on the PDF Full text link. This will download a PDF full text copy of the article for your use as a student. 

 

  1. A second method of obtaining the Full text of the PDF is to click on the title of the article.  You will see the PDF Full Text link on the on the left hand side.  

 

 

...get an article if the results page says "no full text" available?

HDI - no full text

A search for articles in the CSUSM Library catalog (OneSearch) has been conducted, but the full text of the article you want isn't available.

1. When you're searching in the catalog and think the full text of an article isn't available, first make sure you're signed in with your CSUSM log in and ID.

2. Once you're signed in, if there is no full text available, the results page will display a "Get It" box with different options:

3. At this point, you have two different options:

  1. Search for the article in Google
  2. Request the article through InterLibrary Loan.

Searching for the article in Google:

Clicking on the link for "This might be available via Google" will open a new tab in Google Scholar that displays results related to the article you're interested in. The article might be availble through Google -- look to see if there is a [PDF] icon next to the individual results.

Request the article through InterLibrary Loan:

However, chances are that the full text of the article isn't available in Google. In this case:

  • Click on the link for "Request this item"
  • Sign in to the Interlibrary Loan system (you may have to register if you've never requested anything before)
  • The item information will be filled out for you in the interlibrary loan screen
  • Make sure to scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the button for "Submit Request".

Then you're done! You will receive the PDF of the article in a couple of days through your CSUSM email address.

...request a specific article if I can't find it at all in the library databases?

HDI - manual ILL

If you've searched in the library databases and catalog and are unable to locate the full text of an article, you will have to manually enter the information into our interlibrary loan system. 

1. Make sure you have as much of the following information as possible:

  • article title
  • author name(s)
  • year published
  • journal title
  • volume and issue number
  • DOI

2. Then, access the CSUSM Interlibrary Loan system:

3. Log in to the system with your CSUSM ID/password. If you've never requested an item before, you'll have to register for an account.

4. In the menu on the left hand side of the page, click on the link for the type of item you are trying to request.

5. On the next screen, enter as much information as possible. Items marked with an asterisk are required in order to process the request.

6. Once you've entered all the citation information, make sure to scroll down and click on the button to "submit request".

7. You're done! You will receive updates about your request through your CSUSM email address. If we are able to locate your item, you will receive a PDF in 2-3 business days. If we need more information, we'll contact you to learn more.

...get the full text article from Google Scholar CSUSM?

HDI-Google Scholar

Be sure to access Google Scholar @ CSUSM from the library database list.

When you're off-campus, Google Scholar will not automatically recognize you as a student with access to full text articles. Use the link above or find the Google Scholar @ CSUSM link on the library databases list to ensure you have access to full text articles.

 

After typing in your search terms, look for the "Get it at CSUSM" links.

The "Get it @ CSUSM" links will either be located on the right side of the article title or it will be hidden behind the ">>" symbol below the article information. See both examples below. Clicking on the link will route you back into the library website to find the full text.

...find books or articles put on reserve by my professor?

HDI-course reserves

To find books, articles, and physical media put on reserve by your professor for a specific course, click the "Course Reserves" link from the main library homepage.

(Note: Most electronic media reserves will be made available in your cougar course.)

 

This will bring you to a list of alphabetical courses with items on reserve at the library. You can either browse for your course by using the alphabet across the top of the page, or you can use the search box to search by course number, course name, or instructor name.

 

Once you find your course, click on it. You will be asked to sign in with your CSUSM username and password before being brought to the landing page for your course reserves.

 

...find a specific article in our library databases?

HDI - find a specific article in our library database

Follow these steps to find a known article in our library's collections.

  1. Go to the library's website, biblio.csusm.edu
     
  2. Under the OneSeach bar you will find a link called "Looking for a specific article?" Click on the link to launch a form.

     
  3. Once you open the form you will be asked for information to locate the article. 
  • One way to locate is to type the exact name of the article title and name of the journal into the form. 
  • The second is to provide the digital object identifier (DOI) number in the form.



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Below shows filling out the article title, journal name, and the year of publication. Hit submit to perform search for the article.  

 

  1. If you know the digital object identifier number, enter this as shown. Hit submit to perform search for the article.  































     
  2. Once you hit submit, the computer searches for a match.  Here we show you an entry for an article with options, under the "view it" for obtaining a copy of the article. Click the hyperlinked database collection to view article.


     
  3. IF you are met with a message that we DO NOT have the article, you will be provided with an option to request the title via Inter Library Loan
    First make sure you're signed in with your CSUSM log in and ID - the follow the steps in this guide on Requesting an article in full-text

 

 

...find a specific book in our library catalog?

HDI - Title search for book

Below is a sample search for a title, follow the steps to search for your book title.

  1. Search the catalog from the library's homepage, biblio.csusm.edu 
     
  2. From the OneSearch bar, select "Books & More" as shown below.













     
  3. Also change the dropdown to the right if the search bar.  Make sure it is a TITLE search.












     
  4. In the white search box type the TITLE of your book.  Take care that you have the correct title and spelling.












     
  5. Once the catalog completes its search for your book title you will EITHER see a list of results, OR be told we don't own that title.  If you don't see the title you want, seek librarian assistance.  
















     
  6. View more details about your book title, click on the hyperlinked title.
























     
  7. The search results and detailed record for the title show that this title is held in two locations, in the 4th floor stacks and at the reserves desk.  
     
  8. To obtain the book, record the floor (books are located on 4th & 5th floors), and the call number, here this is shown as LC2330 .Y69 2013b.  The call number is needed to find the title on the shelves. 
     
  9. View the university library map showing location of books on each floor. For this title look at the 4th floor and where the books begining with the call number L are located.    
     
  10. Once you locate the book bring it down to the 3rd floor check out desk in the library. For your convienence view our policies for borrowing books & media  at CSUSM. 
     
  11. If you need assistance - Ask a librarian

...request a physical book through CSU+?

HDI-CSU+

For directions on how to search for books, please see: How do I find a Specific Book in our Library?

 

If you locate a book via the OneSearch catalog and it states “Print version not available in the library” you can order the book via CSU+

Print Version is not Available in the Library

CSU+ is a library borrowing service that includes all 23 CSU campus libraries. It takes approximately 2-5 days to receive books from CSU+. You may need to sign in on the book record page in order to fully see the CSU+ Request button.


May Need to Sign In

To request your book via CSU+, click on the Request from CSU Libraries: CSU+

 Request from CSU Libraries: CSU+

The OneSearch catalog will then search the CSU holdings for a copy of the book you are requesting.

 

If there are no copies available please fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request. See: How do I request a physical book via Interlibrary Loan?

 

If a copy of your book is available at a CSU campus, the CSU+ request area will show a green dot and “Item available for request.”

 

At the bottom right hand corner of the box, click the green REQUEST button.

Search the CSU holdings

 

The box will then say “Request Placed.”

Request Placed

You will be notified via email when the book is received by the library and you can pick the book up at the 3rd floor Circulation desk. Don’t forget your Student ID card.

 

If you need to view your CSU+ requests, please go to My Account (left hand side of the main CSUSM Library web page)

 

CSUSM Library My Account

 

CSUSM Library My Account Full View

...request a physical book through Interlibrary Loan?

HDI-ILL

For directions on how to search for books, please see: How Do I Find A Specific Book in our Library Catalog?

 

If you locate a book via the OneSearch catalog and it states “Print version not available in the library” you can order the book via Interlibrary Loan.

First, you should try to order the book via CSU+ since books ordered via CSU+ arrive quicker than books ordered through Interlibrary Loan. See: How do I request a physical book through CSU+?

 

If the book is not available via CSU+, you can order it via Interlibrary Loan.

 

Interlibrary Loan is a worldwide Library borrowing system. Various types of materials can be available via Interlibrary Loan. It takes approximately 2-10 days to receive books from Interlibrary Loan.

 

Click on “Request this Item.” A new page will open.

Click on the link that matches your CSUSM identity: Student, Faculty, or Guest.

Enter your Student ID and password. Press Login.

 

A request form for the book should appear with certain fields already filled in.

Double check that all required fields (indicated by a red asterisk) are completed and change any fields needed.

 

Press “Submit Request” at the bottom of the page.

You will be directed to the Interlibrary Loan Menu page. It will have verification of your Interlibrary Loan Request at the top of the page. If verification does not appear, your request did not go through. Try your request again.

 

You will be notified via email when the book is received by the library and you can pick the book up at the 3rd floor Circulation desk. Don’t forget your Student ID card.

 

If you would like to view your Interlibrary Loan requests, please go to My Account (top Left Hand Corner of the main Library page) and click on Interlibrary Loan.

 

On the Interlibrary Loan Account page, you will be able to view requests, make new manual requests, and view checked out items. Make sure to logoff after you have completed your use of your Interlibrary Loan Account.

To Login to your Interlibrary Loan Account when you are NOT requesting an item, go to the main CSUSM Library website. There are two ways to view your Interlibrary Loan Account. You will need to login with your Student ID and password.

1. Click My Account at the top of the Page and in that menu, click Interlibrary Loan Account

 

2. On the main CSUSM Library website under Quick Links, there is a button to go to your Interlibrary Loan Account.

...know if a journal article is scholarly (peer-reviewed)?

HDI - Know if an article is scholarly (peer-reviewed)?

 

There are several ways to determine whether or not an article is scholarly or peer-reviewed. It's important to note that some articles published in a peer-reviewed journal may not actually be peer-reviewed. For example, book reviews, editorials, and news items do not undergo the same review process as research articles. Databases will generally give a visual indication as to whether the article is scholarly.

 

This image shows a non peer-reviewed database article.

 

 
The purpose of a scholarly article is to inform and disseminate original research to scholars. Readers should ask the following questions when trying to determine if an article is scholarly (peer-reviewed):

What to Look For in a Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Article

Who are the authors?: Generally other researchers or scholars in the academic discipline and/or field.

How is it written?: Scholarly articles contain vocabulary that is technical and specialized according to discipline; audience is generally scholarly peers in that field of study.

What does it look like?: Scholarly articles may include quantitative data in the form of graphs, charts, and tables supporting research; delineated sections: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, and bibliography.

How are the sources cited?: Scholarly aticles contain an extensive bibliography and footnotes which are formatted according to research discipline (e.g. MLA - Humanities; APA - Social Sciences, CSE - Sciences).

If you need additional assistance, please ask a librarian.

...know if a research article is empirical?

HDI - know if a research article is empirical?

Empirical research draws from observed or measured phenomena and derives knowledge from actual experimentation or observation. Empirical research articles are considered original, primary research. In these types of articles, readers will generally find the following sections organized by IMRaD format (Introduction, Method, Results, and Discussion).

  • (I)ntroduction: Includes the research hypotheses and the literature review (current research on or related to the topic).

  • (M)ethods: How the research was conducted, including participants, research design, and measures used.

  • (R)esults: What did researchers learn from their study/experiment--this section may include statistical data and research participant quotes.

  • (D)iscussion:  Research conclusions that state why the study was important and its impact on future research and/or practices.

Also check out:

How to find an empirical research article in PsycInfo

If you need additional assistance, please ask a librarian.

Need Help?

Research Assistance

libref@csusm.edu
760-750-4391

Feedback