Getting Started

Hist 430 Getting Started - Kang

Get Ready...

History research is NOT a book report on what has been said before...you are looking for a question that doesn't seem to have been answered. This establishes a place for you to shine by adding to the body of historical studies.

This may seem challenging, but as our interpretations of our past continually change in light of modern thinking and new discoveries, there are plenty of topics to explore!

So, while you are exploring, keep an open mind and do not 'lock' your thesis to start. This flexibility will come in very handy.

Get Set...

Analyze the source material you need. Articles, newspapers, photos, books, government publications? Primary sources will be of primary importance to you! (Sorry, couldn't resist.)

Primary sources can be letters, diaries, contemporary newspapers, government reports, maps or other first-person accounts and evidence.

Secondary sources are articles and books that review a number of works to create a text. Secondary sources are most often written years after the event or time period and may be based on research in primary sources.

What is available to me to inform and support my research? If you cannot find enough evidence due to a variety of issues such as expense. language, or scarcity, it is time to re-think your topic.

Identify where to locate what you need. Is it in the book collection, newspaper databases, a photograph or map collection? In addtion to books, will articles provide you with some information and point you to other resources, so which databases will provide relevant articles?

Use tools that will help you organize your resources, such as Zotero.

Go!

Keep an open mind but be selective as to the quality of the sources you are gathering.

The BOOKS, ARTICLES and CHICAGO tabs are for your research, regardless of the issue you choose. The other links are for the specific research area you select.

Books & Catalog

HIST 430 Books - Kang

Any well researched paper uses scholarly books to support the thesis and arguments.

Reference Books...
are normally secondary sources. These are works like encyclopedias, directories, and collections of reviews. They may be quick overviews or in-depth studies and can help you in developing ideas on topics or a focus on a topic. Many will provide bibliographies leading you to both primary and secondary sources.

  • Encyclopedia of American Social Movements 5th Floor Oversized  HN57 .E594 2004
  • New Historical Atlas of Religion in America 5th Floor Oversized G1201.E4 N4 2000
  • Encyclopedia of American Race Riots  E184.A1 E573 2007
  • The ABC-CLIO Companion to American Reconstruction, 1862-1877  E668 .R53 1996
  • Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-Class History  5th Floor Oversized  HD8066 .A78 2007
  • Encyclopedia of the Underground Railroad  E450 .H855 2006

Circulating Books (check out and take home)...
can be secondary, primary or a mix of materials.

  • Will be indepth studies (lots of pages) on one topic
  • Can be collections of primary sources with explanatory text
  • Will provide bibliographies to original sources and archives as well as secondary literature

Archives and Special Collections...
serve specialized interests as directed by their parent agency.

  • May not be books, but other forms of physical information (maps, photographs, realia...)
  • May or may not have a searchable catalog
  • Access can be challenging due to location or usage restrictions
  • Many archives and special collections are digitizing resources, but not all


Books at Cal State San Marcos

Start your search in BOOKS & MORE by typing your topic in the KEYWORD search option.

This will return a list of titles (including books, videos, slides) for you to browse.

When you find an item that looks relevant, click on the title for more information.

Especially useful on the item's record will be SUBJECTS which describe the content of the item and will link like items together.

 

Articles

HIST 301 - Articles - Kang

The CSUSM research databases are sources for articles as the library catalog does not index articles in serial publications. The databases may be indexes (citations and include abstracts) or full text collections.

Articles are normally used as secondary source resources by historians, although they may include snippets of primary source texts or images. But whether the material you are examining falls into primary (first-hand, time-of-event reporting) or secondary (analysis after-the-fact) catgories depends on your research topic. Always feel free to ask for help from the librarian or your instructor in determing the category your resource falls into.

For primary source collections, please see the primary source section of this course guide.

Most Useful

America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics

Also Useful

Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Approximately 1700 full-text e-books in the humanities.

ClasePeriodica
Search 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Dissertations and Theses Database
Dissertations and Theses Database includes digitized dissertations in a variety of subject areas including Art, Communications, Education, History, Linguistics, Literature, and Social Sciences.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
An essential bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.

Military & Government Collection
Provides full text for hundreds of military related periodicals and general interest magazines.

ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

Women's Studies International
Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

Chicago Citation Style

Chicago Citation Style

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Library Copies (Z253 .U69) (kept at Permanent Reserves) We now have the Manual online as well through the library catalog.

What's New in the 17th Edition

The Chicago Manual of Style is the stylistic and citator preference for most history researchers, but always check with your professor before proceeding on both citation style and which system. The Notes-Bibliography system is generally preferred in history publications, but there is also an Author-Date system. These systems use different formatting, so be sure which your professor prefers.

IMPORTANT! Recently, the University of Chicago Press issued a new edition for this style. Check your resources such as automated citation generators to make sure you are being given the latest information based on the 17th edition as not all sites have updated yet.

Chicago may be referred to as Turabian, after Kate Turabian, who wrote a manual for students for research, writing and citing sources based on the Chicago citation style. The current version is titled A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. The CSUSM library keeps a copy at the Research Help Desk at LB2369 .T8 2007 and a copy on permanent Reserves (Checkout Desk.)

Some additional helpful web sites:

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition (OWL at Purdue)

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for Government Documents From Bowdoin College, this guide uses the 15th edition as the 17th is not as comprehensive on government citations.

Legal Citations Using Chicago

For a summary of the Chicago style of citation for legal citations, please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed. Chapter 14, sections 269-280 for legal materials and sections 281-292 for US Government pubiications.

There are a number of in depth publications on legal citations.

  • Cornell University's "Introduction to Basic Legal Citation" is freely available on the internet.
  • "The Blue Book" addresses this type of citation in great depth and is considered the authority. We have the 2010 edition.
  • "The Maroon Book" by  the students at the University of Chicago Law School challenges the Blue Book rules and is not considered authoritative.

Keep in mind there are specific rules for providing the legislative or case number and you will need to use the published or 'formal' title, although there may be more popular common references.

The Library of Congress has provided a simple site with examples for referencing US Congressional documents "Citation Guide".

Immigration

HIST 430 Immigration Resources

as Primary sources are essential for history research in any topic. This page lists some sources that should be useful in research on immigration history.

You may also find primary sources noted in the secondary journal articles and books you find while researching your topic. If you are having trouble, always ask for help.

Databases

Newspaper databases (San Diego Union, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, etc.) offer summaries of government policy and actions as well as reflect public opinion during the time period you are researching.

Internet sources (just a sample as new collections are always being added)

Congress.gov provides access to legislative activity from 1973 to present

United States Census of the Population (highly detailed version and covers all census years) for demographics showing population growth and geographic shifts.

Historical Census of the United States ( to 1957, a highlight compliation, less detailed information)

Otay Mesa Detention Center Detainee Letters (from San Diego State University, letters in English and Spanish from immigrants from around the world)

Archive of Immigrant Voices

Immigration and Americanization 1880-1930

Women Immigrants

HIST 430 Women and Families

Women immigrants are frequently portrayed as sex slaves or in other victimized roles. Women are more likely to bring their children with them than male immigrants do which raises additional challenges in attempting to cross into another country. Their unique challenges and situations can be used for a research paper.

Knowing some background and historical material is helpful in learning about the arguments and people involved. Books or review articles on your movement will call out many of the possible aspects to choose from. These works will also provide you with additional search terms concerning events, people and ideas.

Articles

Women's Studies International
Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

GenderWatch
A repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.

America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.

Internet sources (just a sample)

Immigrant Women in the United States: A Portrait of Demographic Diversity (American Immigration Council)

Immigration as a Feminist Issue (NOW)

Family of Refugees and Aslyees (USCIS)

 

Farmworkers

HIST 430 Farmworkers



Agricultural workers fall into a special category of immigrant in US policies. They are welcomed by the agriculture industry for the cheap labor but suffer discriminatory and contradictory treatment. A research paper on this period could be on individuals or groups active in this topic or legal, social, political or humanitarian issues. An example is the United Farmworker Movement which not only agitated for better working conditions, but stronger legal status for immigrant workers. 

Knowing some background and historical material is helpful in learning about the arguments and people involved. Books or review articles on your immigration topic will illustrate many of the possible aspects to choose from. These works will also provide you with additional search terms concerning events, people and ideas.

Articles

Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, and can provide primary and secondary sources.

America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States

CQ Researcher
Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week from 1923 to present.

Internet sources (just a sample)

Congress.gov provides access to legislative activity from 1973 to present

United Farmworker Movement as an organization continues to exist and provides documents and historical sources

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project oral histories collected by UCSD

Bracero History Archive

 
 

 


 

Need Help?

Judith A. Downie

Special Collections and History Librarian
Judith A. Downie
jdownie@csusm.edu
760-750-4374 OR 760-750-4312 (Archives)
Office Location: 
KEL 5010
Office Hours: 
By Appointment

Feedback