You are here

GBST 300 Global Economy, Politics, and Society

GBST 300 What is the research assignment?

GBST 300 - What is the research assignment?

What's required:

Dr. Bozonelos's class requires a 12-page research assignment on the topic of human trafficking. If your group is covering one of the “types” of human trafficking you’ll be analyzing, you’ll be consulting a variety of different information sources that include:

  • Definition of the issue from global sources such as the UN Convention or an international non-governmental organization.
  • Global statistics that indicate how widespread human trafficking is across geographic regions, specific countries, etc.
  • International case studies from either a global organization that studies the work of several countries, or nationally-based organizations that do work within their own countries.
  • Case studies of national governments/citizenry and their work in your assigned area.
  • If your area focuses on the San Diego region, you will need to look at information from local organizations aimed at your assigned type (government or NGOs).

If your group is covering the "international responses" of human trafficking, you'll want to include"

  • Definition of the reponse from global sources such as the UN Convention or an international non-governmental organization.
  • A discussion of global attempts to prevent, protect, or prosecute (depending on your topic). You must include global statistics on how widespread the response is (is it better implemented in certain countries, regions, across regions, etc.)? Are there international conventions covering your response? Can you evaluate their success? Can you make any recommendations for improvement?
  • Are there global organizations aimed at your assigned response (IGOs and NGOs)? What work do these global organization do? Are their efforts global in nature, or do they only work in several countries? Do they work with national-based orgs that also do work within their country? The case study work must be comparative.
  • A discussion of U.S. attempts to prevent, protect, or prosecute (depending on your topic). Are there national organizations aimed at your assigned response? Can you evaluate their success? Can you make any recommendations for improvement? Are there national laws against trafficking? You should look at the United States (because many of the experts at the Town Hall will focus nationally and locally), but not solely. Consider case studies of national governments/citizenry and their work in your assigned area.
  • Local attempts to prevent, protect, or prosecute (depending on your topic). Are there local organizations aimed at your assigned response (government and NGOs)? Can you evaluate them? Are they successful or not? Why or why not? Can you make any recommendations for improvement?

In addition to the sources above, you must have at least five scholarly sources which can include journal articles or books. You may also consult news articles to supplement your research. 

While there isn’t a prescribed citation format, you must pick one (MLA, APA, etc.) and be consistent.

Please remember to always consult Dr. Bozonelos directly if you have specific questions about the research assignment.

 

GBST 300 Identify & Find Scholarly Articles

GBST 300 - Identifying Scholarly Articles

A scholarly article is how researchers (scholars) communicate the findings and analysis of their research. Scholarly articles:

  • Provide original research and analysis - these articles are based on studies or experiments, or analyze an artifact or event. Every scholarly article presents something new about the world we didn't know before.
  • Are written by scholars - scholars tend to hold PhDs, or other advanced degrees and are professors at universities.
  • Are published in peer-reviewed journals - These are generally accessed via library databases.
  • Might be hard to read - they act as the primary conversation between scholars about a field of study. Since they are written by scholars, for scholars, they contain specialized language that might be hard for the lay person to understand.

Credit: Allison Carr 

Distinguishing scholarly articles from non-scholarly sources (CSU Chico, Meriam Library)

TUTORIAL: How to find scholarly articles in the CSUSM library databases

 

 

 

 

Find Scholarly Articles (GBST)


Boolean searching in the databases

Image credit: Information Resource Center Blog

Tips on searching the databases

Here are some general tips on searching for articles for your report:

Tip Examples
Use keywords, not long search phrases

Instead of searching for "the impact of neoliberalism and globalization on the proliferation of human trafficking" break down your search into the main keywords:

neoliberalism, globalization, human trafficking

Use AND to combine different keywords neoliberalism AND human trafficking | globalization AND human trafficking
Use OR to combine similar keywords human trafficking OR modern-day slavery 
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together neoliberalism AND "debt bondage"
Look for ways to limit your search in the database You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publicationsubject 

 

 

Library Databases for Global Studies

Global Studies Databases

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
AnthroSource

Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
Campbell Collaboration

Systematic reviews on the effects of social interventions in the areas of education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development.

Report Problems
Full-text 2004 to present
Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1992 to current None
European Views of the Americas

<p>Index to materials published in Europe from the late 15th through mid-18th centuries concerning the New World.</p>

Report Problems
1493 to 1750
Factiva

Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
FedStats

Official statistical information from the federal government, including economic and population trends, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
GenderWatch

GenderWatch contains publications which focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women’s movement and the changes in gender roles.

Report Problems
Full-text 1970 to current All
GreenFILE

All aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1948 to current Most
Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1973 to current All
ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research

Download social science datasets for use with statistical software, such as SPSS.

Report Problems
Full-text 1992 to current All
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals.

Report Problems
Full-text 1936 - Current to current Most
Kanopy Video Library

Kanopy provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.

Report Problems
N/A current
NewsBank
    •  

NewsBank is a provider of several databases containing primary source documents, including current and historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications and more. This link provides access to all library databases provided by NewsBank, including America’s News (which contains current access to the San Diego Union-Tribune and several thousand other US newspapers), the Archive of Americana, a historical primary source and newspaper collection, the America’s Historical Newspapers collection, American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Report Problems
Full-text 1789 to Current Some
PAIS

An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current All
POPLINE

Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes abstracts from published and unpublished sources all over the world.

Report Problems
None 1827 to current Most
ProQuest Global Newsstream (formerly Newsstand)
    •  

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Report Problems
Full-text 1980 to current None
ProQuest - News & Newspapers

Search among ProQuest’s News & Newspapers databases

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current None
Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
Women's Studies International

Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current Most
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Google Scholar CSUSM

Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All

Internet Resources for Global Studies

ANTH 340 Internet resources

NGO Directories

Directory of Development Organizations

UNESCO Database of NGOs

World Organization of Non Governmental Organizations (WANGO)

Websites

Amnesty International International human rights NGO with systems of tracking human trafficking and slavery, as well as assistance programs

Centre for the Study of Globalisation and Regionalisation (CSGR) European-based organization dedicated to researching global and regional political economies

Forced Labor News (at NYTimes): News stories on forced labor from the New York Times

Human Rights Watch International organization dedicated to defending and protecting human rights

Human Trafficking News (at NYTimes): News stories on human trafficking from the New York Times

UNAIDS Works towards stopping new HIV infections, ensuring that everyone living with HIV has access to HIV treatment, protecting and promoting human rights and producing data for decision-making

United Nations Human Rights (Office of the High Commissioner) Works to promote and protect the human rights that are guaranteed under international law and stipulated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948

United Nations Action for Cooperation Against Trafficking in Persons Works to strategically and effectively combat trafficking in persons in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS) and beyond

UNICEF: This resource focuses on socioeconomic issues, particularly education and health, affecting children worldwide

World Health Organization: Health-based international organization serving all nations within the UN. This resource has information about global health initiatives as well as issues affecting individual countries

International Data

City Population

Country Statistical Yearbooks: An Alphabetical Index

Statistical Sites of the World Wide Web

United States Data

American FactFinder

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

San Diego Data

SANDAG - Demographics and other data

 

I

Citing Your Sources

GBST 300 - Citing Sources

Professor Bozonelos has indicated that you may choose any citation style that works best for you, but you must consistently use that format.

Here are some citation resources you may consult:

APA

MLA

Need Help?

Lalitha Nataraj

Librarian for American Indian Studies / Anthropology / Environmental Studies / Ethnic Studies / Global Studies / Political Science
Lalitha Nataraj
lnataraj@csusm.edu
760-750-4070
Office Location: 
KEL3427
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback