You are here

GBST 100: Introduction to Global Studies (Randerson)

GBST 100: What is the research assignment? (Randerson)

GBST 100: What is the research assignment? (Randerson)

Your final exam will be a creative, written project requiring you to integrate course readings and lectures. This research assignment will help you assess your understanding of diverse cultures and societies as they relate to globalization, world affairs, the global economy, politics, art, religion, race, society, etc.

 

Your final paper is due by 5pm on Tuesday, December 4, in Turnitin.

Your paper must include:

1) An introduction to your paper, including the answer to the following question: From all the chapters in the textbook, why did you choose this specific one?

2) A brief description of the. main theories or concepts that are portrayed in your selected chaper, which relate to globalization, global cultures, politics and economics, local attitudes, customs and industries, current trends, international research, etc.

3) A discussion of how you believe the importance of the topicwill evolve in the field of global studies in the future. In addition, you can briefly explain how this topic resonates with your experience living in our U.S. American society and/or abroad.

4) A conclusion to your paper, including how this topic, and this Introduction to Global Studies course, has contributed to your understanding of global studies. Moreover, in what ways can this particular topic that you researched, and our course, help you succeed in your ideal career?

Remember to provide reasons to explain your opinions and back up your views with facts or evidence from at least three outside sources, in addition to our textbook.

 

Please note: These are not the full guidelines for this final assignment. Please read the full guidelines for the assignment, which are posted in Cougar Courses.

 

 

 

GBST 100: Identify and find a scholarly article?

GBST 100 Identify a scholarly article

A scholarly article is how researchers (scholars) communicate the findings and analysis of their research. Scholarly articles:

  • Provide original research and analysis - these articles are based on studies or experiments, or analyze an artifact or event. Every scholarly article presents something new about the world we didn't know before.
  • Are written by scholars - scholars tend to hold PhDs, or other advanced degrees and are professors at universities.
  • Are published in peer-reviewed journals - These are generally accessed via library databases.
  • Might be hard to read - they act as the primary conversation between scholars about a field of study. Since they are written by scholars, for scholars, they contain specialized language that might be hard for the lay person to understand.

Credit: Allison Carr

WATCH: What is a scholarly article?

TUTORIAL: Find a scholarly article using CSUSM library databases

Distinguishing scholarly articles from non-scholarly sources (CSU Chico, Meriam Library)

GBST 100 Find a scholarly article

Tips on searching the databases

Here are some general tips on searching for articles for your report:

Tip Examples
Use keywords, not long search phrases

Instead of searching for "how is globalization impacting indigenous culture protection" break down your search into the main keywords:

globalization, indigenous culture 

Use AND to combine different keywords globalization AND indigenous culture 
Use OR to combine similar keywords globalization OR economic or cultural | preservation OR protection OR conservation
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together globalization AND "cultural appropriation" AND indigenous culture
Look for ways to limit your search in the database You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publicationsubject 

 

Use the library databases for Global Studies research

Global Studies Databases

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
AnthroSource

Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
Campbell Collaboration

Systematic reviews on the effects of social interventions in the areas of education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development.

Report Problems
Full-text 2004 to present
Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1992 to current None
European Views of the Americas

<p>Index to materials published in Europe from the late 15th through mid-18th centuries concerning the New World.</p>

Report Problems
1493 to 1750
Factiva

Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.

Report Problems
Full-text 1975 to current Some
FedStats

Official statistical information from the federal government, including economic and population trends, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
GenderWatch

GenderWatch contains publications which focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women’s movement and the changes in gender roles.

Report Problems
Full-text 1970 to current All
GreenFILE

All aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1948 to current Most
Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1973 to current All
ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research

Download social science datasets for use with statistical software, such as SPSS.

Report Problems
Full-text 1992 to current All
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals.

Report Problems
Full-text 1936 - Current to current Most
Kanopy Video Library

Kanopy provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.

Report Problems
N/A current
NewsBank
    •  

NewsBank is a provider of several databases containing primary source documents, including current and historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications and more. This link provides access to all library databases provided by NewsBank, including America’s News (which contains current access to the San Diego Union-Tribune and several thousand other US newspapers), the Archive of Americana, a historical primary source and newspaper collection, the America’s Historical Newspapers collection, American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Report Problems
Full-text 1789 to Current Some
PAIS

An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current All
POPLINE

Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes abstracts from published and unpublished sources all over the world.

Report Problems
None 1827 to current Most
ProQuest Global Newsstream (formerly Newsstand)
    •  

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Report Problems
Full-text 1980 to current None
ProQuest - News & Newspapers

Search among ProQuest’s News & Newspapers databases

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1985 to current None
Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1963 to current All
Women's Studies International

Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1972 to current Most
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
Academic Search Premier

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current Most
Google Scholar CSUSM

Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current to current All

Citing Your Sources

Need Help?

Lalitha Nataraj

Librarian for American Indian Studies / Anthropology / Environmental Studies / Ethnic Studies / Global Studies / Political Science
Lalitha Nataraj
lnataraj@csusm.edu
760-750-4070
Office Location: 
KEL3427
Office Hours: 
By appointment

Feedback