Doing Business in Other Countries
Recommended Sources for Doing Business in .... guides
GETTING STARTED --- Country Briefings
GlobalEDGE International Business -- START HERE
Covers free resources and links to research topics, countries, states, industries, and statistical tools. Created by Michigan State University, Broad College of Business.
Quick Links, especially:
- Country Commercial Guide
- BBC--Country Profile--verview, Facts, Leaders, Historial Timeline and of course latest news
- Left Nav Bar for detailed content on each country
Export.gov GBM 425
Country Commercial Guides (Doing business in ....) GBM 425
Multilateral Development Bank Reports
Industry / Regional Reports
Euromonitor Passport --GBM 425
Economies, Finance, and Trade
Details by category including FDI and other indicators by Country.
Analysis and Statistics by category and industry
Related Trade Database (US Census)
Exports: "A related-party export transaction is one between a U.S. exporter and a foreign consignee, where either party owns, directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the other party."
U.S. International Trade Statistics by NAICS and country
Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to 90 countries. REF HF5549.5.E45 C73 2004 2 vol.
This title is getting a bit dated but has practical relocation info.
Business details, directories,
USA Trade Online For the advanced user. Import / export stats by commodity, country, state and port. In depth -- use to determine commodity volumn by country and rankings.
"A dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data" (Source: About USA Trade Online). Sign-in required.
Quick Start guide on the USA Trade Online
Country Risk Reports and Indicators
Doing Business: Benchmarking Business Regulations (World Bank)
Practical info on doing business in a selected country.
Compare and calculate business risk in over 175 countries. Topics cover all aspects of starting and operating businesses in the selected countries. Includes business law library in home language that include labor laws, tax and tariffs. Yearly World Bank Doing Business In ... reports available for download.
Recommended for GBM 425 and BA 616 view links for law library and download country report, some are more complete than others.
NationMaster GBM 425
Quickly compare two countries across categories
World Bank Open Data Browse by Country and Indicator
Look for Indicator -- Financial
IMF Data.org International Monetary Fund.
International financial statistics.
Dig deeper, latest news and analysis
Business Source Premier (Library database) GBM 425
Seach: Doing business in ........ to find articles on many countries.
Europa (The European Union Online)
Find news, activities, official documents and information sources including statistics.
Global Development Finance / World Bank.
Global Economic Prospects / World Bank.
These two flagship publications from the World Bank serve to track, record and forecast financial capital and economic forces for emerging countries.
International Country Statistics on the Web
Lists statistical agencies for each country. Through a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Web Site.
OECD - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
OECD Statistics Portal
Statistics arranged by topic and member country. Some topics are globalisation, Information and Communication Technology, Labor, Purchasing power.
OECD Stats by Theme
Comprehensive list of OECD statistical data collection programmes classified by theme.
OECD Data portal
Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: Charts, maps, tables, etc.
Described as a business-to-business directory for European business establishments. Search by product, service, company name, the directory returns company name, address, email, and maps and catalogs.
ProMexico Doing business in Mexico resources
China Business Research Guide
Best source for business guides to China. Compiled by University of Penn librarians.
Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.
Company directories provide individual and competitor details for:
- Address and other contacts
- Key personnel
- Revenue and Sales
- Employee size
- NAIC / SIC numbers
Databases by Subject -- Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases).
Searching databases for private companies, non-profits, schools and other other organizations may require multiple trys in different sources.
ReferenceUSA US private and public businesses, some nonprofits includes sales and employee numbers. Executive contact info.
How to Find Franchises in ReferenceUSA GBM 425
For your Final GBM 425 Falla 2019 assignment find a franchise in ReferenceUSA use these filters to limit to select according to your assignment instructions
1. Advanced Search -- Keyword: Franchise
2. Headquarters --- Pick several states
3. Sales --- Over 1 Billion or figure adequate to expand oversees
RefUSA Learning Center ** Quick Training material, videos, and guides** How to search for businesses, competitors, suppliers, jobs and internships, general consumer research.
Step By Step Guide to RefUSA [Does not work waiting for software update.] Company & Competitor search *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***
How to guides for all things ReferenceUSA
Addition options for company searches
Factiva Public company profiles.
Choose the Companies tab across the top first to find Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.
CQ FD Disclosure Conference Calls: C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports.
To access: Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source: Disclosure Reports
Public and some larger companies, Short competitor list and executives.
Business Source Premier Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.
Megent Online BUS 444
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US. Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors. Financial analysis from annual report data and research firms
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report
Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check)
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc.
California Business Entitites Search for existing companies or file for new company name
Non-profit and charitable resource page.
Recommended: Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.
News articles on the web and library subscriptions. Use .gov .org
INDUSTRY DATA Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
Global Industry Reports
Industry Overview Reports
Industry Reports prepared by expert analysts in this premium content. Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry. Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code.
IBISWorld Good place to start:
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain. Some Global and International Reports
First Research (Mergent Intellect): (BUS 302 see Call Prep questions!)
Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels. Social Media feed updates on business and industry.
Mergent Online Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports.
Use for major industries only, global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.
ABI Inform / Complete MKTG 448
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and country reports.
- BMI Country Industry Reports
- BMI Global Oil Market Reports
- BMI Industry Insight Reports
- BMI Risk Reports
Hospitality --- BRASS Business Librarian recommendations for researching the hospitality industry.
Local Industry Analysis
San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports (Website)
"San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation (EDC) regularly releases and sponsors research that provides a baseline of industry data to encourage and support economic investment. EDC also conducts studies on key industries and identify actions needed to spur growth in the region." (Source: San Diego Regional EDC).
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652 3rd Floor Reference [Print]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.
NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library Electronic version of Industry Surveys
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis. Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.
San Diego Association of Governments [SANDAG] (Website)
SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision-making for the San Diego
region. Resources such as Demographics and other data and publications will
be of interest.
Market Research Reports
Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports Detailed reporting. GBM 425 and SE MARKETING PROJECTS
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.
Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis.
Bizminer Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis. 9000 industries by sales. Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code. Update 6/18: Now shows Z-scores for credit strength and financial viability.
Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports. The source is often government and other agencies.
Books on Industry in the library.
Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.
Global Business News
Business News: Stay informed
Wall Street Journal, Economist, San Diego Union Tribune, San Diego Business Journal GBM 425, MGMT 474
The library has top business news and journals electronically and in print.
For electronic access always LOGIN to the library home page for full access.
Wall Street Journal Recommended Via FACTIVA Full text via library signin
Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LA Times, Washington Post and othersWall Street Journal and other top national papers on most recent two weeks
- NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LA Times, Washington Post and others
- SEARCH tip Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
Wall Street Journal To search specific articles in ABI Inform or FACTIVA
The Economist Electronic via Proquest ABI Inform. Caution the Free Economist on the web only gives limited content.
San Diego Union Tribune Electronic via Newsbank
San Diego Union Tribune Print copy Kellogg Library 3rd Fl behind Research Help Desk. Please read in the area rather then take to other floors.
San Diego Business Journal Electronic via Proquest ABI Inform
Also available via FACTIVA search,
San Diego Business Journal Print copy Kellogg Library 3rd Floor behind Research Help Desk. Please read in the area rathen then take to other floors.
Professional analysis of case studies requires more than these recommended sources! In addition to these recommended business news sources, use the library OneSearch on the Home Page of the library to look across all library material. Expect to narrow and limit your results.
Top Premium Subscription Business News Sources
ABI Inform Complete (Proquest)
Excellent studies, reports, and trade and industry news.
- Change sort order to Newest Date first
- Narrow by Subject (more options)
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review (HBR selected not all).
Excellent for international and major business news. (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union-Tribune)
- Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
- Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LA Times, Washington Post and others
Business News Publications
Newsbank: America's News
Full text of major news sources including the Los Angeles Times and the San Diego Union-Tribune, and Press Enterprise
San Diego Union Tribune Link here and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
San Diego Business Journal Proquest ABI Inform and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
Press Enterprise Riverside County Newsbank
Bloomberg BusinessWeek Full text through Business Sources Premier
Bloomberg Tip! Search within this publication top right
The Economist (online) Full text link. [via Proquest ABI Inform] Free Economist gives only limited content
Financial Times (London) ABI Inform (Proquest) Last month not available.
Harvard Business Review Ebsco - Business Source Premier -- Full text of Harvard business review.
- Some full text not available electronically. See paper edition HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
- Case studies are not available in this subscription
Trade and Professional Associations -- Industry Trending News
Look to trade association pages on the free web. Many industry and news reports will identify them. Some information is available free, but most are only available to members. Get around this by searching the association name for news reports in the above databases. Examples of trade and professional associations are the National Restaurant Association; American Library Association.
Find associations in the industry reports recommended here, such as First Research. Search on the web using .org Find references to associations in news article
International Target Market
Target Market (International)
Passport Euromonitor (csusm login)
Passport is an premium international consumer market database. It has statistics and analysis on 164 countries.
Consumer Trends and Lifestyles
Income and Expenditures
Population and Homes
Technology, Communications and Media
Choose multiple countries or trading blocks to compare.
Other resouces for products and markets
USA Trade Online (requires registration) Detailed import / export stats by port.
*****Great resource for Foreign Marketing Intelligence***
Go to the Country Commercial Guides (Doing Business in)
Import / Export
Use this guide to get practical information on import, export, products, suppliers, products, consumers, industries and tax and tariff info.
Export.gov for education on how to export
San Diego International Trade Resources.
Good instructions and video clips on how to export and set up a business.
Part A: Export Compliance and Regulations including Taxes and Tariffs, what's a freight forwarder, pro forma invoice, foreign trade zones
Part B: Reporting Electronic Export Info, how to classify your commodity.
Part C: Using Trade Data for Export Planning and Strategy
Parct D: Trade Agreements
Market Research, Products, Consumers etc
Euromonitor Passport CSUSM only GBM 425
Comparative statistics on consumer product and services in major countries. Essays on market potential in countries.
Mergent Online provides information on industries in large geographic areas. Select Industry Analysis with industry & country.
International Trade Data by Import / Export
United States International Trade Administration
Industry, Country, State, Port reports. Top level data on imports and exports. Did you know San Diego ranks 20th in port exports?
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
Provides export/import data on commodities between two countries. Search by commodity name or harmonized codes.
USA TradeOnline. GBM 425 Follow instructions on the Practice Sheet for Kellogg Library Access
Detailed stats! Import / Export commodity data between US and other countries. Port level data! Search by commodity, commodity ranking, and times series, countries and trade groups.
U.S. Department of State
The Business Center web site has resources to help U.S. business in foreign countries. The Countries and Regions web site has country background reports. Embassy listings for each country include resources on doing business in that country including Country Commercial Guides.
U. S. International Trade Administration
News, statistics, Export Assistance.
Contains US Import Data analysis. Free registration required.
Doing Business ... Import / Export Guidance, Tax, Tariff and
BuyUSA.gov GBM 425
Guidance for import and export by country.
Export Inport Bank of the United States
Export credit agency and financing.
Help with Export Barriers
Office of the United States Trade Representative
US. State Dept
US Export Controls
UK and Ireland (firm information)
USA Trade Online (Free trial registration)
For Latin America
California International Trade Programs some useful export assistance programs.
Interactive web forms guide you in researching a company, a country, and industry, and currency rates.
Alibaba World wide access to wholesale product sellers and buyers. Free registration required.
Kompass Worldwide B to B supplier network
International directory of import/export companies with short company descriptions, contact information, and products and services. Some with web links to company sites.
Directory of United States Importers. REF HF3012 .D54
Published by Commonwealth Business Media and PIERS. The directory is arranged by company name, product (name and SIC), state, trade commissions, embassy and consulate, foreign trade zones, ports, and financial services.
Directory of United States Exporters. REF HF 3011 .D63
Published by Commonwealth Business Media and PIERS. The directory is arranged by company name, product (name and SIC), state, trade commissions, embassy and consulate, foreign trade zones, ports, and financial services.
Cost to Export (US$ per container) World Bank Comparative fees associated with exporting or importing a container
San Diego World Trade Center
The SDWTC is an international business service organization licensed by the World Trade Center Association in New York. Members and clients of the SDWTC are primarily small, medium sized businesses or organizations committed to world trade.
Harmonized Codes, Tariffs, Shipping and Logistics
To ship oversees you first need, to know if the United States has trade relations with that country, what the agreement is, agreements are based on type of product and country agreements.
TRADE AGREEMENT OR TARIFFS
Export.customsinfo.com GLOBAL TARIFFS Tariff and Import Fees in another country. (Free registration). Iinstruction sheet distributed in class.
Finding your Tariff Rate:
Read the short introduction on tariffs and other taxes and fees. This article has a list of Tariff Schedules for other countries.
Country Commerical Guides will include some general information on trariff rates. Good if US has Free Trade Agreement with the importing country. For others you must use the recommended sources below to find your HS code and then find the trariff schedules for the importing country. Some are recommended below.
>>> GBM 425: Use the inclass activity sheet distributed in class to find your HS Product Code and calculate tariffs and taxes for your target export country.
1. FIND Harmonized Code (HS code) for your product
The code is used to identify the product on all documents, and is used to find the tariff for any importing country.
a) HTS Search
To find your code you may need to try different terms. (eyeglasses are called spectables, toothpaste is oral paste).
Other Recommended Tariff Seaches:
1. FTA Tariff Tool. FREE TRADE AGREEMENT COUNTRIES The 20 countries free trade agreements with the United States.
>> Use the Tariff Worksheet distributed in class to find your tariff.
2. Customs Info Database: Free with registration. Will need 6 digit HS code.
a) Type in your HS six digit code.
b) Tariff Search Criteria: Country to import to: ....
c) Country of Origin (United States) and Country of Shipment (United States)
d) Calcuate: Returns Tariff Treatment, Tax and regulations
3. Dutycalculator.com (limited free searches)
Enter your product and import country. Calculate product and country import duties.
Shipping Logistics and Supply Chain
Journal of Commerce website
International trade news on topics in commercial transportation and supply chain. Special Topics, Ports, Sailings, Trucking, Logistics, Rail etc.
Journal of Commerce full text (Proquest)
Get the full text of the articles referenced above. All aspects of commercial transport including economic, trade agreements, sustainability
World Freight Rates
Enter originating port, destination port, container size and value. GBM 425
Citing your paper in APA
Common Business Citation Styles
Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links
How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.
Recommended Citation Generators
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.
KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval
How to find a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name, http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic
Articles and News
Wilmot, S. (2019). Electric Cars Have a Profit Problem --- Battery-powered vehicles are better for Wall Street than Detroit manufacturers. Wall Street Journal, pp. Wall Street Journal, 2019-05-14.
Articles, Scholarly, peer review
Sabir, S., Rafique, A., & Abbas, K. (2019). Institutions and FDI: Evidence from developed and developing countries. Financial Innovation, 5(1), 1-20.
Chapter in a book:
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.
E-book, no DOI:
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://homeurlonly.htm
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.
Examples: Entries in library databases:
ViaSat Inc. (n.d.). Retrieved from EbscoHost Business Source Premier.
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website http://www.qualcomm.com/investor/index.html
Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).
Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/ (courtesy of Owl at Purdue)
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved January 21, 2010 from the World Wide Web:
Data Set (user created):
For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
SimplyAnalytics (2008). Give your data set a name in italics. Available from SimplyAnalytics
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.
Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.
Encyclopedia, No author:
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.
Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.
Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.
Legal Citation Formats
How to cite legal citations. Use the Cornell University Law School, Introduction to Basic Legal Citation.
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.
Steuer, D. (2010). Section 2: Effects of economic downturn. 2010 county of San Diego economic roundtable. Retrieved January 21, 2010 from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA9mzYwbUc8
Personal Communication (interview)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Your professor may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.
Example: (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.
REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA