Environmental Studies

You are here

Start Here

Books | eBooks | More

Library Catalog Search (general template)

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

  1. Search the Library Catalog (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)
                                                      OR
  2. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
     
    • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password

 

Environmental Studies Subject headings JSO 9/2/16

Environmental Studies Books, eBooks and More (JSO 8/16)

Databases | Journals | Articles

Environmental Studies Databases

Environmental Studies is interdisciplinary, you may also want to visit databases lists for:

Anthropology, Biology, ChemistryEconomicsGeography, Global Studies, History, Sociology

 

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
GreenFILE/Academic Search Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It current Most
ScienceDirect

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

Report Problems
Full-text 1995 to current Most
Web of Science

Contains citation Idexes for Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Book Citations from 2004 to present. Select "Web of Science Core Collection" to conduct cited reference search.

Report Problems
Links to full-text via Get-It 1975 to current All
Agricola

The authoritative database on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines; includes abstracts for books & journals.

Report Problems
Some full-text 1500 to current Most
Biological Abstracts

A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.

Report Problems
Some full-text; plus links to full-text via Get-It 1969 to current Most
BioOne

A collection of about 100 journals in the biosciences. All journals are also searchable via Biological Abstracts. NOTE: Full-text available only for BioOne.1 and abstracts for other collections.

Report Problems
Some full-text 2000 to current All
CQ Researcher

Explores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Report Problems
Full-text 1991 to current None
FedStats

Official statistical information from the federal government, including economic and population trends, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production.

Report Problems
Full-text current to current All
Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
JSTOR

Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.

Report Problems
Full-text 1838 to most recent five years Most
WestlawNext Campus Research

This is a comprehensive database for news, business, and law-related information has been designed for students. It brings together news databases arranged geographically and topically; newswires as well as business, trade, and professional journals and publications; and law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

Report Problems
Full-text 1789 to current Some

Websites | Tools

Classes

ENVS 210 Research Methods

Environment Studies ENVS 210 Research Methods

Finding and using scholarly articles

Is it scholarly?   
1. Written by a professor with an academic or expert institution
2. Research question 
3. Literature review 
4. Methodology
5. Discussion
6. Conclusion
7 Study limitation
8 Long list of references

Scholar.google.com

Use the tools feature to limit by year
GET IT to link to libary articles 

Environmental Studies Databases list

OneSearch from Library Home page

GreenFile Academic Search

Reading and extracting relevant info from research articles

Use the reading critically guide to decide if it fits, and extract relevent information

Additonal Seach Tips:

1. Advanced Google

2. Scholar.google.com   Settings > Library > add CSUSM

 

 

 

Need Help?

Judith Opdahl

Instruction and Reference Librarian
jopdahl@csusm.edu
760-750-4360
Office Location: 
KEL 5010
Office Hours: 
By appointment

 

 


Feedback
Contact Info