Education Articles & Books
Our databases house thousands of top academic, scholarly journals in the field. In order to find research articles within those journals, you need to search these databases. You will need your student id and password to access these databases from home. Remember, your student id and password are what you use to log in to Cougar Courses and your email account:
ERIC: A national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education which provides access to both journal articles and documents (such as national education reports) on education-related issues.
PsycINFO: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering academic and empirical research in psychology.
Sociological Abstracts: Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
JSTOR: Contains scholarly journal articles in sociology, history, education, political science, and much more (no full-text for the latest 5 years)
Academic Search Premier: Offers scholarly and general information in nearly every area of academic study including, including education and many more.
Google Scholar: Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
Remember, if CSUSM does not own the article you need, please use Interlibrary Loan to request the article from another library. Once received, the article will be emailed directly to your CSUSM email account (**allow 1-10 business days for delivery**).
Books are a great place to start your research journey because they provide general and historical background information on your topic. Below is a list of books by "keywork" and "subject headings" that are related to topics in Education. To find other books related to Education in our library, use our Library Catalog.
- Children with Disabilities -- Education -- United States
- Common Core
- Curriculum-Based Assessment
- Education, Bilingual -- United States
- Education -- Research -- Methodology
- Educational Evaluation
- Juvenile Literature
- Language Arts
- Mathematics -- Study & Teaching
- Next Generation Science Standards (Education)
- Science -- Study and teaching -- Standards -- United States
- Social sciences -- Study and teaching
- Special Education -- United States
Books in Other Libraries:
CSU+: Browse and request books from other CSU libraries, click on the tab that says "CSU+" (ships within 2-5 business days)
Worldcat: Browse and check out books from libraries all over the country (ships within 1-10 business days)
A literature review is not research, it is a review of the research that has been done on your topic. A literature review is NOT just a summary, but a conceptually organized synthesis of the results of your search. It must
- organize information and relate it to the thesis or research question you are developing
- synthesize and critically analyze the results comparing and contrasting their findings
- identify controversy and themes that appear in the literature
A literature review is a piece of discursive prose, not a list describing or summarizing one piece of literature after another. It's usually a bad sign to see every paragraph beginning with the name of a researcher. Instead, organize the literature review into sections that present themes or identify trends, including relevant theory. You are not trying to list all the material published, but to synthesize and evaluate it according to the guiding concept of your thesis or research question. (From Univ. of Toronto)
Check out these sites for more help understanding literature reviews
- How to ... Write a Literature Review, UC Santa Cruz Library
- The Literature Review: A few tips on conducting it, University of Toronto
- How to do a Literature Review, North Carolina A&T State University
Tips on conducting research for a literature review
- Use bibliographies and reference pages of articles to direct your research. You may start to see some trends with the people who are writing about your topic. Check the bibliography for more articles about your topic.
- Use the authors who you have found to be writing on your topic as starting points. Look for additional articles, and rebuttals, retractions or responses to their research
Use this chart to track articles you read for your literature review:
Are you studying for the CBEST or CSET this year? Do you need to know what the California Content Standards are for your discipline? Would you like to know what the teacher credential requirements are in California?
Teacher Certification Requirements in All Fifty States located on the 4th floor LB 1771 .T43
Make sure to take a look at all the Education materials in our Reference area (3rd floor of the Kellogg Library), starting in the L's.
- Accountability Progress Reporting: Reports both the state Academic Performance Index (API) and the federal Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and Program Improvement (PI) information.
- Bureau of Educational & Cultural Affairs: Provides information on various study abroad/educational exchange programs.
- California Department of Education: Information on curriculum & instruction, testing & accountability, data sets, news, and professional learning can be found on this page.
- California School Directory: This page provides detailed contact information for public schools, private schools, districts and county offices within the state.
- California State Board of Education Content Standards: Provides information on standards (including California Common Core State Standards) and frameworks that students should acquire at each grade level.
- Common Core State Standards: This page gives detailed information regarding the common core state standards initiative.
- CSUSM Library Government Documents: This page can help you find government documents pertaining to Education that are housed both here in our library and online.
- Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS): The K-12 science content standards
- No Child Left Behind (2001): The complete NCLB Act can be found on this page, including Obama's Blueprint for Reform: The Reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education (2010).
- Race to the Top: Provides information regarding President Obama's Race to the Top initiative.
- Recommended Juvenile Literature: A national database that provides pre-k thru 12 literature recommendations as well as a list of literature resources.
- San Diego County Office of Education: This website provides a variety of services and information regarding the various school districts, charter schools, and community colleges throughout San Diego County.
- San Diego County Unified School District: Provides information and news regarding the schools in this district for parents, students, and the community.
- United States Census Bureau: This is a page provided by the United States government and provides various typs of data sets, statistics, news and more.
- U.S. Department of Education: The U.S. Department of Education's page will guide you to various national educational laws, data sets, news, and much more.
- USA.gov: Provides accessible government information and services to the general public.
- American Memory Project: Sponsored by the Library of Congress, this site offers a variety of history lesson plans and teacher resources.
- Illuminations: Sponsored by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, this site offers a variety of mathematical lesson plans and teacher resources.
- Figure This!- Download and print math challenges.
- HotChalk Lesson Plans: This is a site that hosts lesson plans for teachers/by teachers.
- International Education and Resource Network (iEARN) enables teachers to collaborate on projects via the Internet that "both enhance learning and make a difference in the world."
- Lesson Planet is a lesson plan search engine for teachers that provides teacher-reviewed online resources including more than 150,000 online lesson plans and 75,000 online worksheets.
- National Library of Virtual Manipulatives - Interactive, web-based tutorials
- North Coastal Consortium for Special Education - "A Special Education Local Planning Area (SELPA) that is composed of 14 school districts in the North County.
- SpellingCity - Free site that makes learning to spell fun!
- Time4Writing - provides a series of 8-week, teacher-led courses for elementary, middle school and high school students.
Many websites have compiled lists of multicultural lesson plans and resources, like the Virtual Middle School Library, and the Multicultural Pavilion's Resources and Dialogues for Equity in Education.
Other Useful Websites
- Teacher.org - free site that helps you become an educator in California
Award Winning Children's Books
Please see the American Library Association for Library Service to Children for a more detailed listing:
- American Indian Youth Literature Award
Honors the very best authors and illustrations by and about American Indians.
- Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
Based on literary & artistic merit, recognizes individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage. Click here to view past winners.
- Caldecott Medal
Honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Click here to view past winners.
- California Young Reader Medal Award
California children have nominated, read, and voted for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.
- Coretta Scott King Award
Awarded to African American authors and illustrators of children's books that promotes understanding and appreciation of a pluristic society. Click here to view past winners.
- Geisel Medal
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished beginning reader books of American children’s literature. Click here to view past winners.
- Newbery Medal
Honors the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Click here to view past winners.
- (Pura) Belpré Medal
Honors a Latino/Latina children's author & illustrator whose work celebrates Latino culture. Click here to view past winners.
- Sibert Informational Book Medal
Honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational children's book. Click here to view past winners.
- Children's Legacy Award Winners
Honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made a lasting contribution to literature for children. Click here to view past winners.
Virginia Hansen Curriculum Room
The Virginia Hansen Curriculum Room houses materials that can be used in the classroom as teaching aids. Items such as puppets, manipulatives, kits and much more are ready for checkout.
Below is a list of subjects related to topics in teaching and instructional materials. To find more items in our curriculum library use our Library Catalog.
*A collection of children's books is located just outside the Virginia Hansen Curriculum Room (KEL 5106) in the JUV section up on the 5th floor of the Kellogg Library.
The Barahona Collection, located on the 5th floor of the Kellogg Library, houses thousands of books in Spanish for children and teens. Thanks to the generous donation of the Sulpizio family, the collection was named to honor the memory of Flor and Francisco Barahona.
For information regarding the Barahona Collection please call Lalitha Nataraj (760) 750-4070 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Use the search box below to view records of materials in the Barahona collection.
APA Citation Help
Education Dissertation, Project, & Thesis
Ready to submit your dissertation, project, or thesis? Please read and follow the Guidelines very carefully. If you are in the Joint Doctoral Program and are ready to submit your dissertation, please read these JDP Submission Guidelines instead.
Still have questions about submitting?
Contact: Carmen Mitchell, Scholarly Communication Librarian
Office Location: KEL 3307