Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Philosophy Ebooks – CSUSM Library
A Modern Formal Logic Primer by Dr. Paul Teller at UC Davis, Volume I presents sentence logic. Volume II, Part 1 lays out predicate logic; Part 2 introduces metatheory
Open Textbook Collections
- UC Press E-Book Collection
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
- Open Culture Meta Collection
- Open Textbook Library
- Cool 4 Ed
- Ebooks Directory
Searchable by keyword or topic.
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world, including many of the great philosophy texts.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers thousands of free ebooks. Books can be searched by title or by category.
- Open Library searches a variety of sources for print and online books. Many ebooks are freely available for online reading or download.
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Some good channels:
- Videos from the Stanford Humanities Center
- TED Talks – Faith / Feminism / God / Humanity / Love / Morality / Peace / Philosophy / Religion / Self / Social Change / Society / Suicide / World Cultures
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on Philosophy and related topics.
- Khan Academy
- Lecture videos from 1-30 minutes in length
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Select “Books & More” tab and use these limits: Full Text Available Online and Video.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals – search Open access journal titles
Providing online courses and guides for students to access and learn for their own enjoyment and educational purposes.
Course videos and related support materials.
- OER Commons
Searchable by discipline and academic level, this site provides a broad range of instructional materials, including texts, images, videos, and more.
- Merlot – Philosophy
Merlot (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a compilation of freely available resources for use in higher education, hosted by the California State Universities.
- Philosophy courses and lectures, via Open Culture list of free online courses
Other Open Educational Resources
Other CSUSM Library Resources
More information about finding and using library resources can be found on the Philosophy Research Guide.