CALM Native Studies

You are here

Ebooks in the Library

CALM Social Sciences - Native Studies Ebooks in the Library

Search for ebooks with your keywords related to Native Studies (e.g. tribe or reservation name, historical event, political issue).

  • Go to the University Library homepage
  • Choose “Books & More”
  • Enter keywords and search
  • Limit by “Full Text Online” and “Books”

Most of our ebooks have multi-user access which means students can access the book simultaneously from different computers.

Media in the Library

CALM Social Sciences - Native Studies Media in the Library

Put DVDs and other media items on reserve, or use our “Video on Demand” service so students can watch online through your Cougar Courses. Complete the Media Faculty Request Form as soon as you know what films you’re using for your classes.

Need more multimedia clips? Try YouTube and TED Talks, or add “Creative Commons” to your Google searches to find results that are specifically labeled for re-use.

Journal Articles

CALM Social Sciences - Native Studies Journal Articles

Articles from our Anthropology databases can be great for required or supplemental readings.

Just be sure to direct students to the article by the permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course.

This will ensure two things 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions.) Please ask Yvonne if you are unsure of how to find the permalink.

Open Courseware

CALM Social Sciences - Native Studies Open Courseware

  • MIT Open Courseware
    MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Search for Native Studies related lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
  • Kahn Academy
    Use the keyword search function to discover the variety of materials on Native Studies.

  • OER Commons
    Searchable by discipline and academic level. Try searching for “Native Studies” and related keywords for instructional materials, texts, images, videos, primary sources, and more.

And more…

CALM Social Sciences - Native Studies And more…

  • American Memory
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
  • World Images
    The World Images database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project and contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. The images can be located using many search techniques on the left hand toolbar, from QuickSearch to Advanced and ADA Searches.

Suggestions


Feedback
Contact Info