Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Math Ebooks – CSUSM Library (optional: update after June 30, 2017)
Open Textbook Collections
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Some good channels:
- Tip: try searching YouTube by the title of your favorite journal publication to see if that journal also produces a YouTube channel.
- Collection of videos and lecture notes from the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS)
- TED Talks – Data / Math / Statistics
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on mathematics and related topics.
- Khan Academy
- lecture videos from 1-30 minutes in length
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Try changing up keywords based on your specific interest/topic. Limits used: Full Text Available Online and Audio Visual.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our mathematics databases for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course. This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).
This page provides examples illustrating how to find permalinks in the Library’s databases.
Please contact your librarian if you are still unsure of how to find the permalink.
- MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
- The Open Learning Initiative (OLI)
You can access course materials at no cost to the student or to you the instructor. Students work at their own pace, and can review modules before exams. Requires free registration.
- MIT Open Courseware
An extensive number of mathematics courses for undergraduates.
- Saylor Foundation
This resource provides course learning outcomes, mathematics curriculum, and lecture videos embedded in the site. You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you can apply to your course.
Other CSUSM Library Resources