CALM Education

You are here

Ebooks in the Library

CALM Education - Ebooks in the Library

The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
  1. Go to the University Library homepage
  2. Choose “Books and More”
  3. Enter keywords and search
  4. Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
  5. Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media

Education Ebooks – CSUSM Library

Open Textbooks

CALM Education - Open Textbooks

  • Teaching in a Digital Age (2017) by A.W. (Tony) Bates | Merlot II
    • “The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we teach, use technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided, while understanding that every subject is different, and every instructor has something unique and special to bring to their teaching.The book enables teachers and instructors to help students develop the knowledge and skills they will need in a digital age: not so much the IT skills, but the thinking and attitudes to learning that will bring them success.” (Source: Merlot II)
       
  • Introduction to Piaget: The Father of Pedagogy (2013) by Rick Lumadue, PhD and Rusty Waller, PhD | Merlot II
    • “This is the first volume in a series on Andragogy and Pedagogy. Introduction to Piaget: The Father of Pedagogy describes not only the historical impact of Piaget’s theory on education but also provides a step by step guide explaining Piaget’s major concepts.  A narrative, along with videos and charts are included. The video presentations will be especially helpful for guiding the learner through the process of mastering Piaget’s Developmental Theory.” (Source: Merlot II)
       
  • Music and the Child (2016)
    • The purpose of this textbook is to provide an in-depth look at the developmental connections between music and children.  “This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement. Additionally, the book explores ways of applying music-making to benefit the whole child, i.e., socially, emotionally, physically, cognitively, and linguistically.”
       
  • Instruction in Functional Assessment (2016)
    • "The purpose of this textbook is to provide instruction in FA skills for pre-professionals in the fields of education and psychology. This supplemental resource provides the context, background, and knowledge to facilitate students’ acquisition of the methods, decision-making, and skills involved in conducting FA. Each chapter begins with focus questions designed to promote reflective thinking and ends with discussion questions."
       
  • Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy Research and Practice (2016)
    • This book "…introduces instructional strategies linked to the most current research-supported practices in the field of literacy. The book includes chapters related to scientifically-based literacy research, early literacy development, literacy assessment, digital age influences on children’s literature, literacy development in under-served student groups, secondary literacy instructional strategies, literacy and modern language, and critical discourse analysis."

Open Textbook Collections

CALM Education - Open Textbook Collections

Multimedia

CALM Education - Multimedia

Education Media in the Library
  • Videos through the CSUSM Library
    1. Select “Books & More” tab
    2. Limit to: "Full-text Available Online" 
    3. and also limit to: "Audio Visual"
  • Kanopy Video Library provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows. *Must use campus login and password to access.
     
  • Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
     

Podcasts

Journal Articles

CALM Education - Journal Articles

Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our Education databases for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course. This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).

Please contact your librarian if you are unsure of how to find the permalink.

Open Courseware

CALM Education - Open Courseware

  • Utah State OpenCourseWare – Education:
    • “Utah State OpenCourseWare is a collection of educational material used in our formal campus courses, and seeks to provide people around the world with an opportunity to access high quality learning opportunities.” (Source: Home Utha State OCW).
  • MIT OpenCourseWare:
    • “MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.” (Source: About MIT OCW)
  • Merlot II – Education:
    • Merlot provides easy access to almost 5000 Free Online Courses. Simply click on a major topic heading and you can browse through the MERLOT collection of Free Online Courses. (Source: Merlot II)
  • Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
    • From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
  • First Year Teacher Program
    • The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
  • OpenLearn
    • OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.

Other CSUSM Library Resources

Suggestions


Feedback
Contact Info