Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Biology Ebooks – CSUSM Library
Open Textbook Collections
- Search YouTube by keyterms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Some good channels:
- YouTube-produced “CrashCourse” series
- New Scientist
- Science Magazine
- Nature Video
- The Company of Biologists (they also produce the Journal of Experimental Biology videos)
- Bozeman Science
- Stated Clearly
- Videos by Armando Hasudungan (good example of using art to communicate science)
- XVIVO Scientific Animation (professional-grade scientific animations with an emphasis on Biotechnology and medical sciences)
- 23andME (videos about genes, human prehistory, variations, and genetic guides)
- National Library of Medicine / National Institutes of Health (videos from the world’s largest medical library)
- Tip: try searching YouTube by the title of your favorite journal publication to see if that journal also produces a YouTube channel.
- TED Talks – Biology / Animals / Microbiology / Alternative Energy / Bacteria / Biodiversity / Biotechnology / Climate change / DNA / Environment / Evolution / Genetics / Medicine / Nature / Neuroscience / Oceans / Sustainability
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on Biology and related topics.
- Khan Academy
- Lecture videos from 1-30 minutes in length
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Select “Books & More” tab and use these limits: Full Text Available Online and Video.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our biology databases for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course. This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).This page provides examples illustrating how to find permalinks in the Library’s databases.Please contact your librarian if you are still unsure of how to find the permalink.
Other Open Educational Resources
Classroom Explorations offers activities that will teach your students about traits of life, microscopy, math in science, research tools, genetics, and developmental biology.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive Lectures
BioInteractive offers lectures and other free resources on biology topics.
- Royal Society of Biology Open Education Resources
A collection of OERs aimed at supporting teaching practical biology in higher education.
Other CSUSM Library Resources
More information about finding and using library resources can be found on the Biology Research Guide.