Ebooks in the Library
The CSUSM University Library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what’s available:
- Go to the University Library homepage
- Choose “Books and More”
- Enter keywords and search
- Use the limiters to narrow by “Full Text Online” to ensure all results can be accessed directly from your computer
- Limit by “Books” to filter out journals and media
Art & Technology Ebooks – CSUSM Library
- Digital Foundations by Free Software Foundation (undated)
Open Textbook Collections
- VDB TV | Video Data Bank
- Streaming video featuring curated programs of video and media art
- Search YouTube by key terms and try filtering by channel or “Creative Commons” license (these videos are specifically labeled for reuse).
- Some good channels:
- YouTube Teachers
Videos of various lengths featuring of a variety of lecturers and topics.
- Tip: try searching YouTube by the title of your favorite journal publication to see if that journal also produces a YouTube channel.
- TED Talks – Animation / Art / Augmented Reality / Creativity / Culture / Design / Industrial Design / Media / Open Source / Performance / Performance Art / Photography / Product Design / Public Spaces / Science and Art / Social Change / Social Media / Society / Sound / Street Art / Technology / Television / Typography / Virtual Reality / Visualizations / 3D Printing
- A collection of TED Talks and playlists on technology, science, art, and related topics.
- Videos through the CSUSM Library
- Select “Books & More” tab and use these limits: Full Text Available Online and Video.
- Library Media Reserves, including Video on Demand option (allows you to stream videos to CSUSM students). Keep in mind that you should leave at least 1 week of lead time for processing these requests.
Consider including journal articles as required or supplemental reading for your courses. Search through our visual arts databases for articles. Just be sure to direct students to the article by permalink (or static URL) rather than posting the PDF directly in your Cougar Course. This will ensure two things: 1) that we are complying with copyright and publisher restrictions, and 2) that our journal usage is counted (this allows us to justify maintaining our subscriptions).
This page provides examples illustrating how to find permalinks in the Library’s databases.
Please contact your librarian if you are still unsure of how to find the permalink.
Merlot (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a compilation of freely available resources for use in higher education, hosted by the California State Universities.
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more. Check the Topic: Fine Arts>Subtopic(s): Media Studies for the specialty of Digital Media. Possibly also useful is the subtopic Game Design.
Searchable by discipline and academic level, this site provides a broad range of instructional materials, including texts, images, videos, primary sources and more.
Media Studies courses, via Open Culture list of free online courses
Design courses, via Open Culture list of free online courses
Other Open Educational Resources
Humanities + Design Research Lab at Stanford University Visualization tools and other digital humanities resources
Digital humanities tools from the Stanford Center for Spatial and Textual Analysis
Lectures from Critical Commons “Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.”
Openly licensed music and sound from University of Edinburgh’s Open.Ed blog
CSU Image Project
Provides access to California State University image collections for teaching and research.
Media Literacy Clearinghouse
Much of content is K-12 but still useful.
Other CSUSM Library Resources
More information about finding and using library resources can be found on the Visual and Performing Arts Research Guide.