BUS 444 Strategic Management - Young

You are here

Strategic Management

Strategic Management

Strategic Management

Navigate though this resource using the tabs on the left handside.  Start first with your Industry Profile, then move to doing your Company Profile.  Note: Many of our subscription databases offer the ability to research both an Industry and a Company.

IBISWorld ---- is a good place to start for general industry background, supply chain and Porter's five forces.

First Research (Mergent Intellect)   --- Industry Overviews, Critical issues, challenges, opportunties, executive insights and news and social media feeds. 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys IN PRINT Business Quick Reference Shelf 3rd floor ----   is essential reading to truly grasp an industry in it's environment written by S&P anaysts.

Hoovers In Depth Company Reports
Good overview of company information --recommended to start for company info

Worldwide company and industry analysis with strong emerging market and infrastructure industry reports

Euromonitor Passport 
Consumer product market analysis.  Worldwide industry and company analysis and statistics

Factiva
Navigate on the top bar to the Companies/Markets tab and hold for company information.
News reports and financial reports on company and it's competitors. 

Mergent Online
In depth financial information and analysis, including SEC filings.
Company strategy -- annual reports, management letters, press releases
Financial analysis of company and industry including custom reports and peer comparisons

Industry Ratios (see page to left)

Mergent Online  
Industry and Public Corp. financials.   In depth analysis, custom competitor analysis.

Bizminer
Detailed financials for small, niche and private companies.   Some at State and metro level.  Good for start up as well.

RMA annual statement studies a good place to start

 

Industry

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect)*** New INDUSTRY DATABASE ***
Industry Research and Interview starter questions exec level personel.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts (Access via FACTIVA)  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts with charts.

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Bizminer   Industry Financial and Industry Market Analysis.   9000 industries by sales lass.  Find reports for National, state, county, metro and zip code.

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. 
Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Industry Snapshots by NAIC
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Company

Company

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.

Company  directories provide individual and competitor details for:

Name
Address and other contacts
Key personnel
Revenue and Sales
Employee size
NAIC / SIC numbers


Databases by Subject Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee  numbers.  Executive contact info.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

REFUSA: Prezi Slideshow Tutorial Use this tool to learn how to create company essentials and competitor lists.  Also good for a quick look at local industry sales, and revenues. 

Factiva Public company profiles.  Choose the Companies tab across the top first.  Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.
Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Hoovers Company Profiles (ABI Inform)
Public and some larger companies,  Short competitor list and executives.

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 

Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

Non-profit and charitable resource page
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

 

Business News

Business News Databases

Trade publications report on the industry for the industry, examples are: Automotive News, Restaurant News, Hotel and Motel Management, Sales and Marketing Management.  The free web will give you current or sample issues. Premium content and backfiles are available through these research databases.

 

      Ebsco Business Source Premier

Harvard Business Review full text 

Excellent source for industry reports, company profiles and SWOTS and managment and market news.

 

      Proquest ABI Inform Complete

Best for all industry news articles, widely used by business for recent news on competitors, suppliers and customers.

 

Factiva 

Wall Street Journal and world wide news 

Excellent for major publically traded companies and international. 
TIP:  Search "conference call" [company name] to read latest analysis and quarterly reports interviewed by top analysts.

 

Euromonitor Passport

Industry market reports on consumer goods and services.   Excellent economic indicator reports.  Global perspective.

 

Trade and  Professional Associations

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.

Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association

 

Local Business News  These links provide premium current and full text access unavailable to free web)
 

San Diego Union Tribune 
San Diego Business Journal    (limited access via Proquest).  Physical holdings for SDBJ Book of Lists

 

Industry and Company Videos Introductions

Industry and Company Research Videos

Introduction (video & tools)

Introduction to Business Research at CSUSM library    
This short video is an introduction to using the CSUSM library for business research.  If you are new to the campus you will want to view this. (Welcome to CSUSM library, business research) 

Industry Research    (Required Viewing for SE 495)
This 5 min video is what you need to get started on industry research for many of your courses.  If you are new to the campus this is required viewing and will show you how to use these premium subscription industry reports.


IBISWorld Industry Reports Video Tutorial
Excellent overview what the Industry Reports contain and how to extract pertinent information for your research reports

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

This webguide will walk you through each step in referenceUSA to find private and competitor information. 

ReferenceUSA     (Prezi slideshow)  to find private company information and analyse your competition by revenue, employee size, and location.   This is an interactive tool where you will finish with a completed competitor list.

 

Citing Your Work APA

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

Common Business Citation Styles

Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)

Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

Recommended Citation Generators
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.


KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

Articles:
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name.

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

Company Information:
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml


Data Set (user created):
For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). 
Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
08/16 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 9-11 or so; Appointments Preferred

Supports the following areas: 

Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info