BUS 444 Strategic Management - Byun

You are here

International Management Project

BUS 444 - Strategic Management -- Byun

Local Company Directory

ReferenceUSA   US only
Has US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee numbers.  Executive contact info.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

REFUSA: Prezi Slideshow Tutorial(link is external) Use this tool to learn how to create company essentials and competitor lists.  Also good for a quick look at local industry sales, and revenues. 

US Industry Profile

IBISWorld   US Industry Analyst  Report

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.

 

Industry Financials

Bizminer
Detailed financial analysis for industries by NAIC at US, State, Metro area

Public Company Research US and International

Mergent  
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.
Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors

International Market  Research

Passport Euromonitor 
International Consumer Market Research.   Start with and Industry search and see rankings, analysis and distribution changes, market share. 

 

Country Research how to start a business 

GlobalEdge  Insight Research by Country, Country Commercial guides to start a business 

 

 

 

 

 

Industry and Company

Company

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.

Company  directories provide individual and competitor details for:

Name
Address and other contacts
Key personnel
Revenue and Sales
Employee size
NAIC / SIC numbers


Databases by Subject Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee  numbers.  Executive contact info.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

How to guides for all things ReferenceUSA

Factiva Public company profiles.  Choose the Companies tab across the top first.  Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.
Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Hoovers Company Profiles (ABI Inform)
Public and some larger companies,  Short competitor list and executives.

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online
Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 

Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

Non-profit and charitable resource page
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

 

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start:  

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

First Research  (Mergent Intellect):  

Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

Technavio Industry Forecasts Search library home page (Oneas keyword and industry name.  Over 5000 industry 5 year forecasts and news reports. 

Local Industry Analysis 

San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library   Electronic version of Industry Surveys 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database) 

Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.  
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data.  Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Bizminer   Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis.   9000 industries by sales.  Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Business News

Business News

  • Change sort order to Newest Date first
  • Narrow by Subject (more options

Business Source Premier 
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review.

Factiva:   Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

  • Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
  • Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LATimes, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

San Diego Union Tribune    Paper copy on 4th floor library.
San Diego Business Journal   Paper copy on 4th floor library

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

Harvard Business Review  Full text of harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

  • Some full text not available electronically.  See papre edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
  • Case studies are not available in this subscription

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via ABI Inform]

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info