BUS 444 Business Strategy - Ratiu / Ashley

You are here

Start

NAICS (Business) JSO 1/16

HOLD OFF UNTIL  PART 2 in MARCH 2017 : BUS 444 Ashley   

***    CSUSM Library Award for Undergraduate Research    ***
Call For Proposals Due April 17, 2017

Use a directory or company search to help you identify an Industry Classification code.  This will be helpful in your next steps in Industry research.

North American Classification System [NAICS]

NAICS Pronounced Nakes; is a unique, all-new system for classifying business establishments. Adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, it is the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States. (Source: FAQs US Census).

2012 NAICS classifications

 

Strategic Management

Strategic Management

Navigate though this resource using the tabs on the left handside.  Start first with your Industry Profile, then move to doing your Company Profile.  Note: Many of our subscription databases offer the ability to research both an Industry and a Company.

IBISWorld ---- is a good place to start for general industry background, supply chain and Porter's five forces.

First Research (Mergent Intellect)   --- Industry Overviews, Critical issues, challenges, opportunties, executive insights and news and social media feeds. 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys IN PRINT Business Quick Reference Shelf 3rd floor ----   is essential reading to truly grasp an industry in it's environment written by S&P anaysts.

Hoovers In Depth Company Reports
Good overview of company information --recommended to start for company info

Worldwide company and industry analysis with strong emerging market and infrastructure industry reports

Euromonitor Passport 
Consumer product market analysis.  Worldwide industry and company analysis and statistics

Factiva
Navigate on the top bar to the Companies/Markets tab and hold for company information.
News reports and financial reports on company and it's competitors. 

Mergent Online
In depth financial information and analysis, including SEC filings.
Company strategy -- annual reports, management letters, press releases
Financial analysis of company and industry including custom reports and peer comparisons

Industry Ratios (see page to left)

Mergent Online  
Industry and Public Corp. financials.   In depth analysis, custom competitor analysis.

Bizminer
Detailed financials for small, niche and private companies.   Some at State and metro level.  Good for start up as well.

RMA annual statement studies a good place to start

 

Industry Information

Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)


Industry Overview Reports

Industry Reports  prepared by expert analysts in this premium content.  Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry.  Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code. 

IBISWorld   Good place to start
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain.  

 

First Research  (Mergent Intellect)*** New INDUSTRY DATABASE ***
Industry Research and Interview starter questions exec level personel.  Social Media feed updates on business and industry.

 

S&P Capital IQ  Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652  3rd Floor Reference [Print]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.  Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library.  Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.

 

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies.  Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis.  Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.

Market Research Reports

Bizminer   Industry Financial and Industry Market Analysis.   9000 industries by sales lass.  Find reports for National, state, county, metro and zip code.

Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports  Detailed reporting.
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. 
Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports.  Source is often government and other agencies. 

Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis. 

Industry Snapshots by NAIC
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC. 

Mergent Online  Go to  the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports. 
Use for major industries only,  global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.

 

Books on Industry in the library.

Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.

Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)

 

 

Company Information

Public Company

Public Company Profiles, Annual Reports and Analysis

Business Source Premier  (CSUSM Premium) Search the Company Profiles.  Marketline reports include SWOTS!

 

Factiva  (CSUSM Premium) Good for public corporations.

Search Companies/Markets Tab along the top. 

Contains:  Company snapshot, News, Web News, Multimedia, Key Developments, Peer Comparison, Financial Results--to see financial results by segment and reports. Look at the Performance/Segment Information section.

 

Mergent Online (CSUSM Premium) Good for public corporations in depth financials.   Also has limited private co. info.
Detailed company profiles, history and in depth financial analysis, including SEC filings

 

Marketwatch.com  
Commerical investing and new source, publicly available. 

 

Hoovers Company Profiles (via ProQuest) (CSUSM Premium) 
Company snapshot, employee size, sales, basic financials, stock, NAIC and SEC filings including news (newspapers, legal,and patent)

 

ReferenceUSA  (CSUSM Premium)  Excellent for private companies also public company hierarchies.  Includes local branches of foreign companies operating in the United States. Also good for quick summary statistics by industry especially local competitors.

REFUSA:  Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search

 

Market and Consumer analysis of Companies

Passport Euromonitor  (CSUSM Premium) Company profiles and market and brand share around the world

Financial Information & Annual Reports

How to read an annual report  (Short outline from IBM)

AnnualReports.com (available on the free web)
Annual reports for U.S. public companies.

SEC.gov EDGAR search (available on the free web)
Access to corporate electronic filings submitted by U.S. public companies directly to the U.S. Securities Exchange Commission.

 

Competition and Industry

Company analyst reports include strengths, weaknesses of the company and opportunities and threats. 

IBISWorld Industry Research  (CSUSM Premium)

Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.

 

First Research (Mergent Intellect) (CSUSM Premium)

ReferenceUSA (US Only)

See the section for competitors.  This represents a geographic look at businesses close to your location by NAIC code. 

 

     

     

     

     

    Business News Databases

    Business News Databases

    Trade publications report on the industry for the industry, examples are: Automotive News, Restaurant News, Hotel and Motel Management, Sales and Marketing Management.  The free web will give you current or sample issues. Premium content and backfiles are available through these research databases.

     

          Ebsco Business Source Premier

    Harvard Business Review full text 

    Excellent source for industry reports, company profiles and SWOTS and managment and market news.

     

          Proquest ABI Inform Complete

    Best for all industry news articles, widely used by business for recent news on competitors, suppliers and customers.

     

    Factiva 

    Wall Street Journal and world wide news 

    Excellent for major publically traded companies and international. 
    TIP:  Search "conference call" [company name] to read latest analysis and quarterly reports interviewed by top analysts.

     

    Euromonitor Passport

    Industry market reports on consumer goods and services.   Excellent economic indicator reports.  Global perspective.

     

    Trade and  Professional Associations

    Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most is only available to members.  Get around this by searching the associatio name for news reports in the above databases.

    Examples of trade and professional associations are National Restaurant Association; American Library Association

     

    Local Business News  These links provide premium current and full text access unavailable to free web)
     

    San Diego Union Tribune 
    San Diego Business Journal    (limited access via Proquest).  Physical holdings for SDBJ Book of Lists

     

    Reading an Annual Report

    How to Read an Annual Report

    How to Read an Annual Report  Courtesy of IBM.


    This short lesson in how to read an annual report by IBM is worthwhile.

    Most important for a company profile and analysis:

    1. Letter to Stockholders

    2. Corporate message

    2. Board of Directors and Top management

    3. Management Discussion

     

    To get annual reports use Mergent Online.  Mergent also offers financial analysis.  They are also available in the invester relations sections of the companies webpage.

    Financial Ratios

    Financial Ratios


    How to find Financial Ratios:

    MOST POPULAR:

    Bizminer   NEW ! 
    Premium library access to industry financial analysis by NAIC and market analysis

    RMA Annual Statement Studies (in Print)
    REFERENCE
    HF5681.B2 R6 
    Industry financials and ratios by industry type (SIC). Comparison data back 5 years. Data derived from membership loan applications

    Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (in Print) / Leo Troy.
    REFERENCE 
    HF5681.R25 A45 
    Troy's uses IRS tax return data, the publication covers 192 industries, and 50 performance indicators, you can often find more detail in Troy's. Use NAICS to locate your industry. Useful when other titles do not cover your industry, and includes some industries that are typically privately held. Data derived from tax returns

     

    Before you Start   Locate the SIC or NAIC of your industry.

    A) If you have a company name: 

    Company directories library databases:  ReferenceUSA, Mergent will list the SIC or NAIC number and industry description.   Jot these down as they are the way to find any industry info.  Besides you will be requied in Senior Experience to memorize them!

    B) If you know the industry name:
    Go to U.S. Census to find the industry classification number NAICS or SIC:
    North American Industrial Classification System

    2. The titles listed provide industry financial averages and ratios. Most are located in the Business Quick Reference area of the library or as electronic databases.

     

    Title Industry Company

    BizStats.com
    Find business statistics, profitability and financial ratios for industry type and company.

          x        x

    Business reference guide: for anyone involved in analyzing, valuing or selling a business. HD1393.25 2011 Reference. earlier edition circulates.

          x        x

     Business and Industry Economic Census
    Industry and Economic data by the US Census

        x  

    Factiva  [Library Database]
    Choose the Company/Markets Tab on top  to view Industry averages and ratios
     

         x  x

    First Research Industry Profiles by Dun & Bradstreet    accessed from ABI Inform Complete
    Enter the search: pub(first research)  and add your industry.   "Food Trucks" is a good example of the kinds of reports you will get.    Includes Financial Ratios for the industry.

     

          x  

    Lexis Nexis Company Search (At bottom, click on get company)
    Financials segment for individual companies includes 3 year operating and valuation ratios.

      x

    Mergent Online [Library Database]
    A financial analysis database of over 10,000 publicly traded US and international companies. Search by SIC, long term debt, profit margin, total revenue, and more. Create custom financial comparison charts. Includes EDGAR (SEC) filings back to 1993.

          x  x

    RMA Annual Statement Studies   LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
    REFERENCE HF5681.B2 R6
    Industry financials and ratios by industry type (SIC). Comparison data back 5 years. Data derived from membership loan applications

          x  

    Reuters Business and Finance Stocks
    Once you enter a company name, choose ratios report. Includes lots of ratios, by company, industry, sector, and S&T 500. This path will lead you to the short free reports.

          x        x

    S & P / Capital IQ Industry Surveys  LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions

    S & P / Capital IQ Industry Survey. Monthly investment review.
    REFERENCE HG4915 .S652
    Essays in broad industry categories. Financials for companies back 5 years, and 10th year.

             x

    Tax Statistics / IRS
    Use the business tax statistics to see statistics by sector, industry, type of return and size. Especially useful for sole proprietorship, partnerships where data is not as easily accessible from other sources. Data derived from tax returns and other tax agency statistics.

          x  

    Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (in print) / Leo Troy.

    LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
    REFERENCE 5681.R25 A45  PRINT ONLY
    Troy's uses IRS tax return data, the publication covers 192 industries, and 50 performance indicators, you can often find more detail in Troy's. Use NAICS to locate your industry. Useful when other titles do not cover your industry, and includes some industries that are typically privately held. Data derived from tax returns.

          x  

    Value Line Investment Survey HG4501 .V26 Reference  PRINT ONLY
    Provides a short set of financial ratios for industries that can be compared to company reports.

          x        x

    Yahoo Finance Stock Screening
    Choose industry, and selected ratios for sales and profitability and valuation. For current year only

          x        x

     

    How to interpret ratios

    Recommended Subject in the Library Catalog:

    Ratio Analysis    Over 16 books on how to work with financial ratios to view online or  check out of the library to take home.

    Bragg, S. M. (2002). Business ratios and formulas: a comprehensive guide, Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. In print HF5691 . B73

    Bragg, S. M. (2012). Business ratios and formulas: A comprehensive guide. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. e-Book access Online.

     

     

     

    Case Examples

    Case Examples

    Industry Search

    Library Business Databases
    Proquest ABI Inform Global
    EbscoHost Business Source Premier
    Euromonitor Passport GMID
    Lexis Nexis Academic
    Factiva

    Resource short list for Case study of McCormick & Co.

    Factiva -- Company -- Mccormick & Co

    Mergent --- Basic Search -- Company Search -- (Add to company analysis)
    Tabs:   Reports (Annual Reports) -- Letter to shareholders

    Euromonitor Passport GMID -- Industry -- Packaged Foods -- Sauces and Condiments -- Geographies -- -- Company shares -- Related articles to Industry reports on Sauces and Condiments

    ABI Inform Complete (Proquest)  Browse Featured Content (BMI Industry  Reports, Annual Reports Collection,  -- McCormick & Co --- Nav bar Industry -- Country Reports

    Other  great sources--

    Google News
    Google Blogs

    APA Citations for Business

    Citation Generators (General)

    Citation Generators

    There are many applications available to help you create citations. Some databases also provide citation formatting assistance. These can be convenient, but they are NOT 100% accurate.  ALWAYS check that the citation is formatted correctly according to the official style guide.

     

    The following are all free citation generators:

    KnightCite Citation Service from the Hekman Library of Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

    Son of Citation Machine  from Landmarks for Schools.

    Zotero from Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media.

    Cite Fast includes APA, MLA, and Chicago

    Guide to Using APA Business Citations

    APA Citation Style Guide
    Has links to guides and citation generators.

    Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

    Common Business Citation Styles

    Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links

    How to Cite in Text:
    Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)

    Example: 
    She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
    According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

    Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

    Recommended Citation Generators
    A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.


    KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
    DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
    Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

     

    Articles:
    Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
    DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

    Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
    * If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name.

    Articles, News or Trade:

    News article with DOI: 
    Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

    News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
    Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

    Articles, Scholarly:

    Example: 
    Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

    Books:

    Examples: 
    Chapter in a book
    O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


    Whole book: 
    McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


    E-book, no DOI: 
    Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

    Company Information:
    Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
    Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

    Examples: Entries in library databases:
    Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

    Company website: 
    Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

    Chapter or Section of a web document:
    Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


    Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

    Example: 
    Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture


    Industry Statistics:
    Example: 
    U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
    Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml


    Data Set (user created):
    For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

    Example: 
    InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

    Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
    See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


    Encyclopedia, No author: 
    Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


    Reference work, Author:
    Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


    Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
    Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

    Legal Citation Formats

    See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

    Media--Video
    To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

    Example: 
    CSUSM (2015). 
    Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


    Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
    APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


    In Text Example:
    ...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
    .... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


    REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
    08/16 afiegen

     

     

    Need Help?

    Ann Fiegen

    Librarian for Business & Economics
    afiegen@csusm.edu
    760-750-4365
    Office Location: 
    KEL3421
    Office Hours: 
    Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 9-11 or so; Appointments Preferred

    Supports the following areas: 

    Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


    Feedback
    Contact Info