BUS 444 Read this >>> Navigate though this resource using the tabs on the left handside.
This site is your library guide to accompany the Capstone Chronicles. This guide includes Chronicle Guidelines recommendations for your research. The side bar links to sections Company Research for part 1. Industry and Company Analysis for Part 2. Most of these sources are review from your earlier classes. Note: Many of our subscription databases offer the ability to research both an Industry, Company and news reports.
1. Company Websites
2. Hoovers In Depth Company Reports
Good overview of company information --recommended to start for company info
Navigate on the top blue bar to the Companies/Markets drop down tab for company information.
News reports and financial reports on company and it's competitors.
Core databases for this class:
IBISWorld ---- is a good place to start for general industry background, supply chain and Porter's five forces.
First Research (Mergent Intellect) --- Industry Overviews, Critical issues, challenges, opportunties, executive insights and news and social media feeds.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys IN PRINT Business Quick Reference Shelf 3rd floor ---- is essential reading to truly grasp an industry in it's environment written by S&P anaysts.
Worldwide company and industry analysis with strong emerging market and infrastructure industry reports
Consumer product market analysis. Worldwide industry and company analysis and statistics
Factiva BUS 444
Navigate on the top bar to the Companies/Markets tab and hold for company information.
News reports and financial reports on company and it's competitors.
TIP: Limit to Source: CQ FD Disclosure and search your company name. This will return analyst conference call transcrips for quarterly reports. Company updates and penetrating strategic Q&A.
In depth financial information and analysis, including SEC filings.
Company strategy -- annual reports, management letters, press releases
Financial analysis of company and industry including custom reports and peer comparisons
Industry Ratios (see page to left)
Industry and Public Corp. financials. In depth analysis, custom competitor analysis.
Detailed financials for small, niche and private companies. Some at State and metro level. Good for start up as well.
RMA annual statement studies a good place to start
A 6 digit code assigned by the Census to general industries.
Most business company directories will indicate the Industry NAICS code for that company. Companies often span multiple industries.
Industry reports such as those in IBISWorld and others will often include a NAICS code.
Industry Reports prepared by expert analysts in this premium content. Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry. Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code.
IBISWorld US Industry reports. Search by keyword OR NAIC code (uses 5 digits of 6 digit codes).
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain. Some Global and International Reports
First Research (Mergent Intellect)
Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels. Social Media feed updates on business and industry.
Mergent Online Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports.
Use for major industries only, global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.
ABI Inform / Complete
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and country reports.
- BMI Country Industry Reports
- BMI Global Oil Market Reports
- BMI Industry Insight Reports
- BMI Risk Reports
Hospitality --- BRASS Business Librarian recommendations for researching the hospitality industry.
Local Industry Analysis
San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports (Website)
"San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation (EDC) regularly releases and sponsors research that provides a baseline of industry data to encourage and support economic investment. EDC also conducts studies on key industries and identify actions needed to spur growth in the region." (Source: San Diego Regional EDC).
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652 3rd Floor Reference [Print]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.
NetAdvantage San Diego City Public Library Electronic version of Industry Surveys
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis. Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.
San Diego Association of Governments [SANDAG] (Website)
SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision-making for the San Diego
region. Resources such as Demographics and other data and publications will
be of interest.
Market Research Reports
Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports Detailed reporting. GBM 425 and SE MARKETING PROJECTS
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.
Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis.
Bizminer Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis. 9000 industries by sales. Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code. Update 6/18: Now shows Z-scores for credit strength and financial viability.
Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports. The source is often government and other agencies.
Books on Industry in the library.
Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.
Public Company Profiles, Annual Reports and Analysis
Business Source Premier (CSUSM Premium) Search the Company Profiles. Marketline reports include SWOTS!
Factiva (CSUSM Premium) Good for public corporations.
***** ACCESS precaution Please contact a business librarian if you are having trouble accessing FACTIVA from off campus.
Search Companies/Markets Tab along the top.
Company snapshot, News, Web News, Multimedia, Key Developments, Peer Comparison, Financial Results--to see financial results by segment and reports. Look at the Performance/Segment Information section.
Earnings Calls: Limit company search to Sources: CQ FD Disclosure.
Earnings Calls: ABI Inform. Choose publications: Disclosure Wire Limit to Company Name. Be sure to sort to most recent date.
Mergent Online (CSUSM Premium) Good for public corporations in depth financials. Also has limited private co. info.
Detailed company profiles, history and in depth financial analysis, including SEC filings
Commerical investing and new source, publicly available.
SeekingAlpha.com Freely available insight snippets
Hoovers Company Profiles (via ProQuest) (CSUSM Premium)
Company snapshot, employee size, sales, basic financials, stock, NAIC and SEC filings including news (newspapers, legal,and patent)
ReferenceUSA (CSUSM Premium) Excellent for private companies also public company hierarchies. Includes local branches of foreign companies operating in the United States. Also good for quick summary statistics by industry especially local competitors.
REFUSA: Step By Step Guide to RefUSA Company & Competitor search
Market and Consumer analysis of Companies
Passport Euromonitor (CSUSM Premium) Company profiles and market and brand share around the world
Financial Information & Annual Reports
How to read an annual report (Short outline from IBM)
AnnualReports.com (available on the free web)
Annual reports for U.S. public companies.
SEC.gov EDGAR search (available on the free web)
Access to corporate electronic filings submitted by U.S. public companies directly to the U.S. Securities Exchange Commission.
Competition and Industry
Company analyst reports include strengths, weaknesses of the company and opportunities and threats.
IBISWorld Industry Research (CSUSM Premium)
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.
First Research (Mergent Intellect) (CSUSM Premium)
Industry research with limited competitor. Excellent Interview prep questions.
ReferenceUSA (US Only)
See the section for competitors. This represents a geographic look at businesses close to your location by NAIC code.
Reading an Annual Report
How to Read an Annual Report Courtesy of IBM.
This short lesson in how to read an annual report by IBM is worthwhile.
Most important for a company profile and analysis:
1. Letter to Stockholders
2. Corporate message
2. Board of Directors and Top management
3. Management Discussion
To get annual reports use Mergent Online. Mergent also offers financial analysis. They are also available in the invester relations sections of the companies webpage.
Business News Databases
Professional analysis of case studies requires more than these recommended sources! In addition to these recommended business news sources, use the library OneSearch on the Home Page of the library to look across all library material. Expect to narrow and limit your results.
Top Premium Subscription Business News Sources
ABI Inform Complete (Proquest)
Excellent studies, reports, and trade and industry news.
- Change sort order to Newest Date first
- Narrow by Subject (more options)
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review (HBR selected not all).
Excellent for international and major business news. (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union-Tribune)
- Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
- Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LA Times, Washington Post and others
Business News Publications
Newsbank: America's News
Full text of major news sources including the Los Angeles Times and the San Diego Union-Tribune, and Press Enterprise
San Diego Union Tribune Link here and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
San Diego Business Journal Proquest ABI Inform and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
Press Enterprise Riverside County Newsbank
Bloomberg BusinessWeek Full text through Business Sources Premier
Bloomberg Tip! Search within this publication top right
The Economist (online) Full text link. [via Proquest ABI Inform] Free Economist gives only limited content
Financial Times (London) ABI Inform (Proquest) Last month not available.
Harvard Business Review Ebsco - Business Source Premier -- Full text of Harvard business review.
- Some full text not available electronically. See paper edition HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
- Case studies are not available in this subscription
Trade and Professional Associations -- Industry Trending News
Look to trade association pages on the free web. Many industry and news reports will identify them. Some information is available free, but most are only available to members. Get around this by searching the association name for news reports in the above databases. Examples of trade and professional associations are the National Restaurant Association; American Library Association.
Find associations in the industry reports recommended here, such as First Research. Search on the web using .org Find references to associations in news article
How to find Financial Statements and Industry Ratios:
IBISWorld Key Statistics
Industry Financial Ratios for major industries. Look to the far right tab for KEY STATISTICS --> Ratios
Mergent Online (Library Database)
A financial analysis database of over 10,000 publicly traded US and international companies. Search by SIC, long term debt, profit margin, total revenue, and more. Create custom financial comparison charts. Includes EDGAR (SEC) filings back to 1993.
Bizminer (Library Database)
Premium library access to industry financial analysis by NAIC and market analysis, excellent for SME, Small to Medium Enterprises
Metro, county, state, national
How to pull Reports in Bizminer
1. Industry Financial Analysis.
Industry Financial Reports: Business plans,
Industry Financial Reports ---> Search your industry
Industry Financial Profiles --> Choose Location --> Select Sales class
Industry Market Reports contain competitor reports and Sales per sq. ft reports
RMA Annual Statement Studies (in Print)
REFERENCE HF5681.B2 R6
Industry financials and ratios by industry type (SIC). Comparison data back 5 years. Data derived from membership loan applications. Good for national.
Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (in Print) / Leo Troy.
REFERENCE HF5681.R25 A45
Troy's uses IRS tax return data, the publication covers 192 industries, and 50 performance indicators, you can often find more detail in Troy's. Use NAICS to locate your industry. Useful when other titles do not cover your industry, and includes some industries that are typically privately held. Data derived from tax returns. Good for national.
A) If you have a company name -
Company directories library databases: ReferenceUSA, Mergent will list the SIC or NAIC number and industry description. Jot these down as they are the way to find any industry info. Besides you will be requied in Senior Experience to memorize them!
B) If you know the industry name -
Go to U.S. Census to find the industry classification number NAICS or SIC:
North American Industrial Classification System
2. The titles listed provide industry financial averages and ratios. Most are located in the Business Quick Reference area of the library or as electronic databases.
Bizminer (Library Database)
Business reference guide: for anyone involved in analyzing, valuing or selling a business. HD1393.25 2011 Reference. earlier edition circulates.
Business and Industry Economic Census
Factiva [Library Database]
First Research Industry Profiles by Dun & Bradstreet accessed from ABI Inform Complete
Mergent Online [Library Database]
RMA Annual Statement Studies LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
Reuters Business and Finance Stocks
S & P / Capital IQ Industry Surveys LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
S & P / Capital IQ Industry Survey. Monthly investment review.
Tax Statistics / IRS
LIBRARY REFERENCE 3rd Floor for latest editions
Value Line Investment Survey HG4501 .V26 Reference PRINT ONLY
Yahoo Finance Stock Screening
How to interpret ratios
Recommended Subject in the Library Catalog:
Ratio Analysis Over 16 books on how to work with financial ratios to view online or check out of the library to take home.
Bragg, S. M. (2002). Business ratios and formulas: a comprehensive guide, Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. In print HF5691 . B73
Bragg, S. M. (2012). Business ratios and formulas: A comprehensive guide. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. e-Book access Online.
National Economic Indicators by Industry
National Economic Indicators
ADP National Employment Report. Reports on non-farm payroll, closely watched by economist, business and investment community. ADP is the largest processor of business payroll services.
Regional Small Business builder and Regional Analyst Edition.
User can enter location, industry, consumer, household, employment options to receive reports.
Monthly national reports:
1. Advance Report on Durable Goods Manufacturer's Shipments, Inventories, and Orders.
2. Manufacturers Shipments, Inventories, and Orders
3. Monthly Wholesale Trade
4. Advanced Monthly Sales and Retail and Food Services
5. Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales
6. Quarterly Services Report
7. Quarterly Financial Report (Manu., Mining, Wholesale, Selected Service
8. Quarterly Financial Report - Retail Trade
Housing and Construction Reports (some also at state level)
9. New Residential Construction
10. New Residential Sales
11. Construction Spending and Value of Construction Put in Place.
12. Housing Vacancies and Homeownership
International Trade (State level also)
13. U.S International Trade in Goods and Services
Economic Indicator Webinars: from the Census view these excelent webinars.
Introduction to Economic Indicators
Measuring the Economy: a Brief Overview of the Census Bureau's Economic Indicators. Additional webinars go into more detail of each indicator.
Federal Reserve. Flow of Funds Accounts of the United States
Quarterly releases, How money moves through economy. Caution, VERY large files.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Database
Key economic indicators arranged in a way to quickly scan for U.S. interest rates, CPI (Consumer Price Index); PPI (Producer Price Index) GDP, and banking indicators
Financial Soundness Indicators
Developed by the IMF as indicators for financial soundness of countries.
Library Business Databases
Proquest ABI Inform Global
EbscoHost Business Source Premier
Euromonitor Passport GMID
Lexis Nexis Academic
Resource short list for Case study of McCormick & Co.
Factiva -- Company -- Mccormick & Co
Mergent --- Basic Search -- Company Search -- (Add to company analysis)
Tabs: Reports (Annual Reports) -- Letter to shareholders
Euromonitor Passport GMID -- Industry -- Packaged Foods -- Sauces and Condiments -- Geographies -- -- Company shares -- Related articles to Industry reports on Sauces and Condiments
ABI Inform Complete (Proquest) Browse Featured Content (BMI Industry Reports, Annual Reports Collection, -- McCormick & Co --- Nav bar Industry -- Country Reports
Other great sources--
Permits, Occupations, Wages
APA Citations for Business
There are many applications available to help you create citations. Some databases also provide citation formatting assistance. These can be convenient, but they are NOT 100% accurate. ALWAYS check that the citation is formatted correctly according to the official style guide.
The following are all free citation generators:
KnightCite Citation Service from the Hekman Library of Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Zotero from Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media.
Cite Fast includes APA, MLA, and Chicago
APA Citation Style Guide (General)
Has links to guides and citation generators.
Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495
Reference the APA handout created by the writing center. This is a single-page handout. It is intended to be printed two-sided and tri-folded.
- Need help, visit the writing center!
Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format
How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.
Recommended Citation Generators:
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.
KnightCite Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.
DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.
Articles, News or Trade:
News article with DOI:
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
News article, no DOI, in Factiva
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.
CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva.
Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune
Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)
Chapter in a book:
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.
E-book, no DOI:
Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from https://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture
Company Information TEMPLATE
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.
Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com
Cohen, A. (2017). Department stores in the U.S report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database
First Research (2017). Clothing Stores. Retrieved from Mergent First Research.
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.
ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017.
SimplyAnalytics user created data set / map:
SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.
Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.
Encyclopedia, No author:
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.
Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.
Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.