You are here

BUS 300: Business Professional Development

Welcome

JSO-BUS300-Start-SP19

Business Research is tough! How to I get going?

  1. Business research is a different way of inquiring and thinking, it will get easier with practice.
  2. Read your assignment (highlight requirements, clarify with instructor)
  3. Use this course guide to direct you to a general list of resources (see additional pages, left), if you need more information ask for help.

Help, ask us!

  1. Tried searching for 15-20 mins but are STUCK, ask for help.
    • Use the Ask-Us! Feature on the library's website

Librarian(s) who "speaks" business; YES!

CSUSM Kellogg Library has two librarians who regularly work with CoBA students.  Email for help with detailed research questions or for a research consultation.

Spring/Summer Semesters: Judy Opdahl - JOpdahl@CSUSM.edu, KEL3306

Fall/Winter Semesters ONLY: Ann Fiegen - AFiegen@CSUSM.edu, KEL3421

 

 

 

New to Kellogg Library

JSO-BUS300-Transfer-Student-SP19

The Basics...

  • As a student you have REMOTE access to library resources through the library's website; ALWAY log-in when you are on the biblio.csusm.edu library website.
     
  • What is the deal with getting help from the library/librarians? 
    • Librarian help is FREE
    • General reference questions
      • In Person: Stop at the Research Help Desk (RHD) 3rd floor Kellogg Library, Ask for the librarian on call
      • Off-Campus: Try Chat (type back and forth with CSUSM librarians, great for off-campus help)
      • Call us!
      • Email the library
      • Hours in which a librarian are available for help

How do I? Visit our how-to guide...

Often asked & technical questions answered: "How do I"

  • Don't pay for articles! 
    • If you find an article, and you are asked for money - Don't pay.  Ask the library/librarians about Inter-Library Loan

 

Explore Careers

JSO-BUS300-career-SP19

Career Interest

Web sources:

Occupational Outlook Handbook 
"The OOH can help you find career information on duties, and training, pay
,outlook for hundreds of occupations" (source: Bureau of Labor Statistics). 

O*net OnLine
"O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers" (source: O*NET OnLine).

Employment Development Department: Labor Market Information for Job Seekers and Students
"The EDD Labor Market Information Division provides data and links to resources that job seekers will find helpful to assist with searching for jobs." (source: EDD.ca.gov) 

California CareerZone
A career exploring and coaching site that uses O*NET data. (source: California Career Resource Network)

 

 

 

 

Associations & Organizations

JSO-BUS300-associations-organizations-SP19

Why seek out an association or organization?

Learn: What is going on in a specific industry! Are their guiding principles or practices unique to an industry/profession? Learn about relevant events, conferences, trade shows, or training that you might want to participate in? Does the group provide reports, newsletters, publications, and trade journals that help you understand the goings-on of an industry?

Google Searching can help you (see search strategies as "models" below):

Example: I want to find an association OR an organization related to the Yoga industry  

Advanced Searching in Google: using AND, OR, "phrase search," and domain limiter

Library Resources:

First Research OR IBISWorld Databases: each provides a short list of groups affiliated with an industry. To search (enter keyword OR industry code). 

Citations

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide (General)

    Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

 

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

 

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

 

Recommended Citation Generators:


A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

 

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161



News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva. 

 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

 

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

 

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from https://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

 

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

 

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

 

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department Stores in the U.S Report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Storess.  Retreived from Mergent First Research. 


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 


Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.


REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

SimplyAnalytics user created data set / map:

SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Judy Opdahl

Instruction and Reference Librarian, Business & Economics Librarian (Spring Semesters)
Image of librarian Judy Opdahl
jopdahl@csusm.edu
760-750-4360
Office Location: 
KEL 3306, office is outside of the librarian hallway
Office Hours: 
email for an appointment

Spring Semesters serving as the Business & Economics Librarian.  

Until 2/1/2019 Covering the subjects of: Nursing, Kine, SLP, Public Health, for Trisha Lantzy.

  

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics, Returning Fall 2019
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Website  Research

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback