BA 627 Project Management / Business Analytics

You are here

Project Management

BA 627 Project Management

Background Reading in Project Management Life Cycle 
(Planning, Performing, Controlling)

Scholar.google.com 
On your computers in Advanced Settings. Add a library link:  CSUSM

Business Recommended Databases

InformsOnline

IBIS World  Industry briefings

Factiva  Industry Briefings and business news

ABI Inform   Good for case studies 

BioChemistry Recommended Databases 

Web of Science 
ScienceDirect 

Journals

Business of Biotechnology
Journal of Business Research
Trends in Biotechnology

 

 

Operations Management and Management Science

Operations Management


Operations Management

Company lists in ReferenceUSA   good for custom lists of private or public narrowed geographically

Competitor list Hoover's  good for major corporations

  • 1 Useful subject terms in the library catalog
  • 2 Recommended Readings for introductions to the topic
  • 3 Research Databases
  • 4 Journals / Periodicals
  • 5 Web sites

Useful  terms in the library catalog

Browse these subjects, add  [case studies] 

Benchmarking Management  and [case studies] 
Contracting Out (outsourcing)
Industrial management -- Environmental aspects
Inventory Control
Logistics Business logistics

Management Science
Manufacturing industries -- Environmenal aspects
Materials Management
New Products
Operations Research

Production management
Production management -- Environmenal aspects
Project Management
Production scheduling
Quality Control
Statistical Decision
Systems Engineering

Recommended Readings for introductions to the topic

Operations Management. (2005). In N. S. Slack & M. Lewis, (Eds.), Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management.
HD30.15 B455 2005 vol. 10
Two to five page essays on OM includes definitions, processes, samples and charts.


Encyclopedia of Optimization. (2001) ed. C.A. Floudas and P.M. Pardalos.
QA402.5 .E45 2001 vol. 1--3. REFERENCE
Provides in-depth articles with formulas and analysis for optimization problems. Selected contents: Minimum Cost Flow Problem, Multicommodity Flow Problems, Inventory Management in Supply Chains


Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science. (2001) ed. Saul I Gass and Carl M. Harris.
T57.6 .E53 2001 REFERENCE (earlier ed. in stacks) Recommended for OM 305
Good place to start. Signed articles with references to additional sources on all aspects of OR and MS. You will find short articles, with table, formulas, and graphs. Selected topics: Planning and design phases for automation, bidding models for auction designers, inventory modeling, manufacturing, queuing theory, retailing including analysis of movement of customers, supply chain management.


Global Cases in Benchmarking : Best Practices from Organizations Around the World. (1998) ed. Robert C. Camp.
HD62.15.G558 1998.
Divided by industry sectors--Manufacturing, Service, Nonprofit, Government and Education you will find many examples of benchmarking. The organization of each chapter discusses planning, processes often containing flowcharts and formulas used, recommendations, and lessons learned.


Handbook of Metrics for Research in Operations Management: Multi-item Measurement Scales and Objective Items (2008). by Aleda V.Roth, Roger G. Schroeder, Xiaowen Huang, M. Murat Kristal. Sage Pub.
Recommended for OM 305 (advanced)
HD30.215 .H356 2008 REFERENCE
The authors have collected multi-item measurement scales and single-item objective measures for all areas of operations management into one handbook for quick reference.


Handbook of Quantitative Supply Chain Analysis: Modeling in the E-Business Era (2004). David Simchi-Levi, S. David Wu, Zuo-Jun (Max) Shen. Kluwer. HD38.5 .H355 2004.


Operations Research and Management Science Handbook (2008) ed. A. Ravi Ravindran. CRC Press
T57.6 O0446 2008
Recommended for OM 305, OM 440 
Detailed chapters on every aspect of OM, signed chapters include introduction to the topic, multiple models for specific business problem. Chapters on linear nonlinear and integer programming, network optimization, decision making and decision analysis, dynamic programming, stochastic processes, queueing theory, inventory control, complexity and large-scale networks, simulation, metaheuristics, robust optimization, pricing and yield management. Chapters on selected industries: Airlines, finance, production systems, supply chain management, water resources.


Operations Research Calculations Handbook (2001). Dennis Blumenfeld. CRC Press. T57.6 B57 2001
Recommended for OM 305

Theory and Practice of Revenue Management (2004). K.T. Talluri & G. J Van Ryzin.  Kluwer. HD60.7.T35 2004
Recommended for OM 440
RM techniques in the first part of the book and 13 industry RM practices profiled in the part 2. 
 

Dr. Aboolian's recommended titles in the OM 440 syllabus are excellent titles with specific RM tactics and industry examples. 

Research Databases

All Business Databases

ABI Inform Global (Proquest)
Good for case studies: View a sample search
Includes:Industrial Distribution, Management science (before 1999 only, latest years at HD28 .I453),Modern Materials Handling, Production & Inventory Management Journal

Business Expert Press  ebook Collection
Introductory texts on any business topic. Fully downloaded for reading! Recommended for OM305 
 

Wiley Online Library - Business Management Collection  (Blackwell Synergy now in Wiley)
Decision Sciences (Decision Sciences Institute)
Journal of Supply Chain Management

Ebsco GreenFILE  (interdisciplinary reports, books and scholarly articles.
Ebsco: This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Factiva  Example:  Search Industry / E-commerce; Subject / Internet-Online Services. Includes:Electronic Commerce News

Science Direct Includes:
Journal of purchasing and supply management
Journal of operations management
Omega: international journal of management science

SIAM review: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics review

Wiley InterScience Includes:
Journal of multi-criteria decision analysis,
Journal of organizational excellence,
Journal of product innovation management
Knowledge and process management

Journals / Periodicals  

  • Decision Sciences Latest years at HD30.23 D4
  • Interfaces ABI Inform Global and HD28. I45
  • Management science ABI Inform Global (latest year HD28 .I453)
  • Omega: international journal of management science HD28 .O5
  • Journal of Commerce (several databases contain this title: ABI Inform; Business Source Premier)

Web sites

ASQ (American Society for Quality) A professional organization dedicated to quality improvement in all sectors of the economy including education and government. Resources on process improvement, total quality management, and benchmarking. Quality Topics A great place to start a search for quality topics such as benchmarking, Six Sigma, Statistical Quality Control, and quality topics in various industries--health, service, education, food etc. These are bibliographies with recommendations for articles, books and websites and other databases.

Scienceofbetter.org / Informs.org
Best practices and basics of Operations Research, includes selected articles and case studies from Informs Journal.

 

APA Citing Your Sources

Guide to Using APA Business Citations

APA Citation Style Guide
Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

Common Business Citation Styles

Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)


Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

Recommended Citation Generators
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

Articles:
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name.

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

News article, no DOI, in Factiva 
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.


Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.


E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

Company Information TEMPLATE 
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.


Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture


Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

 

How to cite REFERENCEUSA
Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

 

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.


Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.


Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.


Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE


Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.


In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.


REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
08/17 afiegen

 

 

Need Help?

Ann Fiegen

Librarian for Business & Economics
afiegen@csusm.edu
760-750-4365
Office Location: 
KEL3421
Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds 3--5 or so, Tues & Thurs 10-12 or so; Appointments Preferred

Featured titles:   The Wall Street Journal: Guide to Information Graphics
San Diego Regional Economic Development Council.  San Marcos Profile 2017
Supports the following areas: 
Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Operations Management, Global Business Management, Finance, Accounting


Feedback
Contact Info